We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Location”
Review of Hostal El Momento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Momento
Ranked #8 of 67 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Value, Great Location”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hostal El Momento was a great place to stay. The staff was very helpful in planning excursions and the hostel was clean and quiet. The location is prime and the cooking was quite good. I still think about the Desayuna del Mundo.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ted V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    89
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
96
103
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I spent more than a week there, a couple of days in the dorm and the rest in different private rooms. Everything is very clean, nicely decorated, friendly and helpful staff. The food is also good - lots of Vegetarian options. It's not a party hostel - it gets very quiet after 11 p.m. - which is what I wanted.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaibijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Super clean, fantastic room (private two person room) had our own washroom, tv and fan. Gorgeous little garden in the middle of the hostel, free Internet, cheap meals and drinks and a very friendly staff. It's too bad I only stayed here for one night before continuing on my trip because it was a wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdndoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in the room off the kitchen (I can't remember the number). The place was very clean, spacious, quiet and safe. It is gated and people have to be let in by an employee. They provided soap, shampoo and face clothes (A nice touch!). The location is also perfect! You are 2 mins from the main square where you will find the Cathedral, restaurants, carriage rides, etc. It is on a quiet but well lit street.

The food at the restaurant was fresh and quite good. The service was great from start to finish. We arrived a bit earlier than expected, but they already had our room ready (and the hostel was full!). Zacharias was very helpful in suggesting local restaurants/bars and help us plan our transportation to Rivas/San Jorge. The owner organized a day trip to Laguna de Apoyo for an affordable price (11$ a person, including transportation), on a Sunday - which is a hard to day to get around on in Nicaragua.

They also had a computer and 2 ipads that guest could use for free. They have great common areas, both inside (where there is a TV and a selection of movies) and outside where there are various areas with comfortable chairs and hammocks. It is easy to find a little corner to be alone or sit with other guests to chat.

They also have a kitchen with a small stove and fridge that guest can make and keep food in.

Overall, our experience was great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaritimeGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Ideally nestled in Granada's center, just two streets from the main square. The street is safe and close to several restaurants. The staff are especially friendly and helpful, so feel free to ask them for help. The room was quite OK, with no noise at all, an efficient fan, and the patio for some fresh air in the evening...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centroja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at Oasis for a few nights before bring able to get a room here. So glad we got to stay. Beautiful private rooms with private baths, clean and a great vibe. Compared to any other hostel we stayed at in Granada, this is a cut above for sure. Would recommend to anyone looking for a great hostel in a safer location than many others, reasonable prices and awesome rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gcm417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonyc32
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed in El Momento for three nights based on the review on TA. I stayed in the dorm.

The dorms have a number of double beds. I had one and loved it of course! Only seen double beds in dorms a handful of times on my travels and love it every time.

Location is excellent. Minutes from the Cathedral and main areas.

My friends in other hostels, which shall remain unnamed, actually left theirs to join me at El Momento.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#14 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Momento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Momento

Property: Hostal El Momento
Address: Calle el Arsenal 104, Granada 0010, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 400 yr old Colonial House in the heart of Granada and a 2 min walk to Calzalda St. There is a bank on the same street and the others are less than 1 min away. We have a beautiful garden in the centre of the house with the bar, cafe, spa and all rooms surrounding it. We have used local artists and furniture makers to keep with this style of house.All privates have free Wifi, cable tv and secure safes.The dorms have lockers for all bags.All the bathrooms have new tiling , the beds are new with new mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal El Momento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing