We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven! Didn't want to leave!”
Review of Los Patios Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Patios Hotel
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Los Patios is an exceptional place to stay! Originally built as the residence of its owners, a Danish family, Los Patios feels like you are staying in the guest accommodations of a sophisticated friend's home rather than a hotel. You are so attentively catered to by the fabulous staff, are fed a gourmet breakfast and snacks (to order), have all your comforts taken care of (gym and yoga classes, massages and spa, swimming pool, wifi, tv, a/c). It is a pleasure to live in such stylish architecture and design - Scandinavian/latino fusion. We stayed in both a double room and the magnificent suite with its balcony and view. The location is fine - a short walk from everything - in a safe residential neighborhood with friendly Nicas (it is authentic and has not been gentrified yet). Staying at Los Patios is pure delight!

Room Tip: All rooms are great but the suite is special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 323 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We found this gem through friends who highly recommended it to us. Stayed there twice and found a very quiet, modern environment, with swimming pool, excellent breakfast and outstanding services. The common area are extraordinarily large for a five room hotel. We highly recommend it to people looking for a ''home away from home'' and look forward to going back on our next trip to Granada.

Room Tip: The large suite on second floor is available for a small extra price. Well worth it if you intend to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place is slightly off the beaten path in a family neighborhood. The vibe is laid back and the vast outdoor space has a tranquil energy. The breakfast are terrific and the staff is really friendly and helpful.
The hotel has internetband air conditioning which is unique. It is also just steps from Pure Fitness Spa which is nice for the area.
We had read some reviews that called the nieghborhood sketchy, but we think these folks have not traveled to many third world cities. It was very much a family area and we felt completely safe.

We high recommend this hotel for your stay to enjoy the city of Granada.

Room Tip: We like the first floor but for twenty bucks more there is a huge room with great views upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ComfortCreatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We just departed this B&B after staying 5 nights. The place was like an Oasis. After a few really hot windlass days it was great to come back to the B&B and jump in the pool. The staff was exceptional..... everyone of them. We had a delicious breakfast everyday we stayed and occasionally ordered food off the menu during the day when to tired to go out. Everything is home made including the bread.

The place was very clean, quiet, staff was very friendly and helpful. Could not have asked for anything more.

The location is a few blocks from the central square which means you do not have the noise that other travelers complained about around Central park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chouliha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have been meaning to write this review for ages but daydreaming about what a wonderful time we had there last June reminded me I never wrote anything about this amazing hotel! The building itself was our first draw for staying there and it's far more beautiful in person than in the pictures. We have a friend who is a prominent Nicaraguan architect and when he came to visit us for a drink, he couldn't believe he didn't already know about this place! The space may be gorgeous, but it was really the staff that made it such a lovely stay. Everyone was so helpful and welcoming! The food and especially the juices were beyond fantastic. I sort of just wish I could move in and use their fresh water pool everyday! I rarely write reviews, but this hotel really deserves it. We often stay at places that cost far, far more than this and have almost never been as happy with our stay as we were here.

On a side note, we, as well as a couple friends who visited, are gay and we felt totally comfortable there. There was no weird conversation about there only being one bed in the room that we often get in Latin America.

A couple of recommendations are to eat at the little cafe across and down the street. It's in a couple's house and the cooking is healthy and fresh. Also, the yoga classes at the studio down the street are very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vespa116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I can't say enough wonderful things about Los Patios, a small gem of a hotel in Granada, a lovely old Spanish colonial city. The building facade is plain and it's on a nondescript street, so it doesn't look promising at first, but once you cross the threshold, you feel like you've entered another world. Los Patios feels less like a hotel and more like the home of a wealthy friend with excellent taste. Multiples patios lead you deeper and deeper into the property, with delightful touches -- a hammock, a small but inviting swimming pool, a giant chess set -- in each one.

The public areas are stunning, but the rooms are lovely as well. Ours was spacious, high-ceilinged, and very clean. And the service is just as great as the property itself. Armando and Anne welcomed us and took care of all our needs, from booking tours to arranging transit. Breakfast was delicious. They do something special to their rice and beans that adds a crunch to it -- just the kind of attention to detail that shows in everything about Los Patios.

The only minor downside: it could be a little closer to the heart of the city -- La Calzada, Plaza de la Independencia, etc. But it's a short walk, just a few blocks. We walked in the area at night and felt perfectly safe, although we tend to be on the intrepid side. (One other issue -- the wireless internet, which other reviewers have mentioned -- was quickly resolved by Anne just rebooting the router.)

In short, Los Patios is amazing -- and an amazing value, too. Nicaragua happens to be a very affordable country, but a place like this anywhere else in the world could charge two to three times as much. If you should ever find yourself in Granada, definitely stay at Los Patios.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

It is so clean here and the staff are very friendly and professional. We stayed in Granada at this hotel and were pleasantly surprised how much we enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was good our entire stay and the staff went out of their way to ensure all of our needs were met.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#6 of 45 in Granada
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
708 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Patios Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Patios Hotel

Address: Calle Corrales 525, Granada 00000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: $103 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Patios Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Patios Hotel is a boutique design hotel located in Granada, considered the most beautiful city in Nicaragua. The hotel features five patios, an outdoor lap pool with natural spring water and a recently built Spa area. In designing the hotel, the Danish owners blended the modernity of Scandinavian style with the tradition of Spanish colonial style.Amenities in each of the five hotel rooms include air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable tv, wireless internet service, as well as many other details to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Our deluxe suite features its own personal balcony with a magnificent view of the Cocibolca Lake and its islands, the Mombacho volcano, the Cathedral and the mountain chain of Granada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Los Patios Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing