We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was Divine! Drinks Disappointing.”

Restaurante Ciudad Lounge
Ranked #24 of 168 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our menu is small in quantity, but big in taste. 6-7 Appetizers & 5-6 main plates, ranging in price from $10USD-$28. We are changing culinary style and service in Granada, Nicaragua. We are possibly the most expensive restaurant in Granada - but we do not compete with any restaurant in Granada. Warning: if you are traveling on a tight budget, please do not come to Ciudad Lounge as you will be terribly dissapointed and we will be sad that you couldn't enjoy our full range of offerings and this - what is almost 100% of the time a wonderful dining experience - will end up on this site as an experience from hell, due to the economic shortcommings of a client, that should not reflect on the style and performance of our restaurant. Average style-lounge-dining experiance is about $40/pp We assure you that your meal and time spent at Ciudad Lounge (average 3 hours) will be among your top 5 lifetime restaurant experiences. Welcome to the New Nicaragua Your Hosts Noemi & Chef Puro
Granada, Granada, Nicaragua
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was Divine! Drinks Disappointing.”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Chef Steven is amazing! We were there several weeks ago and had this chipoltle hummus with perfectly done crostini and a fabulous cucumber-dill relish followed by pasta pomodoro, which was perfectly al dente and delicious. This was my second time at Cuidad Lounge. On my first visit last January, I was equally impressed with the food. The service is always excellent - if not a bit overboard. On both occasions, I was less impressed with the drinks. While the food is definitely an excellent value for the money, the drinks are not poured generously for their high price. If you want some wine or cocktails with Chef Steve's amazing food, be prepared to spend money.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank anominoxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william l, Owner at Restaurante Ciudad Lounge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Visitor.
We are delighted that you are a fan of our food quality and service.
Everything that we do at CIUDAD LOUNGE is carefully considered before it reaches our client – from our lighting, music, cigars & wine list, food and, of course, our service.

Perhaps the reader might find it trivial and maybe a bit unrelated, but recently we had a Consultant from Kimberly-Clark products brought in to do an evaluation on our client’s bathroom process to ensure the most hygienic experience. Some might think that’s a bit overboard in a third world country – where most places lack even the essential toilet paper and/or hand soap. Most of our clients, on the other hand, would say that’s reason for praise. We think it’s just right.

About the drinks – we serve 2 oz. of the main liquor per drink. Our martini glasses are probably the biggest glasses we have seen in Nicaragua, as are our wine goblets.

A Standard pour of wine at CIUDAD LOUNGE is between 5-6oz. Perception of the size of our glassware – compared to what’s displayed generally in Granada – may be the culprit, perhaps. Also is the quality of the wine we serve versus what’s the norm in Granada (generally from a box) that can distort sense of value versus quality and quantity.

Our Italian Sangiovese house wine was chosen for it’s balance of fruit and alcohol and it is representative of the best quality that’s available for the price that we can ask our discerning clients.

We won’t solved the long question of whether or not size matters, today, but we can assure everyone of our clients and our future visitors that we will concentrate on quality, first – then price. Always.

Best for the Best.
Your Hosts
Noemi & William
CIUDAD LOUNGE
g r a n a d a
Nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    28
    14
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worth the money”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have been here 4-5 times over the last several months and this place serves up great food and a really nice atmosphere too. It is essentially priced like a nice restaurant in the US, but you get what you pay for and this place is worth the money. I have also been here before just to smoke some cigars and have a drink and it is great for that too. You pay for it, but when you consider they have the best cigar selection and wine selection by far around here along with great food then you really shouldn't mind spending the few extra bucks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IBarnone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william l, Owner at Restaurante Ciudad Lounge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Appreciative Friend.

You nailed it. In fact, commenting to the staff, when we received this comment, it's interesting that you are our 100th review on this site - what a coincidence that this milestone came with words exactly to confirm what we are and why we are here.

You are absolutely wright; if one gets the choice, service and the quality, why not pay the extra bucks? I think so and so do many others, like you.

We are rated like an international, fine dinning restaurant and we price our service, ambiance and meals like an internationally rated restaurant of this level - the only difference is that we are in a third world country and many folks expect to encounter service and goods of lesser value. However, once inside CIUDAD LOUNGE all rules are broken and the senses begin to let go…

In Granada, we are leaders in culinary style and taste.
We thank you for your words.

Best for the Best
Your Hosts
Noemi & William
CIUDAD LOUNGE
g r a n a d a
Nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Cool”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Loved this place, very cool atmosphere and fresh menus everytime we go. Love the live music!!!

Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJMendoza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william l, Owner at Restaurante Ciudad Lounge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Visitor of CIUDAD LOUNGE

Thank you for the high words of recommendation.
We are pleased your experience was complete.

Best for the Best
Your Hosts
Noemi & William
CIUDAD LOUNGE
g r a n a d a
Nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“High Quality Place!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place is great. We had a meeting here and it was quiet, the service was excellent, and the prices were decent. Great place to grab a cigar and a beer. Their chef is amazing and the food is absolutely delicious.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william l, Owner at Restaurante Ciudad Lounge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Well Travel Friend.

Thank you for visiting CIUDAD LOUNGE.
Glad you enjoyed the food and smoke in our relaxing environment.

Cheers!

Best for the Best
Your Hosts
Noemi & William
CIUDAD LOUNGE
g r a n a d a
Nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles California
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“went on a recommendation”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Ciudad is an experiment in Granada. A hip New York martini lounge and restaurant combined. Jazz music piped in and a live duo on violin and saxophone.

Limited menu, but excellent food. The lobster risotto was outstanding. Snapper was very good.

We are older and the ambience is for a younger martini set.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CAK45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william l, Owner at Restaurante Ciudad Lounge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Refined Guests.

So glad you came to CIUDAD LOUNGE.
We are very happy that our dishes exceeded your expectations.

Some additional explanation about what was going on during your visit to our restaurant on April 27th, 2013. It is for sure that this aspect about our evening was not properly explained to you and your companion.

CIUDAD LOUNGE started a “Guest Chef” program almost at the same time it began service. The program essentially is to invite international Chefs to come to Granada and cook with us in our kitchen. We do this for a simple reason:

To spread the word about Nicaragua to Culinary Internationals so that they may become interested in helping develop more fine restaurant options in Nicaragua, which generate more tourism and thereby more growth and employment, etc., and, to treat our clients to an evening of flavors and sounds!

– On that particular night we had a duo from Masaya that performs Jazzy sounds here at CIUDAD LOUNGE on a regular basis. Our Guest Chef was Kenny Robinson – featured on Chef Hunter on the Cooking Channel and a Chef to the stars, like Mogul Sean Puffy Combs and others.

It is definitely possible that the extra level of “noise” and activity may have given you the impression of a “hip” restaurant, but we are far from it – we are a polite, relaxed and very intimate experience in food and ambiance. The extra bit of noise was just a normal for our Guest Chef events, to enhance the celebration and to welcome our Guest Chefs to the New Nicaragua.

We are looking forward to your next visit.
And thank you for your comments.

Best for the Best
Your Hosts
Noemi & William
CIUDAD LOUNGE
g r a n a d a
Nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Ciudad Lounge also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Restaurante Ciudad Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing