We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoughtfully designed hostel”
Review of Hostal El Momento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Momento
Ranked #6 of 67 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in the 11 bed dorm and although there were 11 beds it was by far the nicest dorm room I've stayed in only 4 of the beds were bunk beds but the bottom bunk was a double and if you were on the top bunk the ladder was gently sloped so you could get in and out of bed very easily, each bed had a light, shelf, fan and PowerPoint, which shows they'd thought about what a traveller needs, the room was massive, very clean and had big lockers. The communal areas had lots of cool chill out places, hammocks, comfy chairs and the setting although right in the centre of Granada was very tranquil. They even had communal iPads you could use in reception. My only suggestion to make this place even better is to put in an extra bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBolsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for your review, over the last year we have received many reviews and we have taken those reviews on board in the slower months to improve the hostel, every year we will continue to do this.
The communal area always gets good reviews and as you stated we have many areas either for those in groups or for others to chill out, we put in a hammock as this something that was asked for.
The dorm room before had received some complaints so we changed the dorm about to make sure all the beds had fans but at the same time keeping the privacy for some of the beds.
The other complaint we had before was about bathrooms and so we must apologise that you have not been shown the other bathrooms.
We will speak with our reception staff as you should have been shown ALL of the property when you arrived. There is 1 receptionist who is new and is still not confident in his duties so for this we must apologise.
We built another bathroom in September in the garden area to make 4 in total and there are 2 bathrooms in 2 of our private rooms and we have ran out of space to build more.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in the country and that you return to the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Hostal El Momento
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 332 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

We've stayed here the first nights after our arrival in Nicaragua. We had an airport pick up arranged, it took 1 hr to get to the guesthouse.
We slept in room n°4, a big room with three beds and a shared bathroom. Since we were with two, we had plenty of room! About the room: comfy beds, a tv, a ceiling fan, and a small safe to keep your valuables.
The food is of a very good quality, and tasteful prepared, and they are served in a cosy patio.
Throughout the guesthouse there is free wifi, and there are two iPads and a computer that you can use for free

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvekes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I was tempted to give an "average" because I had one negative issue with the place, but felt that was maybe just "unlucky", and over-all the place is indeed very good.
Nice vibe, good staff, comfy bed, central location, feels safe, not a party-hostel / a bit more mature clientele, maybe averaging around 30 y.o.
My issue was that the private rooms have TV's. We were staying in the triple room, next to a double. There is almost no sound-insulation between these rooms. Unfortunately, the couple staying in the double next door seem to spend their holidays watching TV... Fox-News or similar during most of the day, movies till late into the night. This bothered somewhat - luckily the garden area is so nice to chill, that you don't "need" the room when returning to the hostel during the day, but sleeping quality could have been better.
Suggestion: Kill your TV.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolandinho10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you for your response and we are disappointed to hear what happend whilst you were here with us. This is the first time since we have accounted this since we have opened the hostel but that does not mean we will do nothing. In our guest handbook we do ask guests to respect other guest after 10.30pm and in the past our staff have asked guests either outside in the garden or in the rooms to lower the sound or keep noises low.
If we had known at the time it is something we would have addressed but we are going to place a small sign in the rooms for guests to be very aware of this problem.
We do appreciate that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and you felt you were unlucky with your guests.
If this continues then will think about removing all the tvs from the rooms but first we will try to control the situation.
Safe travels and thank you for your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

This is an easy recommendation for me. El Momento was easily one of the best hostals I've stayed at in all of my travels.

The dorms were hands down the best dorms I've ever slept in--extremely comfortable beds, many of which were full sized, with a fan and light to each. Somehow you feel like you actually have your own private space among the others you're sharing the dorm with. Yet as a solo traveler, I was still able to meet others easily.

The bathrooms though there are few (one complaint if the hostel is full), are spacious and feel luxurious compared to other places. The hostel has a relaxing vibe, but still not a bad place to stay if you intend to enjoy the nightlife of Granada. The music played in the bar area, though extremely cheesy 90s love songs, added to the chill vibe. Plenty of hammocks, couches, lounge spots

Great spot--Located a block from the plaza and a block from the Chocolate Museums all you can eat $6 breakfast (a must-do in my book). The owner is very friendly and helpful and offers advice.

Great value--$7 dorms. And there is a small though functional communal kitchen.

Can't go wrong

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwjubeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for your response and if it is positive or negative we always take notice of what the guest has to stay.
We appreciate what you say about the dorm because we have tried to make it a little more private than some dorm. With us doing this we have received many guests who usually do not like dorms deciding to stay with us as they have their own fans, lamps and a little privacy.
Since you were here we have now built another bathroom taking the total to 3 in the garden and 1 in the dorm as well as 2 private rooms having their own, a total of 6 on property, we average about 20-22 when full.
Our prices for the dorm are now $8 as we have entered high season but many of our guests over the last year have mentioned to us that we are very cheap for what they get.
We are just in the process of changing some of the music to give some more variety too and realise that everyones likes are different especially with music.
Thank you again for a wonderful review and hope you enjoyed the rest of the country and your onwards travels.
Chris,Maria and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Enjoyed every moment at Hostal El Momento. The room I stayed in was very clean, as was the bathrooms and shower. Mattresses were excellent, I had two fans in my room and not hearing any street noise in night time made my sleep very deep. Also the patio is very nice decorated, colorful, clean, quiet and had plenty of comfortable chairs and sofas to lounge in. Chris and Maria created a very recommendable place and do an excellent good job with El Momento, the same as their staff does too, who had been welcoming and friendly all the time.
The internet connection was good and WIFI reached into the room. The granola breakfast was perfect to start the day.
El Momento is one of the few places I did not have a single complaint about during my stay, which is very rare :) Therefore I absolutely recommend to stay there when you go to Granada.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zkini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Hi Zkiini
Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you get time off to visit us again soon. We will continue to upgrade the property every year and hopefully soon we will have even faster internet service even though this is not a complaint we have had before. See you again.
Chris and Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at el momento for a couple of nights. The hostel has a lovely communal area, center around a garden, some of the best beds I have slept on in 4 months and a great restaurant as well as communal kitchen. Although we didn't stay in the dorm rooms, staying in a private, I did think the dorms were some of the best I have seen. A computer, movies and bicycles were alSo available.

A very good place to stay in Granada. Thanks Chris and team.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Hi Joshua
Thank you for your wonderful review it was a please to have you here,since you have left we have made more changes and will continue to upgrade to offer more for the guests, we hope that you enjoyed the rest of the country and your travels.
Chris, Maria and the team and Hostal El Momento

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A friend and I stayed here the first 3 or 4 nights we were in Nicaragua. We heard of a local "party hostel," but we're either recommended this one or my friend found it doing independent research, I'm not sure. Either way, the staff was friendly and eager to help us; they were accommodating and worked hard to make sure we were taken care of. The hostel is just around the corner from the Parque Central and a short walk from the main drag for nightlife. We both (two women) both felt very safe both in the hostel and in all the immediate areas.

This hostel also had the added benefit of being filled with amazing travelers. We heard the party hostel was a bit too rowdy and full of try-hards. That wasn't the case here. We made many genuine friends and even convinced a nice German to join us on our next trip to Ometepe.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelliraptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 45 in Granada
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 45 in Granada
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,043 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
#26 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#28 of 45 in Granada
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Momento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Momento

Address: Calle el Arsenal 104, Granada 0010, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: $15 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 400 yr old Colonial House in the heart of Granada and a 2 min walk to Calzalda St. There is a bank on the same street and the others are less than 1 min away. We have a beautiful garden in the centre of the house with the bar, cafe, spa and all rooms surrounding it. We have used local artists and furniture makers to keep with this style of house.All privates have free Wifi, cable tv and secure safes.The dorms have lockers for all bags.All the bathrooms have new tiling , the beds are new with new mattresses. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing