We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get better in Granada”
Review of Hostal El Momento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Momento
Ranked #5 of 65 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau, Qc
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't get better in Granada”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I were there for 3 nights in December 2012. We had a private room with a private bathroom. El dormitorio was very clean, bed very comfortable and the service exceptionnal. There is always someone available to answer your questions or to prepare you a great drink. Also, it was great to enjoy a fan, free wifi internet and tv with cable in our room. Which is luxury in Nicaragua remember... I had to plan transportation from the airport and they were really reliable. Even with a delay of 2 hours from my flight (of course I informed them of that), the taxi was there (40$ for 2 - 60 min drive). The hostal is located in a safe area, where it is easy to walk to visit the city. For 22USD$/night (taxes included) for two, you won't find better somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etephanie081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for making a review with us and taking the time to do so, you have passed on lots of information for your fellow travelers and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Every year we will try to put some little extra touches into the hostel, we are just over a year old now and trying to better ourselves.
Hope you can return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    91
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
96
107
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff at El Momento was very nice and helpful, made us feel at home right away.
The room was spacious, equipped with a much appreciated ceiling fan. Drawback were the thin curtains on the huge windows that faced the bathroom, so if someone went there and switched on the light with the door open our room was lit too waking us up sometimes.
The hostel sits in a quiet street, just a block from the central park.
It was one of the few hostels we stayed in in Nicaragua that had a guest kitchen, a small one but it did well.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MX-ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about us, even though your complaint is small and you felt it was just a drawback we are going take action and will put some extra netting behind the curtain to take some of light from the bathroom. The light that is in the garden is coloured and for this reason also, it gives off enough light for people to see but not enough to disturb guests in the room but the light from the bathroom can be bright so we will fix this problem.
The kitchen in general does not get overcrowded and we have space outside for guests to prepare food, we wanted to have a kitchen for the guests as we know it is important and this is the only area for us to put it.
We hope that you get to return and that you also enjoyed the rest of the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I staid there 3 nights in Dec 2012 and the experience is amazing. Being a backpacker, I found everything i need: very clean and comfortable place to stay, super friendly stuff, laundry, wifi, bar... lanudry is cheap and very useful. This is the only hostel i lived with cheap laundry in centre america countries. and the location is great: 3 miniutes walk from town center and 5 minutes from bus terminal. Hostel looks very lovely, and i see some free ipad available for use. definitely recommend to go!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva_Wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you Eva for writing the review and it is always good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the staff will be pleased to hear your comment also.
We have had complaints about why our laundry is not free so it is nice to hear that you thought we are cheap. We do offer another service for those to have it sent out and they are more expensive than us.
The washing machine we have was originally bought for the hostel but we wanted to offer another service for the guests, if we did not charge it would be very difficult for us to get the hostel bed sheets washed everyday so your comments are very important.
Hope to see you again if you return to the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I've staid 2 days in Granada and I booked a bed in a dorms in Hostal El Momento !
This is a great Hostel with all the facilities you need ! The place is very clean and comfortable ! The staff remains available to help you ! it was really nice to stay there !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lau_be1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I arrived after a very long bus journey from San Jose, Costa Rica. When I walked through the front door I was greeted by Ruth, a lovely lady who really made me feel welcome. She showed me around and even carried my bag to the dorm! The sheets on my bed smelled like lavender and the whole place just oozed tranquility. I couldn't have been happier with my choice of hostel. A real gem in the beautiful crown of Granada :D

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarie0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley, ca
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I can't say I have too much experience to compare to, but so far this is one of the best hostels I have had the pleasure to stay at. Things are really clean, the staff are friendly, wifi available, beds are great, lockers available in the dorms, etc. I especially like the courtyard. It's a nice place to relax, and its openness really invites meeting people. Location-wise, it's just 1 block from the main square... an easy walk which is helpful, especially at night where most of the walk back from the square is brightly lit except maybe the final 100 feet once you turn onto the calle de besos.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I'm staying here now and I have to say that this has been possibly the best sleep of my trip. Large, firm beds that let you stretch out. Very nice. A beautiful courtyard with a nice bar and a great seating area. The staff have been very friendly so far. One bit of criticism, they could use more bathroom. If you see it's available, grab it because it may not be available a moment later.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are extremely happy that you have been enjoying your stay with us and the staff have made your stay welcome.
We knew making the courtyard our central point for everyone to enjoy would be important for the guests as are good mattresses.
Apart from the bathrooms in the private rooms we currently have 1 bathroom to every 3-4 persons depending on occupancy, to improve on that we would have to build 4 more bathrooms and we would love to do that but there is the problem of space.
I do hope that you were informed we had 3 more bathrooms at the back of the courtyard that are not used so much and only busy for maybe 1 hour in the mornings.
Thank you again for staying with us and taking the time out to write a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 43 in Granada
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 43 in Granada
1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#14 of 43 in Granada
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 43 in Granada
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Momento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Momento

Property: Hostal El Momento
Address: Calle el Arsenal 104, Granada 0010, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 400 yr old Colonial House in the heart of Granada and a 2 min walk to Calzalda St. There is a bank on the same street and the others are less than 1 min away. We have a beautiful garden in the centre of the house with the bar, cafe, spa and all rooms surrounding it. We have used local artists and furniture makers to keep with this style of house.All privates have free Wifi, cable tv and secure safes.The dorms have lockers for all bags.All the bathrooms have new tiling , the beds are new with new mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal El Momento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing