We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is your home in Granada... And IT WAS!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Granada
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 5, 2012

First minute we walking in , we were so welcomed!The ladies were wonderful. They have two friendly dogs, Apollo and Shakira.

When we got there, we thought it was a odd neighborhood because you are 15 mins( walking distance) away from the heart of Granada. It is such a quiet spot and you have everything you need at Hotel Casa Barcelona. We had to leave at 6 am the next day so we were able to get breakfast and it was nice hearty one.

I recommend it to anybody and next time we are going back to Granada, we definitely staying there again!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonitamonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2016

Thank you for writing your experience

Hotel Casa Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 153 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

Hotel Casa Barcelona is set beautifully beyond a spacious reception and dining area in a lush garden in a quiet part of town. From the moment we walked in the staff assisted us with local information, even calling around on our behalf to find the best prices for activities, not to mention tips on places to visit and eat in the area.

We traveled as a couple and a single with rooms each and found the level of service in particular to the rooms was 5 star hotel standard. They were thoroughly cleaned every day, towels and items arranged neatly and nicely, like the room was made up for new guests. Our friend had some sores from having climbed Volcano Maderas several days prior. The staff boiled up an anti-septic natural tea that she could use on her sores, which helped immensely. They also helped with her unsettled stomach by providing ginger tea. Even the laundry service was amazing, they managed to remove stains from t-shirts that were otherwise immoveable.

Given the hotels proximity to the center of town, it's best to get taxi's back late at night, but we did on some occasions eat at the hotel, which was great. The Carbonara is particuarly good. As are the breakfasts.

The hotel is within walking distance to the main tourist center. It's probably a 10-15 minute walk through the market and busier, more local areas of Granada. Those seeking an authentic experience will enjoy this as there's great local shops, some great barbers for those needing a haircut, and some pharmacies as well. It can be bustling, but it's what you're here to see, real life; as Granada can often be very touristy. Having said that, both the Garden Cafe and the music cafe Imagine are great places in town to stop.

But make sure you stay here. The comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, care of the staff and quality of the food are hard to beat.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2016

Tthank you so much.

Hotel Casa Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a night in November. The staff was excellent (very friendly!) and the room was extremely clean. We were greeted with a fresh lemonade (cold, with ice-- perfect!) and cookies. We ended up staying only a night since we weren't keen on the location-- it's not just that it's a few blocks (5 I think) off the plaza, but it is also past the street market and Pali grocery store. We preferred to be closer to the city center, which was a bummer since everything else about the place was great. One thing I should also note is that I had requested a driver to meet us at the airport in Managua, and we never saw him there so after waiting an hour we took a taxi. When we got to the hotel she said the driver was still at the airport waiting for us. Yikes! Not sure what happened but they were nice about it and it wasn't a big deal for us. Also the bed was pretty firm for our taste.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chocopoppas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2016
Google Translation

Gracias por compartir su bonita experiencia en

Hotel Casa Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Yes, it is a few minute’s walk from the hustle and bustle of the major tourism area, but that makes for a more quiet location. The owners/staff make it very clear from the onset that providing exceptional service is important to them. We walked from the bus stop (inbound from Managua) near the main square. We found signs and made our way after a few false turns. After crossing the bridge there is a very short uphill stroll where I slipped and fell on a wet slippery place. The staff took us to our room before even checking us in so I could shower the mud/dirt off. They even took my soiled clothes and laundered them for free. The rooms are extremely clean. We found the beds a bit firm, but that is a personal taste. For all of our area outings, we received great info, in English. When we elected to eat dinner one evening at a nearby restaurant, they even sent a young man to escort us to make certain we found the right place. Great experience!
Addendum: If you arrive after dark, take a taxi.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhirldWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2016

Many thanks for your review


Hotel Casa Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Other than the location, this is a great little place. Very friendly, a great breakfast and nice rooms. Unfortunately the location lets it down…although central Granada’s pretty touristy and very quaint, get a little outside of it and it goes downhill (probably a bit harsh…you just swap tourists and clean streets for locals and chaos!!) which means that you’re always a little on edge when walking home from a bar or dinner after dark. We never saw anything bad or had any reason to suspect anything bad but I’d definitely not recommend this place to a solo traveller or a couple of girls – purely because of the location. A shame as it’s a lovely place

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesF_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2016
Google Translation

Hotel Casa Barcelona y su equipo agradece mucho su comentario.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Near the market area, but peacefull and silent. Incredibly nice owner. Clean and cosy rooms. Superior breakfast.
We had nice moments with the two ladies of the hotel when we were spending time there and relaxing. It was like being in your own livingroom.
Viva Hotel Barcelona

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ismo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2016

Many thanks for your positive review

Hotel Casa Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is simply flawless, you honestly feel like you are somewhere else when inside the property. The owner is just amazing, always eager to help.
The hotel itself is situated very close to the market area, which can be very crowded, loud and maybe even a little bit of a shock when you get off the bus, but the owner was smart enough to place blue signs guiding you to the hotel.
A very important thing is that you have wifi inside your room.
When we arrived, she greeted us with cold lemonade and cookies (well needed after several hours on a bus!) And helped us plan our stay in Granada.

The only downside (but it seems to be 'normal' in Nicaragua, since we experienced this in other places) is that the shower has only cold water.
I would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank equis18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2016

Many thanks for your review,

Hotel Casa Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 45 in Granada
43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 45 in Granada
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#20 of 45 in Granada
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
#26 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa La Merced
Casa La Merced
#25 of 45 in Granada
46 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Generalife
Hotel Casa Generalife
#41 of 45 in Granada
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Barcelona

Address: Puente Palmira | 1 block to the east 1 block to the south 25vrs east, Granada 43000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: $34 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Barcelona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Barcelona is the ideal place to stay in Granada for your holidays or business trips. Our accommodation is clean, familiar friendly and safe. It is also the perfect starting point for countless tours and explore the rest of this extraordinary country. This is a project for Granadian woman who want to provide for themselves and their children and improve their quality of life. We believe in the culture of work. Many thanks to Arpon Flores Family from Spain were the official primary investors funds in this project, Fundation Centro Empresarial Pellas and kindom of the Netherlands provided academic funds resources for our employees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing