We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guestfree, very tidy and very honest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Granada
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
“Guestfree, very tidy and very honest”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

With 15 friends, I had a great time at Casa Barcelona in Granada last summer. We were treated fabulously, it was definately one of the best hostels we've been in.
The last morning, in quick rush, I forgot my iPod in a room in this hostel. The owners e-mailed me, and sent it in good shape back to Holland. How must more honest can people get? Truely reliable, what fantastic people, who clearly care about the customer.

Casa Barcelona, from your friends from Holland, Salut!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, August 6, 2016
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentario,

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    46
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
67
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

How we got there
This is our first trip to Nicaragua, and reading that Managua was not a place to stay we went straight to Granada which is one hour away from MGA airport.
We found Casa Barcelona on the internet and booked it cause it looked nice and cheap. The $40 pickup-service is actually a good price for the tour to Granada (booking at MGA it's usually $50 as we were told at the airport) and after being on the road for 45 hrs or so we arrived safely in our little place.

Yasira (one of the the owners) was perfectly okay with us just booking the first night to check around the next day and fixed us our first Nicaraguan meal in the middle of the night. The English of the staff is decent and both of them (Yasira and Josepha) are a charm to have as hosts. The menu is not that of 'Comidas tipicas y mas' (check it out when your in Grenada and you'll know why) but the food is affordable ($5-$8/meal) and good. We ended up eating 3 out of 4 nights here in the hotel.

The Place
The place itself is new and clean. Jordi (Yasiras Spanish husband) had his say in setting up the place, so the matrices are a dream, WiFi, the internet computer and printing are included. The small garden is wild and authentic. Big trees and bushes make it Nicaragua.
If you're looking for a pool and a night bar this is not your place.
The feeling in the place was that I never thought locking the room was necessary.

The Rooms
The rooms itself are small and charming. Two-beds and kingsize-beds. Very clean little bathrooms with shower. No hot water, but well. It's Nicaragua...I'm from Germany. I don't think they know what cold water is if it doesn't come out of the fridge.

The Area
10mns strolling by foot away from the center the hotel is actually located in the original Granada and it's probably hard to find if you're not looking for it. The hotel doesn't pay commission to cab-drivers so they occasionally spin stories about safety issues in the area. Since I don't feel threatened by local kids playing in the street and grannis watching me out of their apts I can't agree to that.
Me and my chica have been walking around here at nights with not even so much as a hint to a dangerous situation.

Summary
All in all for me this is the perfect start-out for backpacking the area. It's calm, the staff is a charm, the place itself is clean, safe and very relaxed.

About me
31, programmer, German. I've been backpacking in Thailand, Vietnam, Costa Rica, Cuba & now Nicaragua!
Cheers, Steffen

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BagOnBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, August 6, 2016
Google Translation
Gracias por compartir su agradable vivencia en Hotel Casa Barcelona

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stumbled into this hidden heaven, then ended up wishing we didn't have to leave!


Fresh off the bus, me and my parents stagger through the streets of Grenada trying to find somewhere nice, comfortable and affordable. Which lead to a very stressfull situation carrrying massive backpacks down seriously bustling market roads.
Finally, argument and bewilderment forced us to follow the signs for Hotel Casa Barcelona until we arrived through to what seemed a very pleasant escape from the panick and madness of outside- first we were greeted warmly with a ver friendly and excellent at english Yexira. Initially despite the beauty, serenity and natural love this place was really made from. My dad decides it's over-priced (However, this is his mentality for everything!) After much deliberating and very helpful advice about where else we could stay... we booked a room relaxed and fell in love with the place- yes even my dad.

Postives-
Where to start? Superb service, even some small spanish lessons!
Well cared for, us and the rooms!
Quiet, tranquil and naturally beautiful. Incredible advice on what to do in Grenada, also booked us a brilliant taxi driver for a fly by tour of this architectually intresting city.
Really safe, secure and guarded by part garden tender/ part comedian Jose! Set us up with an immense choice perfect breakfast, ready to endevour on through the rest of this stunning country!
THANK YOU :)

No negetives however it is a bit of a walk in the night, but easy to find and it is only a walk. Regardless quick taxi trips, anywhere in town, will only be a dollar/ 20 cordobus per person.

Room Tip: Great if you want a break from all the stress and noise, dorms don'y get too busy and private ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kennykal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, August 6, 2016
Many thanks for your review and share its

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I decided to study Spanish in Granada for 3 weeks this past month and was looking for a place to call home. Yexira and her lovely hotel could not have been a better choice. The hotel is a labor of love and was all I was hoping for. It is clean, quiet, well tended to, reasonably priced, decorated with care and in a vibrant Nicaraguan neighborhood 10 minute walk from the tourist center. (It would be a wonderful base for a few nights too.)
Walking home in the evening was always a pleasure as I saw the true city dwellers out and about and I never came home without some fresh food I had purchased at some of the many stands along the way. (Taxis are omnipresent and inexpensive as a night option.)
I had the pleasure to get to know Yexira throughout my stay. She is a fine, very nice, caring,intelligent woman who is there if you need her, but blends unobtrusively into the background when you do not.
I had one of the most wonderful stays here, in my many travels, because of Yexira's hotel that I was able to call home. perhaps, if you are as lucky as I was, you will have a chance to meet her delightful family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyctraveler11215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, August 6, 2016
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por tomar tiempo valioso suyo y compartir su experiencia.

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The rooms are nice and very clean, breakfast (5 USD) is very good.
The staff very helpful and kind, tells you about the city history and places to see.
Bad point: too far from the centre, not dangerous but at night you have to take a taxi
Good point: unique hotel where they accept credit card with NO charge!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balzarasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Very nice hotel in Granada. Small, clean, quite and very friendly staff. Has little garden inside and serves delicious breakfast! We had stayed here for few days with family of two adult and our little boy. Just few blocks away (10 min.) from Granada main plaza. Save neighborhood as we had walked all days down to restaurant and churches with no problems at all. Sure, you must have common sense as everywhere in the world. And definitely we would stay here again if one day we will come back to beautiful town of Granada!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vidmantas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, August 6, 2016
Thank you so much for share your review.

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The location is 10 minutes walk from the town centre. It seems like out of the way because Granada is such a tiny town, but in London terms that is as close as a typical walk to the nearest tube station - there is nowhere in Granada that is not near the centre of town. Despite that the hotel does achieve the tranquil feel it strives for, being tucked away just off the main north-south road.

The rooms are good - they are in separate little huts, with lots of shrubbery around. This results in a very quiet and peaceful atmosphere. We went for a room without air conditioning, but the large window and fan were more than capable of keeping the room at a comfortable temperature. They have cold water only, but in 30 degree heat I did not see that as a downside. The Internet connection is fast and as reliable as can be expected from an ADSL line.

Yexira is a wonderful hostess, is very knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. She helped us plan trips to volcanoes and organise a trip to the islets to the south of Granada. The hotel owners are dedicated to making tourism in Nicaragua prosper, and as such try to find the best deals and experiences for tourists they can (if you ask them). They will also advise you of where to visit in town and what the good places to eat are.

The cooking was surprisingly good, and although the breakfasts are not included in the room price they are well worth the cost. I arrived to Granada around midday and walked from the bus stop, so when I got to the hotel I was noticeably sweating. Their lemonade + biscuits had truly restorative qualities.

The bikes they have are very... Nicaraguan. You'll see what I mean if you decide to make use of them. Just around the corner from the hotel there is an air-fill station - like a petrol station but one that provides air and bike servicing.

They also do laundry: It was about 10 times cheaper than in Managua, returned on the same day (in contrast to the 4 days Managuans managed to take), and didn't lose anything. All in all, a clear winner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, August 6, 2016
Thank you for share your positive review.

Yexira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#14 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#25 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Fortaleza Granada Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Almirante
Hotel El Almirante
#13 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Barcelona

Property: Hotel Casa Barcelona
Address: Puente Palmira | 1 block east 1 block south 1/2 block east, Granada 43000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Barcelona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Barcelona is the perfect place to stay in Granada for your holidays or business trips. Our accommodation is clean, familiar friendly eco-and safe. It is also the perfect starting point for countless tours and explore the rest of this extraordinary country. This is a project for Granadian woman who want to provide for themselves and their children and improve their quality of life. Many thnaks to Arpon Flores Family from Spain were the official primary investors funds in this project, Fundation Centro Empresarial Pellas and kindom of the Netherlands provided academic funds resources for our employees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing