We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A hidden gem in Granada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Mar Dulce

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Mar Dulce
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Granada
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Granada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. This hotel sits outside of the downtown area by a few blocks. It contributed to the quietness. Also this allowed us to walk through the local neighborhood and watch the children playing soccer in the street. The hotel was immaculate and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool was sparklingly clean and a great way to cool off after a hot day in Granada. The price was more than reasonable and the air conditioning was a great treat. We would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    26
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
20
42
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were three young girls traveling in Nicaragua and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Hotel La Mar Dulce. The staff was very helpful and very nice - the breakfast was tasty and the rooms were perfect! The pool was also beautiful and extremely refreshing. The hotel was peaceful - a nice getaway from the hustle of downtown. It was located on the outskirts of the main square in Granada...but a 10 minute walk brought us there no problem. We really enjoyed this walk because we got to explore Granada in its entirety and learn the streets relatively quickly. Overall, we loved this small hotel and would definitely go back. It was incredible!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The first thing you should know--- this place is not easy to find! Streets in Granada aren't named/marked and getting directions from locals is no easy feat (especially when arriving on a dark Saturday night!). However, we found during the light of day that there were signs around town for the hotel... but many of the signs had been picked up and moved so the arrows were pointing in the wrong direction...). Definitely know where you are going before you head into town for this place.

Once we found it, however- Hotel La Mar Dulce was WONDERFUL!!! The room was clean (and cool! Three cheers for air conditioning!). They cleaned it while we explored the town in the morning, cooked us a wonderful fresh breakfasts, and were exceedingly warm and attentive to any of our needs/requests.

I will definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling to Granada--- just make sure you are very sure of where you are going before you head into town!

Room Tip: balcony rooms are nice--- both our safe and our air conditioning remote were out of battery power wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank JuliaTagliarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Staff was very nice, rooms are 3 star level in the US rating and clean. Pretty difficult to find the location because it is in a small street, in a residential area, with few street lights so you better find the hotel before dawn.
Breakfast was delicious but slow service, don't be in a rush to get served!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Julie239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at La Mar Dulce on a visa renewal over Easter weekend. It was a delightful respite after a day of touring in the hot Nicaraguan sun. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable, clean and well air-conditioned. The pool was clean and refreshing and the beautiful landscaping contributed to a very pleasant, relaxing time. Just a few short blocks away was a small shopping center with pharmacy, grocery, and clothing store for those last-minute items you may need. It's location was a bit away from the town square, so if you want everything at your doorstop, this is not the place for you. However, if you want an intimate hotel with an excellent breakfast to start your day amidst pleasant surroundings while you enjoy that afternoon cocktail, by all means stay at La Mar Dulce.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinGal147289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Small, quiet and quaint hotel. Newer, nice clean rooms, great breakfast, pool was awesome!! About a 10minute walk from central Granada - through a nice, safe neighborhood. I highly recommend and would stay there again! Great staff too!!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have view of volcano, we stayed downstairs with view of pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Love2Dive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here in March and it was very hot, so the A/C unit in the room and the pool were lifesavers. The staff was excellent - very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were fair. Choice between three dishes each day and not too creative. The room was comfortable and very clean. Well stocked mini-bar. The pool was great and my daughter loved it. It was a short walk to the center of town and in a quiet location except for the occasional rooster in the morning. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smokey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 42 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#15 of 42 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#10 of 42 in Granada
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa del Consulado
Hotel Casa del Consulado
#23 of 42 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#13 of 42 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Almirante
Hotel El Almirante
#17 of 42 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Mar Dulce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mar Dulce

Property: Hotel La Mar Dulce
Address: Calle La Islita. Del supermercado La Colonia 3 cuadras al Sur 1/2 Oeste, Granada 0505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Mar Dulce 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located at the entrance of our colonial city, La Gran Sultana, on La Islita street, from Supermarket La Colonia 3 blocks south.. The hotel gets with 16 modern rooms, entirely with everything, including a Suite, for you pleasure and satisfaction. This way your enjoy your stay with us.Hotel La Mar Dulce holds exclusive swimming pool for our guests and their families and friends. Also national drinks, juice, beer and rum of your preference in our bar.Bellow you will find all amenities in our rooms;• Swimming pool• Internet (WiFi - Free)• Hot Water• Air conditioning / ceiling fan• TV cable• Safe deposit box (free)• Breakfast • Bar service• Laundry service• Turistic info• Transfer - Tours• Transportation from /to the airport• National & international tickets• Laptop for rent with access Wifi• Cyber café (Free)• National & international calls/fax service (with IP technology)• LED Lighting• Security cameras• Security 24 hrs.• We accept credit cards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel La Mar Dulce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing