We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Best Bet in Granada!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guesthouse El Carmen
Ranked #39 of 67 Granada B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Bang for the buck! A great 400 sq. ft. suite with kitchenette and A/C. The hotel is about oh 5 blocks from the action on Calzada. It has a really nice courtyard where somehow the temperature is about 15 degrees cooler than it is outside the hotel. A few hammocks and tables and chairs to enjoy the outdoors. An added extra--the great bar in the front lobby of the hotel where cold beer is always available. Arnold (the owner) has an EXTENSIVE collection of music and if you like Elvis, he will not disappoint!!! It's not the Hilton, but I couldn't even get a closet at the Hilton for this price. I loved everything about it (except the doves in the courtyard that woke me every morning--bring earplugs and enjoy!!!!!!) I'm already missing the great friends I met there:-)

Room Tip: The downstairs suite with A/C was a winner! Frig, stovetop, blender, microwave. What more could you...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Guesthouse El Carmen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 46 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Sad to leave my second stay at El Carmen, terrific deal. Light and spacious studio with kitchen at a great rate. Lovely courtyard with hammocks to while away the hot afternoons, and Arnold,Donnaly and Jesler were always available with tips and local advice. Nicely away from the main drag so it is quiet but an easy walk down to the action in the Parque Central. Spotlessly clean and friendly, will certainly return if I get back to Granada.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adsceptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

we had great time at this hostel! rooms are nice and clean, with nice garden and comfy hammocks. We were lucky to meet very nice people here and have fun times just drinking at the bar with owners and other travelers exchanging travel stories. Arnold and Donnaly were very helpful and really tried to make our stay great experience. If you don't know what to do around Granada just ask them to arrange you a day trip with Phillipe, very fun guy who will take you to a great tour around Granada.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karlastzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I agree with all of the previous reviews about the Hostel. The owners do a great job and are very friendly. We rented a room for $14 a night and it had a private bath and a double size bed. I would recommend this place to anyone on a budget. The only negative comment I would have is that our bed was not very comfortable and my back suffered for it. Everything else was great!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tjh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold_Jensema, Owner at Guesthouse El Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Tim,

glad you liked are hostel so much. We bought a new bed (an orthopedic one) and the guests speak highly about it. Bit of a pity you choose to not tell us in person about the bed but rather share it on the internet.

Kind regards

Hostel El Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel is situated in a calm street close to the center of Granada. We payed only 14 USD for a double room with private bath. The room was clean and spacious and the hotel was very nice with hammocks and a beautiful garden.The owners are very friendly and helpful.
Thank you for a great stay, Arnold and Donnaly!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auringonkukka512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nothing but good things to say about Hostal El Carmen - very clean rooms with high ceilings, charming garden with hammocks, breakfasts are reasonaby priced and can be served either in the garden or your room. The owners, Donnaly and Arnold, are very helpful and welcoming. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Everything about El Carmen is great - the location, the price, the rooms, and the hosts. Carmen is located just a few blocks of the main square on a quiet block. Rooms are spacious, and the owners, Arnold and Donnaly are always around to help you or chat with you if you need anything. While it seems like a safe spot, Arnold is very vigilant to make sure that everyone locks the door as they come and go. Breakfast is not included, but you can order it if you want to. They've got a bar up front, and while someone's usually there to get your drink for you, you can also serve yourself if nobody's there to serve you. With so many options in Granada, I'm glad I chose El Carmen, and I would chose it again in a heartbeat if I ever return to Granada!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UltraNatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,043 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
336 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 45 in Granada
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
705 reviews
0.0 mi away
GM Granada Hostel
GM Granada Hostel
#4 of 72 in Granada
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isleta El Espino Ecolodge
Isleta El Espino Ecolodge
#2 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse El Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse El Carmen

Address: Calle Consulado Casa 420 | Frente la Farmacia San Fransisco, Granada, Nicaragua (Formerly Hostal El Carmen)
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: $14 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse el CARMEN is a large private house in the Historic Center of beautiful Granada. We rent out studios which are located around a beautiful courtyard and are recently constructed. It has solid walls and all units have a ceiling fan, windows overlooking the garden, that can be opened and a private shower and toilet.One of the studios has air conditioning. The studios are well furnished. A dining table for four, 2 rocking chairs, a wardrobe, cupboards and a Queen-size bed.The kitchen is also well equipped: A stove with 4 burners, microwave, coffee maker, juice maker, refrigerator, pots and pans, plates, cups, wine glasses, cutlery etc for 4. Towels and sheets are provided and the room is cleaned once a week.The house has a nice garden area with abundant tropical vegetation. Pick your own mangoes in the season or see the Sacuanjoche blooming, Nicaraguans national flower. We have two terraces with a couple of hammocks to linger in or enjoy an ice cold beer. The neighborhood. We are located 3 and a half blocks from the main shopping street and 4 and a half blocks from the Central Park. Thanks to our location everywhere you want to go to is within walking distance while at the same our location is quiet and away form all the hustle and bustle of the tourist area. This building used to be a hotel but it closed in September 2013. We are now a private house renting out rooms at times. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing