We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dorm I have stayed in”
Review of Hostal El Momento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Momento
Ranked #7 of 63 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best dorm I have stayed in”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have never slept in such a nice dorm, in all my travels. Nor have I seen double beds in a dorm. Everything about this hostel was good quality. The dorm was large, with double bunk beds, storage, lamps and a huge bathroom. The courtyard is immaculate and there are lots of places to relax. This isn't a party hostel but there was a nice mixture of people. If you do go out they don't mind letting you in late at night
The service was generally very good and the staff were helpful. The food and drink that we tried was delicious, in par with the other great food in Granada.
The location is superb, just a block from the main square but on a nice quiet street.
All in all a fabulous hostels, I wish more hostels that we stayed in had been like this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fayemorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you Faye for taking the time out to write a review for us and we are more than happy that you enjoyed your stay. We get many nice reviews about our restaurant too but we are so close to the other restaurants in town not everyone gets to try our menu, we have tried to do something a little different and our prices are cheaper than the Calzalda.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of the country also and get to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    90
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
96
105
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've spent a lot of time traveling over the last ten years and El Momento will stand out in my mind for being the best by far. Welcoming, comfortable, fun, a home from home!

It's truly a model for other places to copy and the other places we stayed at in Granada for the same price didn't even come near. The place is well decorated and bright, the staff are sweet, friendly and helpful (even helping us call other hostels when they were fully booked on our last night), and the prices are very affordable. It's clean and modern - iPads free to use! - and the house music and thai curry cooked on site meant we didn't even want to leave the place on a Saturday night. The only thing I can even think to complain about is the poor shower pressure, which is not unique to this place but a city-wide problem (and sort of expected in a 400-year old building).
Chris the owner is great and always seemed to be around. Unlike other small business owners who might shy away from meeting their customers because they have nothing to be proud of, Chris has every reason to be there and should be super proud of what he's built. Hubby and I will rave about this place for years!

Room Tip: Rooms are $10 cheaper with a shared bathroom, and you only seem to be sharing it with one other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you Laura for such a wonderful review, we still have more plans for the off season to continue making the place more homely and we are lucky having good staff that are always happy to help the guests.
We have recently changed some shower heads for when the water pressure does drop in the city and it has made a difference, we do have the water tank also for when the water is turned off for a few hours.
We hope you do get to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a very clean, comfortable hostel with a beautiful courtyard. It is centrally located with access to all the best that Granada has to offer. The staff, particularly Ruth and Zacarias, were exceptionally friendly and helpful. I spent several nights in the dorm. The beds are comfy; each has its own readying lamp and fan. There are curtains separating the beds for more privacy. I also spent a night in a quad which had a private bathroom-also very nice. The food was good. The owner was friendly with staff and clients. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
It was really nice to have you stay with us Eve and thank you for mentioning the staff, we get many comments about this and it gives them confidence to know they are doing a good job, important for me and more so for future guests.
Regarding the dorm yes we wanted to give it a little more privacy for some beds as to make guests feel they have their own space.
It is with great thanks to you and many others that we received Travelers Choice Award for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my week-long stay at Hostal El Momento. The staff is friendly and helpful. Zachary was great when he checked us in -- showing us the common areas of the hostel and going over the city map in great detail and making recommendations.

We stayed in a private room with shared bath (the spacious bedroom is upstairs and the shared bath is downstairs) and the private room with private bath. Both rooms had a TV, a fan, and a safe.

El Momento has a very relaxed and welcoming vibe, and is in a safe and convenient location. For a $5 deposit, you can rent a decent towel (which, to me, is always preferable to travel towels). You can do your own laundry, or have it done for you quickly and cheap.

The hostel has a bar/restaurant, which is opened for most of the day. The menu is quite varied, considering that it is a hostel. You can get a good Continental breakfast for 55 cordobas.

I was traveling with my mother and it was the first time she has stayed in a hostel. She was very pleased with our stay and said El Momento far exceeded her expectations of what a hostel would be like. So, thank you to Chris and his staff!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinaL370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you Justina for coming to stay with us with your mother and we are more than happy you enjoyed your stay. Like I have mentioned in previous responses you have also given very detailed information to future guests.
Regarding the towels and like the mattresses we did not buy cheaply and you did not mind paying a deposit. We only started asking for a deposit once they started getting stolen, many hotels around the world include the towels in their price for the room, we would rather ask for a deposit and keep our room prices down.
Thank you also for mentioning the breakfast, we are on par with most places for breakfast prices but cheaper than the majority of the restaurants close to the hostel.
We hope you both get to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the nicest places I stayed during my 9 months of traveling. first time i stayed here in september and came back in january.
the staff is extremly friendly and helpful - no matter what kind of "problem" u have, they always try to help.
the matresses in the dorm and private are very comfortable, the common area is very inviting to hang out and relax and the food they offer is delicious.
sometimes the water supply in the showers isnt enough, but hey, we are in Nicaragua.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaWa2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you very much for a wonderful review, it is people like yourself that keep the hostal busy and give valuable information to the customer. If the hostel stays busy it only means more investment every year like we did the last and improving to give the guest more.
We have just changed some shower heads recently for when the pressure does drop in Granada, this has given the showers much more pressure and helped immensely. The supply itself like you said is out of our control, we have the tank which 90% of the time keeps us going until the water returns.
In the last year we may have had no water maybe 7-10 times and that usually is for about 2 hours maximum.
We hope you get to return Nicaragua in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Qc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I were there for 3 nights in December 2012. We had a private room with a private bathroom. El dormitorio was very clean, bed very comfortable and the service exceptionnal. There is always someone available to answer your questions or to prepare you a great drink. Also, it was great to enjoy a fan, free wifi internet and tv with cable in our room. Which is luxury in Nicaragua remember... I had to plan transportation from the airport and they were really reliable. Even with a delay of 2 hours from my flight (of course I informed them of that), the taxi was there (40$ for 2 - 60 min drive). The hostal is located in a safe area, where it is easy to walk to visit the city. For 22USD$/night (taxes included) for two, you won't find better somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etephanie081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for making a review with us and taking the time to do so, you have passed on lots of information for your fellow travelers and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Every year we will try to put some little extra touches into the hostel, we are just over a year old now and trying to better ourselves.
Hope you can return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff at El Momento was very nice and helpful, made us feel at home right away.
The room was spacious, equipped with a much appreciated ceiling fan. Drawback were the thin curtains on the huge windows that faced the bathroom, so if someone went there and switched on the light with the door open our room was lit too waking us up sometimes.
The hostel sits in a quiet street, just a block from the central park.
It was one of the few hostels we stayed in in Nicaragua that had a guest kitchen, a small one but it did well.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MX-ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about us, even though your complaint is small and you felt it was just a drawback we are going take action and will put some extra netting behind the curtain to take some of light from the bathroom. The light that is in the garden is coloured and for this reason also, it gives off enough light for people to see but not enough to disturb guests in the room but the light from the bathroom can be bright so we will fix this problem.
The kitchen in general does not get overcrowded and we have space outside for guests to prepare food, we wanted to have a kitchen for the guests as we know it is important and this is the only area for us to put it.
We hope that you get to return and that you also enjoyed the rest of the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 43 in Granada
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#16 of 43 in Granada
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#18 of 43 in Granada
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,018 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Momento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Momento

Property: Hostal El Momento
Address: Calle el Arsenal 104, Granada 0010, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 400 yr old Colonial House in the heart of Granada and a 2 min walk to Calzalda St. There is a bank on the same street and the others are less than 1 min away. We have a beautiful garden in the centre of the house with the bar, cafe, spa and all rooms surrounding it. We have used local artists and furniture makers to keep with this style of house.All privates have free Wifi, cable tv and secure safes.The dorms have lockers for all bags.All the bathrooms have new tiling , the beds are new with new mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal El Momento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing