We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel with fabulous service”
Review of Hotel La Mar Dulce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Mar Dulce
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great small hotel with fabulous service”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here in March and it was very hot, so the A/C unit in the room and the pool were lifesavers. The staff was excellent - very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were fair. Choice between three dishes each day and not too creative. The room was comfortable and very clean. Well stocked mini-bar. The pool was great and my daughter loved it. It was a short walk to the center of town and in a quiet location except for the occasional rooster in the morning. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smokey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    28
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
20
44
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My daughter and I stayed over Holy Week. Delightful, small hotel with beautiful pool, clean, air conditioned rooms and charming staff. Nica breakfast an extra bonus! Convenient walk to center of town! Great value, too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creedmoor, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Truly enjoyed this hotel. My husband and I stayed here for a little over a week with a group of 21 people--we basically took over the hotel. The staff were very sweet and accommodating. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the rooms were well equipped, clean and much larger than the other hotels we stayed at in Granada. It was great to unwind in the beautiful pool in the central courtyard after a hot day. I enjoyed being a a few blocks away from the main plaza and the noise tourist streets.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lascool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A group of friends and I had the privilege to staying here last month and we had a wonderful time!

From the quick and easy check-in, to the amazing Nica Tipico breakfast this place has it all! The pool was a wonderful place to start your morning and finish off a busy day.

The walk into town is lovely and really gives you a chance to get a feel for the day-to-day life in Granada. We did the walk at all hours and felt very safe! It's about a 10 minute walk and very easy to navigate (even after a couple adult beverages).

Overall, we had a wonderful stay and I will highly recommended the hotel again, and again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSimpson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

What a value! Upon arriving, we were greeted by very friendly staff and the hotel itself was even more beautiful than on the website. The rooms are very large and comfortable.

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel La Mar Dulce. It's located 8 minutes from central park. Staff was helpful and accomodations quite nice. Staff helped book tours/transport. We enjoyed our stay.

The pool is beautiful. The complimentary breakfast is a wonderful spread, including fresh gallo pinto and eggs to order as well as fresh espresso. After the first night we decided to extend for the rest of our stay in Granada.

The hotel is situated just minutes walk from just about all the real stuff in Granada; bus stations, malls, etc. We felt safe walking to and from local bars and restaurants at night.

If you really want to enjoy Granada this is the place to do it.

Room Tip: marital rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 720TimL720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We loved staying at La Mar Dulce. The rooms are clean and comfortable with fridges, comfy beds, a safe and flat screen TV. We travelled with our 7 year old daughter, and she loved the pool. It was a nice break every afternoon from the dust and heat of Granada. They also give you as many big pool towels as you need, which was a nice change from other hotels we stayed at in the country that just gave us two bath towels. In addition, the staff is very friendly and the free breakfast is delicious.

An unexpected delight was the location, which is about 8 blocks from the city center. Because the hotel is in a local neighborhood, you get to witness day to day Nica life-- we even got to take part in a Semana Santa processional!

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a room with a balcony on the front of the hotel, but the local dogs bark a lot at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here in Granada 3 nights and could not have picked a better hotel...Our room was substantial, clean and had all the necessary amenities for the confort u need. The pool was cool and inviting, and the breakfast was all one could ask for. The very best part of the experience, however, is the people of the Hotel La Mar Dulce. Everyone smiled and seemed to enjoy being there. They were gracious and helpful, So don't miss staying here if you are in Granada.

we'll be back soon!
Thank you guys! we really enjoy this gem!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overloking the pool (with balcony/terrace)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErickC V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Granada
Hotel Cordoba Granada
#40 of 43 in Granada
14 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#16 of 43 in Granada
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mansion de Chocolate
Mansion de Chocolate
#20 of 43 in Granada
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#25 of 43 in Granada
141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 43 in Granada
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Mar Dulce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mar Dulce

Property: Hotel La Mar Dulce
Address: Calle La Islita. Del supermercado La Colonia 3 cuadras al Sur 1/2 Oeste, Granada 0505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Mar Dulce 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located at the entrance of our colonial city, La Gran Sultana, on La Islita street, from Supermarket La Colonia 3 blocks south.. The hotel gets with 16 modern rooms, entirely with everything, including a Suite, for you pleasure and satisfaction. This way your enjoy your stay with us.Hotel La Mar Dulce holds exclusive swimming pool for our guests and their families and friends. Also national drinks, juice, beer and rum of your preference in our bar.Bellow you will find all amenities in our rooms;• Swimming pool• Internet (WiFi - Free)• Hot Water• Air conditioning / ceiling fan• TV cable• Safe deposit box (free)• Breakfast • Bar service• Laundry service• Turistic info• Transfer - Tours• Transportation from /to the airport• National & international tickets• Laptop for rent with access Wifi• Cyber café (Free)• National & international calls/fax service (with IP technology)• LED Lighting• Security cameras• Security 24 hrs.• We accept credit cards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Mar Dulce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing