We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great consistent Food”

Margarita Bar & Grill
Ranked #50 of 165 Restaurants in Granada
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great consistent Food”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Over the past couple of months we have ate our lunches and dinner here, all were delicious, full value and large portions.

The variety on the menu covers all four main meats, mashed potatoes, rice, or french fries and most meals come with a salad. Prices were very reasonable and on par with other establishments.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retired_Traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    39
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manistique, Michigan
Level Contributor
156 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

the dishes are excellent, and prices are too the bar is inside, with some tables, and seeing it is on a walk street, there is a a lot of tables out side to enjoy your drinks and great food, may I add the best Mango Margarita around, a big ex pate hang out, and they have lots of info for the asking, so don't be shy

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jthayer219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Margarita Bar & Grill Best Food in Granada Nicaragua”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

American Owned and Opperated, a taste of home 3,000 miles away.
The Margarita Bar and Grill is also a hotel where you can rent a air conditioned room and you will need one in Granada for only $30. a night with private bath and a hot shower.

The Food at the Margarita Bar and Grill is the best in all of Granada, we are talking lobster,prawns,ribs,burgers and in the mmorning bagals made Bob More Style with bacan,eegs,tomatos,unions and cream chese. YUM YUM

Located on the Calle la Calzada just down from the Central Park.

The Calle la Calzada is a walking street that has lots of bars, restaurants and hotels on it.

At night thousands of tourist and locals come to Calle la Calzada to sit in the outside cafes and eat and drink until the wee hours of the next morning. It is the Party Central Street for Granada.

On the Calle la Calzada in the eveing Preformers and entertainers stroll down the street singing and dancing in costumes of the 15 century. You can also be entertained by the dozens of musical groups thet room the Calle la Calzada.

I like to sit out in front of my hotel Margarita Bar and Grill on the Calle la Calzada and watch the show go by.

I am Panama Jack
editor of the Panama Visitors Guide a guide for all of Central America

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Stayed in their rooms for rent”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This bar has 3 rooms for rent in the back. We rented a room with one bed for $35/night. Bob, the owner, was super nice. I emailed him daily before the trip because our flights kept getting canceled and delayed and we ended up arriving in Nicaragua 3 days later than planned. He was very nice to keep accommodating our changes.
Normally we take public transportation, but we arranged for a pickup from the airport for the first time ever. After arriving so late for our vacation, I was excited to see my name on sign at the airport. However, there was no sign. Our flight was 1.5 hours late, and our driver couldn't wait, so he just left. It's ok, we were on vacation and we found another ride once we realized we had no ride and that no one else was coming for us.
Finally made it to the "hotel" and got our room. The pros: Even though it was behind the bar, it was fairly quiet and out of the way. It had hot water, air conditioning, a convenient location withing walking distance to everything, and had a great staff. It also had a courtyard outside of the rooms, however it seemed to be used often by the staff. The cons: Bathroom didn't appear to be cleaned, and the closet had the most horrible odor in it, bad enough to make someone sick, as you will soon see. Since it's actually part of the bar, we also had to get to our room by going in and out through the bar.
We arrived on a Sunday and the bar was playing the NFL conference games. The place was packed and it was a great time. Lots of cold beer, plenty of tv's, and many ex-patriots there all the time with lots of stories. The food wasn't so great, but it was a great place to watch sports.
My man ended up getting very sick the day after we got there. I thought it was a hangover from too much drinking watching the football games, but turns out it was the flu. I got the same flu 2 days later. So, of the 4 nights we stayed there, we were sick and stuck in the hotel room for 3 days. The 1st day my man got the flu, he felt terrible and just wanted to get sick already. I told him I know what would do it, and I opened the closet and told him to take a deep whiff. Sure enough, he ran straight for the bathroom. Sorry for those details. Even though we don't own a tv ourselves, and we were thankful for the tv in the room with tons of channels, several in English, to watch while we were sick in bed. The hotel must have thought we were nuts to fly all the way to Nicaragua to sit in our room and watch tv, but they weren't aware that we got the flu.
We had a decent stay, and the staff and the owner were all really nice. Bob arranged a driver to take us to the airport for our flight to Little Corn. $40 to the airport was excessive, as I noticed shuttles were charging $12 per person. But the convenience was nice. It was unfortunate that we got so sick, but I appreciate the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff while we were there.
These rooms are convenient and a good place for someone to stay if they like the bar scene. You will enjoy Bob and all the regulars that hang around the bar. Not good for a traditional Nicaraguan experience, but enjoyable if you want to watch a few games, have a few beers, and hang out with English speaking people.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidCity,SD
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Ate dinner here twice”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Had dinner here twice and thought it was very good and reasonable priced. We had the beef filet covered with white sauce, onions & jalapenos. Their spicy french fries are also good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ssycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margarita Bar & Grill also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada Department, Nicaragua
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Margarita Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing