We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Casa Cubana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Cubana
Ranked #2 of 71 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I lucked out with a last-minute reservation at Casa Cubana; staying here was heavenly! I stayed in the Nutmeg Suite - it's beautiful and massive. The vanity area in the bathroom was great for getting ready and I loved how all the switches were labelled. The entire house is lovely and Esther is a fabulous hostess. She helped me with every question I had, from where to eat, transportation, to interesting sights in the city. I would absolutely stay at Casa Cubana again if I visited Granada. The location is a bit further from the main tourist area, but it's close to the old hospital and the cemetery, which are both really interesting sites. If you're sensitive to noise, you may want to bring earplugs as the road can get noisy if a truck or motorcycle passes by. Breakfasts were great too, and a great way of meeting the other guests. The room is also great value. I'm really glad that I had the opportunity to stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 266 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We loved every minute: the place is gorgeous, the pool allows for a quick cool-off, and we loved hanging out on the shady hammocks or in the morning sun on our balcony. They also make a nice Nica breakfast.

The building work is of great quality - best I've seen in Nicaragua. Even the plumbing works, windows and doors actually keep bugs out. Esther is doing a great job looking after the place. She knows Granada very well and gave us lots of hints.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank soho49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Esther was an excellent host--very helpful, and enjoyable to meet. My entire family loved this place and ranked it as one their favorite places in our 2 weeks in Nicaragua. Beautiful space, nice breakfasts and conveniently located.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newfy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is an awesome little place with wonderful rooms, an awesome host (Esther), and the best and cutest breakfast chef (Hazel). There is a nice garden and small pool in the middle of the place with rooms surrounding it. There were about 3 other nice couples staying in the other rooms. It is close enough to walk down to the Calle La Calzada where there a several great restaurants, horse/buggy rides to take you around the city and to Lake Nicaragua. This was our third stay at Casa Cubana and we will stay there again next time!

Room Tip: The second room in on the left has nice doors to the outside you can open and watch and/or interact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night after deciding to travel to Granada a night early, and having nowhere to stay. Esther was an incredibly warm and welcoming host. She was out running errands when we arrived; but there was someone there to let us in and she had left us a map of Granada and bottle of water (always appreciated). We stayed in a beautiful duplex room with checkered tiled floors and a bed located in a loft at the top of a spiral staircase. The room has big glass double doors that open onto the gorgeous colonial courtyard (with plants, lounge chairs, and a small pool). There are long thick curtains that can be pulled to cover these doors; but the whole set-up creates a great feeling of openness. We had a very relaxing evening taking a dip in the pool and reading in the garden. Breakfast the next morning was delicious (fruit, eggs/gallo pinto, and coffee)...We would, without hesitation, recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah451985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed for a few nights here, was great, Esther was a fantastic host. Not far from the main square in Granada and Esther recommended some great places to eat around town. Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed here as a single for a few days the week of Thanksgiving. I stayed in the Saffron room (ask for it - although all the rooms are gorgeous, but this is the best one) The room is giant, simply and beautifully decorated and overlooks the pool and garden. The house is just a few blocks away from the center, but far enough away that it escapes some of the city noise. I could walk everywhere I wanted to easily. I loved the little pool and garden area in the middle of the house.

Esther was an amazing hostess. It felt like staying in an old friends house, if I had a friend with a stunning old colonial in the city of Granada. We went to yoga together and since I was alone, she even invited me out with her and her friends one night.

Casa Cubana was BY FAR my favorite place I stayed my entire trip in Nicaragua and the price is totally reasonable. Most of the other places I stayed were nice, but not quite up to Western standards. This place totally is.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Granada for any reason what so ever.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeninstpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,054 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#17 of 45 in Granada
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa del Consulado
Hotel Casa del Consulado
#15 of 45 in Granada
219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cubana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cubana

Address: Calle La Libertad | 2 cuadras al norte de Iglesia Xalteva, Granada 012466, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: $80 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Cubana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cubana is a charming and elegantly restored Spanish Colonial boutique hotel in the heart of Granada, Nicaragua. We offer 4 Unique Suites priced from US $70 per night. Each suite is luxurious with a Queen bed and orthopedic mattress, large private bath, with vanity and hot water. Nutmeg Suite has a Loft bedroom and a single handcrafted daybed on the first floor for families or traveling friends. In addition to the unique suites, we also offer a wide variety of bar drinks and juices for you to enjoy. Prices include a gourmet breakfast in our open air dining area by the pool! Come join us! Wish you were here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Casa Cubana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing