We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, variable food, good service”

Restaurante El Tranvia
Ranked #81 of 168 Restaurants in Granada
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Taos, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location, variable food, good service”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We have eaten here and in the associated 'Chocolate' café at the Hotel Darío. The deserts are excellent, beef was excellent, but the shrimp were overcooked, but tasty. Right on the main tourist street, where the people-watching is always great, the courtyard garden provides a wonderful alternative setting.
Servers are helpful, with moderate command of English, but occasionally get distracted.
Kitchen is the same for the café and the restaurant - only the menu differs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimLud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Delicious and Beautiful”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch at this lovely hotel while on a tour of Nicaragua. The staff was very attentive and the food was excellent. We had a choice of steak, chicken or fish, all with specific sauces created just for them. I was able to taste all three items, and they were all excellently prepared and delicious. The beauty of the hotel enhanced our meal. The only negative was the begging children just outside of the walls of the hotel. That aside, we would definitely recommend this restaurant for excellent food and atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Charming Dining Experience in Granada”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hotel Dario is a fine hotel in the Granada and within it is the restaurant El Tranvia. The building itself was probably built as a grand home in the Spanish style and has been lovingly restored to fit the modern necessities without taking away the charm. The dining room has very tall panelled doors and an even taller vaulted ceiling. Juliet balconies look out onto the street. The food was wonderful the first night we dined there. I had one of the best steaks in Central America. The service was very courteous and prompt and the chef came out to see us as well while we were on dessert. We came back another night to take in the Friday night Nicaraguan Folk event where traditional national dishes are served buffet style. We were entertained by folkloric dancers and traditional music. All in all, a very entertaining evening. We did not stay at the hotel, but from the looks of how the restaurant, the galleries and the open air courtyard with fountain were maintained, it appears to be one of the better hotels if not the best hotel in the city.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stratfordcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Fine Dining Experience in Granada”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was by far the finest meal we had in Granada. The restaurant itself is beautiful, the service was perfect and the food both authentic and wonderful. It's a very upscale place, without being intimidatingly so. There are other good places to eat with good value along the same street, but this one really outshines anything we tried in Granada by a longshot.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Madison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good veggie plate if you ask”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We came here on a Friday night to see the folk show. You can eat for less elsewhere, and there are only two veggie options on the menu (gazpacho or fettuccine) but thankfully the waiter put together a decent veggie plate (11usd) sine I wasn't in mood for heart attack on a plate and needed more than a cup of soup. Definitely touristy and I wouldn't come here for the food but was a nice evening to sit outside in courtyard and watch the dancers. Definitely reserve a table as the place was packed with tour groups.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winnie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante El Tranvia also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Restaurante El Tranvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing