We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hostel experience through Central America” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal El Momento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Momento
Ranked #7 of 66 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“One of the best hostel experience through Central America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

It looks like an expensive hotel but you pay the price of a hostel. The best valued hostel throughout Central America and the staff are supernice. They have a restaurante/bar 2 big screen Tv's and if you have a private room you have a tv there aswell. They offer free Ipad use and computer use. You can do cheap laundry and bathrooms are very clean. Only minor complaint I got is that you could see through the curtains very clearly at dark so we had to have the lights off during evenings , otherwise we wont have any privacy at all. Our bedroom was also located very close to the bathroom where we had a big windows just opposite the bathroom. This could be fixed with an extra pair of curtains because there was literally no privacy after the sunset. It was total darkness in our room to be able to have any privacy at all. This didnt bother us too much since everything else was just perfect , staff, food , service , sleep quality , chillout area, free ipad usage and the list goes on. If you are in Granada stay at this hostel though make sure to book in advance! Note: we had room #4.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alebale2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We were are very thankful for another amazing review and that you took the time to write, we always follow up on the smallest complaint and you will be happy to know that we have now fixed the problem with an extra set of curtains in this room like you had aslo suggested.
Thank you also for passing on some important information to our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    87
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
11
94
100
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a double room with another couple and this hostel turned out to be the best of the three we stayed in during our visit to Nicaragua. The design and decor of the place was pleasing, the staff very agreeable and helpful and the food we ate was very excellently prepared. I can highly recommend this place for anyone planning to travel to Granada.

Room Tip: For those on a budget, there is a small kitchen in the back that is not easy to find, but which has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slanning76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We have been receiving lots of great reviews like your own and mentioning the restaurant, we do also have a small kitchen so our menu is designed with this in mind but even on a busy night we do get our food out in a reasonable time and prepared how it should be.
We will be adding more to the decor in the off season, these small touches which you noticed we know it can brighten a place up and give it a pleasant feel so thank you for this comment also.
We hope you get to visit Nicaragua again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is one of the best hostels of our entire trip to Nicaragua. For only $17 a night we got a private room which had a comfortable bed, clean linens, and an overall nice vibe. This hostel is very safe and secure, they lock the gates at night and also have someone at front desk all the time. The man at front desk was very courteous and gave us a tour of the hostel as well gave us tips about Granada and how to be safe. The hostel was very colourful with lots of pretty art and just felt like a great place to settle for a night. If I come back to Granada I will for sure be coming back to this place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielBlanken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I wrote a review a year ago when this hostal just opened and gave it very positive reviews.mi liked it so much it is now my choice of hotels whenever I come to granada. I am a veterinarian working on several projects in the area and have come to nicaragua about 3 times this year and when I am in granada, i always come here. It actually is getting better and better each time I come and the owners continue to put their whole heart into their business. Its clean, quiet, comfortable and reasonably priced. I usually eat most of my meals here as well....tasty food with the bonus of convience and friendly service. We also come with a large group of veterinarians and the owners bend over backwards to accomadate us. The large dormitory really helps with keeping the group together.

Room Tip: No swimming pool but there is a nice one about 1/2 block away. Same with fitness center. I was able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have never slept in such a nice dorm, in all my travels. Nor have I seen double beds in a dorm. Everything about this hostel was good quality. The dorm was large, with double bunk beds, storage, lamps and a huge bathroom. The courtyard is immaculate and there are lots of places to relax. This isn't a party hostel but there was a nice mixture of people. If you do go out they don't mind letting you in late at night
The service was generally very good and the staff were helpful. The food and drink that we tried was delicious, in par with the other great food in Granada.
The location is superb, just a block from the main square but on a nice quiet street.
All in all a fabulous hostels, I wish more hostels that we stayed in had been like this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fayemorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you Faye for taking the time out to write a review for us and we are more than happy that you enjoyed your stay. We get many nice reviews about our restaurant too but we are so close to the other restaurants in town not everyone gets to try our menu, we have tried to do something a little different and our prices are cheaper than the Calzalda.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of the country also and get to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've spent a lot of time traveling over the last ten years and El Momento will stand out in my mind for being the best by far. Welcoming, comfortable, fun, a home from home!

It's truly a model for other places to copy and the other places we stayed at in Granada for the same price didn't even come near. The place is well decorated and bright, the staff are sweet, friendly and helpful (even helping us call other hostels when they were fully booked on our last night), and the prices are very affordable. It's clean and modern - iPads free to use! - and the house music and thai curry cooked on site meant we didn't even want to leave the place on a Saturday night. The only thing I can even think to complain about is the poor shower pressure, which is not unique to this place but a city-wide problem (and sort of expected in a 400-year old building).
Chris the owner is great and always seemed to be around. Unlike other small business owners who might shy away from meeting their customers because they have nothing to be proud of, Chris has every reason to be there and should be super proud of what he's built. Hubby and I will rave about this place for years!

Room Tip: Rooms are $10 cheaper with a shared bathroom, and you only seem to be sharing it with one other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you Laura for such a wonderful review, we still have more plans for the off season to continue making the place more homely and we are lucky having good staff that are always happy to help the guests.
We have recently changed some shower heads for when the water pressure does drop in the city and it has made a difference, we do have the water tank also for when the water is turned off for a few hours.
We hope you do get to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a very clean, comfortable hostel with a beautiful courtyard. It is centrally located with access to all the best that Granada has to offer. The staff, particularly Ruth and Zacarias, were exceptionally friendly and helpful. I spent several nights in the dorm. The beds are comfy; each has its own readying lamp and fan. There are curtains separating the beds for more privacy. I also spent a night in a quad which had a private bathroom-also very nice. The food was good. The owner was friendly with staff and clients. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
It was really nice to have you stay with us Eve and thank you for mentioning the staff, we get many comments about this and it gives them confidence to know they are doing a good job, important for me and more so for future guests.
Regarding the dorm yes we wanted to give it a little more privacy for some beds as to make guests feel they have their own space.
It is with great thanks to you and many others that we received Travelers Choice Award for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#13 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Cultural Casa Del Poeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Momento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Momento

Property: Hostal El Momento
Address: Calle el Arsenal 104, Granada 0010, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 400 yr old Colonial House in the heart of Granada and a 2 min walk to Calzalda St. There is a bank on the same street and the others are less than 1 min away. We have a beautiful garden in the centre of the house with the bar, cafe, spa and all rooms surrounding it. We have used local artists and furniture makers to keep with this style of house.All privates have free Wifi, cable tv and secure safes.The dorms have lockers for all bags.All the bathrooms have new tiling , the beds are new with new mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal El Momento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing