We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Granada
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Welcoming visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay in this charming property. Far enough away from city centre to keep it interesting, this area of town might not be for everyone. Only stay here if you are comfortable staying somewhere that is not in the tourist centre. Having said that, the core of the town is only about a 10-15 minute walk (depending on meandering) and there is plenty to see on the trek. The property is fantastic and the service is great. We arrived after 11pm to a dark, locked house and frankly we were a bit freaked out as even our drivers weren't sure if we were in the right place - but we were, and the lovely hostess welcomed us in and made us a snack without much fuss. Turns out our reservation had NOT been booked through booking.com like we thought it was. But all was well in the end. If you stay, ask the hostess to recommend local eateries, including a fantastic local restaurant that will deliver all the fresh seafood and Nica classics, including beer, to the hotel for a VERY cheap price....

PS: We traveled in September 2012 but TripAdvisor won't let me choose that far back.

Room Tip: Pay up for the air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goofers_Bubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, August 6, 2016
Thank you so much

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    44
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
66
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Casa Barcelona is a lovely hotel of several rooms around a garden area. The rooms were to a good standard and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Yexira is a very lovely lady who helped us organise taxi's and dinners, even when we arrived late in the evening.

Downside is also a plus - the location of the hotel. Downside... We were told its not advisable to walk late at night by the hotel - also a man in the day stopped us to tell us the area was unsafe. We didn't think it's was that bad, assuming you take normal safety precautions (no flashy clothes, jewellery or cameras in sight mainly), though then again perhaps we were just lucky. Plus side... You get to see a much more normal Nicaraguan way of life in this side of the town, rather than the tourist centre, with all it's hustle and bustle and street life. The walk into the main centre is only about 10-15 mins ... If you are confident to walk it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BritishMigratoryBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, August 6, 2016
Thank you so much

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

If you want to get away from Granada´s made to order touristic centre, while still enjoying great sheets and beds, good service and a lovely garden, this is it.
Your walk to and from the town centre will be full of insights into what really goes on in the hood, and the proprietor, Yexira, is ready to offer loads more information about anything you wish to know.
Very good value for money.

Room Tip: The garden screens rooms very well from each other, check what kind of peope are staying either side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, August 6, 2016
Thank you so much

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel is nice, clean and well managed. However, a few things kept me from giving it more than 3 stars.

First off, I was given a room all the way at the end of the building and it was very humid. There is a nice courtyard with lots of plants and therefore lots of little animals crawling about, even inside the room (mostly geckos). There was a safety box for valuables and overall it was very clean. No hot water but I doubt you would need it.

The location is good, you can walk everywhere, but it's in a not-so-nice area, just past the municipal market. Driving through the market during the day is crazy and walking back after dinner is a little scary for a person travelling alone. I encountered several drunken men, one even tried to keep up with me while I walked; others were in little groups, men obviously drunk with no shirts on. Also, it's in a residential area and the streets are usually covered with dirty water coming from the nearby homes. I was advised by the lady managing the hotel to be careful where I stepped. Also, no light posts on the streets.

As for the nice lady managing the hotel, she is nice with the guests but at one point I saw her treating her young son very badly while he was studying for an exam, even calling him stupid. I believe she and her husband are the owners, but regardless, that was unpleasant.

They have secure gated parking in front of the hotel for one, perhaps two cars. Never tried their breakfast but did see a few people eating there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexxxor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, August 6, 2016
Thank you

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights, having a few days to look round Nicaragua before a conference.

The hotel itself is not at all fancy, but the service I received overall was absolutely exemplary, well beyond what one can reasonably expect. We pretty-much got a free travel-agent service thrown in, which dramatically improved the quality and enjoyment of our stay.

Having never been to Nicaragua and wanting to fit in some solid touristing during the 3 days we had, (combined with sharing my stay with a guy I had not met previously, who was arriving a week earlier), I asked a lot of questions about timing and transport and taxis and trips and prices. Everything was answered (in English) commendably promptly and fully both before we booked and arrived and during the trip. This was hugely helpful, and most appreciated.

I was picked up at the airport and transported to the door (which really doesn't look much like a hotel - it's in a normal domestic backstreet in a scruffy bit of town).

The room was tidy, mosquito-proof, with a working ceiling fan and power and a nice shower. As it was incredibly cheap this made it excellent value. It was quiet.

The hotel essentially consists of a set of rooms either side of a lush garden courtyard, with a breakfast terrace and foyer. It is small but beautiful. The garden is lovely, the rooms are nice and quiet. Eating breakfast looking out over this is glorious.

Breakfast was a choice of local (rice and beans), strange squeaky cheese, or more conventional cuisine. It was not at all fancy, but excellent value in a lovely setting, and an opportunity to feel just a little bit like a local.

We walked round the corner to the recommended local fish restaurant which didn't look like much with its (neat) dirt floor, but the food was absolutely top-notch - We were impressed.

The location is to the south-west of town, so is actually quite handy for getting out to visit volcanoes or nearby villages, but it's 15-mins sweaty walk into the town centre through either the absolutely heaving high street or the parallel satreet-market. It's, erm, very Nicaraguan - bit of a culture shock for the average European :-)

One day we asked about visting the nearby peninsula with its multitude of islands and a local eco-tour guide was procured. I went on one of the hotel bikes (which was pretty knackered with a rebar pedal, broken gearshift (I managed to fix that) and flat tyres - the hotel doesn't run to a pump, but you just go 100 yds round the corner and a guy pumps it up). My colleague went on the back of the guides motorbike - an odd procession. It seems we were this family's first ever eco-tourists, so the experience was a little random and the language barrier didn't help, but we had a great day out nevertheless: it was great to be dealing with genuine local people devoid of middlemen.

So, I would unhesitatingly recommend this place to anyone who wanted to visit Granada, especially if they value genuine helpfulness and a local knowledge over the 'posh hotel' experience. I liked the eco-sensibilties of the place: the way they deal with local drivers, and tour guides and the fact that bikes are available (They do need to keep them in decent working order though). Visiting a hotel isn't normally something you end up with particularly fond memories of - this place was an exception.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xWookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, August 6, 2016
Google Translation
Gracias por compartir su experiencia.

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My family and I (wife, three kids, and two dogs) have driven from California to Nicaragua in a 35 passenger school bus. We stayed at the hotel for 3 weeks. It is a short walk from the city center. I have had to sleep in my bus many nights because of people trying to break in throughout every country along the way. I have a rack on top and a rack on the back and nothing was messed with. I was able to sleep soundly every night in a room with a fan with my bus parked on the street without a single issue. The hotel has a large beautiful garden centered through the walkway that keeps much of the city noise out (they celebrate almost every night in the city for something or another). The staff keeps the place very clean. From tours to massages, the owner, was willing to help with everything. She helped get drinking water delivered to my bus before we left and even gave a group other viable hotels to stay at when her hotel had no vacancies. The owner is a local who works hard on her business and has good family values. Although very inexpensive, we did not allot money for eating at restaurants after the first week of the month. The owner allowed us to use all of her facilities to cook our own food and use her tables. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikal v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Although the room was pretty basic, the people who worked there along with the owner were awesome! They took pride in there hotel and were there to help with anything we needed. It is a little away from the main town but very easy to get to town, safe neighborhood and easy to get to the lake!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, August 6, 2016
Thank you so much,

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#14 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#25 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Fortaleza Granada Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Almirante
Hotel El Almirante
#13 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Barcelona

Property: Hotel Casa Barcelona
Address: Puente Palmira | 1 block east 1 block south 1/2 block east, Granada 43000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Barcelona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Barcelona is the perfect place to stay in Granada for your holidays or business trips. Our accommodation is clean, familiar friendly eco-and safe. It is also the perfect starting point for countless tours and explore the rest of this extraordinary country. This is a project for Granadian woman who want to provide for themselves and their children and improve their quality of life. Many thnaks to Arpon Flores Family from Spain were the official primary investors funds in this project, Fundation Centro Empresarial Pellas and kindom of the Netherlands provided academic funds resources for our employees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing