We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ORO Travel

ORO Travel
Ranked #10 of 44 Tours in Granada
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: ORO Travel is Nicaragua's pioneer incoming travel agency offering a wide variety of travel opportunities throughout the country. We offer guided circuits in English, German, French, Russian and Spanish, as well as day tours, fly and drive tours, multi destination packages, Spanish classes, hotel reservations, private land transfers and much more. All tours are customizable to meet the diverse interests of the travelers, whether you are looking for adventure, history, culture, nature, beaches, meeting local people or any other desire. Our professional and friendly staff will meet any request. ORO Travel’s knowledgeable and charming tour guide crew, will offer a unique travel experience in Nicaragua. We also possess our own fleet of modern vehicles which allows us to provide good and comfortable land travel as well as flexibility in planning tours.
Pacific Palisades Calif.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Oro travel provided us with an excellent guide David who had perfect command of the English language as well as Oman who also spoke English very well. They picked us up at our hotel in Managua right on time as scheduled.(We actually were running a few minutes late).We did a one day trip to Granada and it was fabulous,the volcano and cultural center,Masaya market ,tour of Granada and its historical sights,and a boat ride around the Isletas and back to Managua. The passion and knowledge of our guide made for a great trip and worth every minute. We felt very safe in the hands of our driver.
WE would highly recommend Oro travel and would use them again on our next trip to Nicaragua.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PBORG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    1
    0
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
potomac, md
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“January 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We used ORO travel for a one day trip to Ometepe Island. We were staying in Managua and our guide Julio picked us up at our hotel at 5:30AM, as we had previously arranged. The trip was wonderful and Julio was a delightful and very knowledgeable guide. Although the ride from Managua to the ferry that goes to Ometepe Island was long, the time passed very quickly. Seeing the country was interesting and Julio gave us a lot of information along the way. The van was very comfortable. We saw a variety of sites on Ometepe and had a lovely lunch- a very enjoyable day!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank vannlind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Made our first trip to Nicaragua full of adventure in a positive way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

My wife and I just returned from our first trip to Nicaragua and we will definitely be returning in the future. ORO Travel planned our entire trip and we could not be more pleased with the hotels, resorts, and tours they selected for us.

Day 1- We arrived at the airport in Managua and were greeted by our tour guide, Rodolfo Ortega, and our driver, Winston. We were driven to our first hotel in Granada, the Hotel Estrada. After checking in to our room, Rodolfo met us 30 min later and gave us a walking tour of the city. This was great because it allowed us to get a layout of the city in our minds and check out some cool sites while learning a lot of history. After the tour we returned to our hotel and had a nice dinner at the hotel's bistro, Bistro Estrada.

Day 2- After breakfast at our hotel, we met Rodolfro and our driver Winston for a tour of the Masaya Volcano and Pueblos Blancos. I've always wanted to check out an active volcano up close and Masaya will not disappoint! I can't get into every detail of what we did that day but to summarize- tour volcano, visit a family's home for a demo of how they make the local pottery, visit an open air market to shop, visit a produce stand to taste fruits and other items we had never heard of, visit Catarina for views of the Laguna de Apoyo, return to Granada.

Day 3- After breakfast we are met by Rodolfo and Winston and taken to the shore of Lake Nicaragua for a boat tour of some of the islands in the lake. We visited an old fort used to defend the city from pirates and viewed lots of islands created by the Mombacho volcano explosion. Some of these islands are undeveloped with wildlife while others are inhabited by people. At the end of the tour we arrive at an island which is our second overnight destination, Jicaro Island Ecolodge.

Day 4- We wake up at Jicaro and meet Paco for a kayaking tour through the surrounding islands. We see all kinds of birds, locals fishing, and get some great exercise while learning more history and some information about conservation efforts being implemented. After the tour we arrive back at Jicaro for a lazy day by the pool, some great meals and excellent drinks.

Day 5- We are transfered back to shore of Granada by the resort staff where we meet Rodolfo and Winston for more touring. We are taken to the top of the Mombacho Volcano for a hike through the cloud forest. The views from the top are spectacular. We see the city of Granada and the islands we just toured days before plus we get to see a sloth and check out some other cool volcano features. I won't spoil it by listing all the details but if you only check out one volcano on your trip to Granada, this should be the one. After our volcano tour, Rodolfo walked us through the cemetery in Granada. The tombs are very ornate and above ground (think New Orleans) and we get to check out some more history there. We depart from the cemetery and on to our next overnight destination, Morgans Rock, a beach resort near the beach town of San Juan del Sur. Along the way we get to stop and view Ometepe, an island in Lake Nicaragua formed by two volcanoes. From there we are taken into the town of San Juan del Sur for a walk at the malecon. After a brief tour of the town and very interesting encounter with a lady and her monkeys, we are dropped off at Morgans Rock resort.

Day 6& 7- We are staying at a resort (Morgans Rock) with close to 5000 acres of forest and a mile of private beach. With a fat view of the ocean from our room, wonderful food and drinks, and not being too impressed with what we saw in San Juan del Sur, we decide to spend all our time at Morgans Rock. No tours for us, just kicking back enjoying the waves, the pool, hiking around the property and the feeling of peace and relaxation.

Day 8- We are greeted that morning by our driver Winston who returns us to the city of Granada for our 2 night stay at Los Patios. We walk around the city and do some shopping and more eating. There is a main street with lots of bars and restaurants. At night it gets very lively and we were able to see many street entertainers and do some people watching.

Day 9- We spend the day walking around the main square and surrounding shops. Along the way we meet a guide in the main square who books us a carriage ride (the only tour ORO did not book for us) and gives us some more history on the city. That night it is back to the main street for more dining and entertainment.

Day 10- A driver from ORO meets us at our hotel and transfers us back to the airport in Managua.

To summarize, ORO took great care of our needs. Juan Espinoza handled me directly through email when I wanted to add more days to our tour. There was never a need to get on the phone which was nice since we are in the States. He always got back to me quickly and understood our needs. Upon arrival at the airport in Managua we were provided with a packet of our itinerary along with some maps and other available tours. Both drivers we had were always on time, very helpful with our luggage and courteous. Our tour guide, Rodolfo Ortega, was one of the best guides I have ever had. He is very knowledgeable and willing to go the extra mile to explain things and discuss any topic we were curious about. He was fun to hang out with and made us feel very safe and comfortable at all times. His English and Spanish is perfect and being a local to Granada, he was able to make great suggestions and provide us with what I feel was more of a genuine experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptK1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will use them again. Highly recommend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Instead of renting a car (for our first visit to the country) we wanted a driver to pick us up from Mangua airport, drive us to the village of Las Penitas for our few days stay, then pick us up to return to Mangua for the next leg of our trip. Leave the driving to someone else we decided!
Both drivers were friendly and knowledgeable. The first driver was a bit late because the original driver had an emergency, but the fantastic customer service representative, Marcela communicated the delay, so it was not a problem. He arrived in the time she told us, and made the 2 hour drive very enjoyable. The second driver was early on arrival, and patiently waited while we finialize our packing. Again a very enjoyable drive back to the airport.
We will be back to Nicaragua at some point and will definitely use Oro again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuvCAbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ORO Travel - Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I recently travelled to Nicaragua with my 2 children ( ages 20 and 22). We required transportation from Managua to Leon, then San Juan del Sur, Granada, Apoyo and back to Managua over a 2 week period.

Marcela at Oro Travel looked after us. She was great. Emails the day before to confirm travel times and the drivers were always very prompt and friendly.

A great trip and I can highly recommend ORO and Marcela.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ORO Travel also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to ORO Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing