We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot of space” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backpackers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Inn
Ranked #17 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Canton of Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A lot of space”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We got a huge room for 40 dollars. The old colonial house is great. The staff is friendly, Altough Its better if you speak spanish. theres also a small swimmingpool. Breakfast is ok, but ask for a discount and eat it elsewhere. I really recommend the place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jospian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    19
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
28
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

the backpackers inn is not your regular hostel .... it is only 3 years old so it doesn't have that
' run down ' feelling so many hostels have , everything is still in perfect shape . it's a bit pricey - it may even be too dear if you are on a really tight budget ( $ 15 for a dorm bed is about double than what you would pay usually in nicaragua ) . even $ 40 for a single room ensuite with fan was a bit overpriced i thought , considering that the room was very bare : all i had in there was a bed and a television , no furniture whatsoever or no hooks to hang anything which made it really hard to unpack. in fact , i felt like there were more furniture outside in the gardens than in the rooms ! ( it is also true that the rooms by the pool get quite hot , especially at night. ) i also stayed in the rooms without bathroom which are much cheaper ( there you get a bed & a chair ) .the shared bathrooms are next door and they were always kept very clean , it's also nice to get hot water as it is quite unusual in nicaragua.
that said, it was a very pleasant place to stay nonetheless with well maintained gardens , beautiful murals and plenty of cool places to hang out if your room got too hot , including a huge white hammock that could fit 2 people ! of course, there's the lovely pool which was a god's sent in the afternoon heat and such a treat !
there is also a kitchen that you can use which i really enjoyed .most days , the hotel was very quiet and i felt like i had the whole place to myself which was fantastic !
i must add also that i felt very safe there as a woman alone , even felt confortable enough to leave my valuables in the room which i'm usually reluctant to do , i even slept with my door open just to get more fresh air . they lock the place at nice but they always have somebody on duty to let you in if you come late .... the staff was very friendly , some speak english and were always willing to assist you if you had any questions.
so at the end of the day , i ' d say the rooms are nothing special but the premises are lovely and it does feel like a little oasis in the middle of granada , november was just the perfect time to be there !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mexicanbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Guess the title says it all. We were to spend just a nite in Granada; but we liked the place so much that we stayed three. The rooms are well decorated, clean and spacious; the pool a bit shallow, but works for the hot days in Granada; the location is close to all attractions, still peaceful and quite. The lady that cooks for breakfast used to ask what we wanted for breakfast the other day, and prepared accordingly.
I also forgot my cell and wallet right in the middle of the hotel, and got it back when i returned (so, it's a safe place, but we should be careful at all times)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank begumgur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Very clean, friendly staff, good location, safe. Pool is a nice treat! Little oasis in the middle of the city. Private and shared bathrooms, dorm rooms or private rooms. Garden terrace for eating or relaxing

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalala7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place is a gem. Close to everything but quiet and peaceful. The staff is friendly and helpful, the place is very clean and the prices are quite reasonable. During the off season you can stay in the dormitory and sometimes have it all to yourself. If you do not feel like sightseeing you can enjoy a quiet afternoon in the hammock by the pool. They have two beautiful courtyards. I have been there several times and will go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CGSchaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed here during low season and had the place to myself! I can imagine it would be such an amazing place during high season, but you might not get the same quiet relaxed experience as in low season! We have a double private room and private bathroom with a fan for 40$ a night (for 2 people) Breakfast is another 3 dollars each. It wasn't the best breakfast or anything but it was a good start. Rosa is very attentive and helpful. She cleans and cooks and will do your laundry for 30 cents/big item of clothing, and 5 small items=1 big item. The high ceilings and wooden furniture give this colonial building an incredible feel! Beautiful chandeliers and art are hung everywhere. You can pay for a room with air-conditioning for about 20 dollars more. I stayed in a room between both courtyards and therefore had two doors on each side and kept them open with the fan to create a nice breeze! It was bearable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrejka08675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ometepe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed here more than once as I have traveled in and out of Granada for dental appointments. The hostel is well run, has a nice pool and the staff is friendly. As I tend to prefer quieter locations, i would only stay there in the low season. Between private rooms and dormitories you could find yourself sharing a place with another 40 travelers...so if you like people, the noise and all the conversation - great...if you need quiet you could try it out in the low season. The staff is friendly and it is well run.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snpOmetepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#13 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Mar Dulce
Hotel La Mar Dulce
#31 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Cultural Casa Del Poeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Inn

Property: Backpackers Inn
Address: Corner of Real Jalteva St. and Barricada Ave, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing