We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a charmer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Cubana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Cubana
Ranked #2 of 66 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a charmer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place is a little hard to find. But once you get there, you can relax. The service and accommodations are top notch! We had a wonderful time and felt very safe, even walking around at night with our daughter. The breakfast was wonderful. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer in the beautiful artists town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agentlemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
121
37
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have been to Granada a few times, but this was our first stay in Casa Cubana. Wish we would have found it before. The place is gorgeous, not far from the city centre and the patio with pool the perfect place to rest after a long day in the city. Thanks Esther for welcoming us. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishing-Nicaragua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a great little hotel! Casa Cubana is a stylish hideaway in Grenada. We stayed for two nights and would have loved to stay longer. Esther is a great host with information on everything including the latest cafe's and restaurants in town.
The rooms are spacious, clean and really well appointed. The bed was comfortable and the marble bathroom a luxury. There was some street noise but totally acceptable.
Breakfast was served in the wonderful courtyard and was delicous. Great place to chat with other travellers and share experiences.
Keep up the good work :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our stay at Casa Cubana was just one amazing piece of a fun and memorable Girls get-a-way or as we called it "Our Great Adventure" to Nicaragua.

A friend from Texas and I decided to take the bus from San Jose, Costa Rica to Granda, Nicaragua for an intense week of Spanish classes. Although, our package included accommodations at a local hostel, both being in our 50's we agreed, those type of accommodations just wouldn't fit the bill.

Our requirements were something private, en suite, separate beds, air conditioning, walking distance to not only the school but, restaurants and sites of interests. My business partner immediately insisted we stay with Esther at Casa Cubana. He and his family had stayed there twice since March of this year and, had done nothing but rave about the great time they had there. We contacted Esther and she immediately suggested the family suite. It was the perfect accommodation for the two of us.

We arrived in Granada from San Jose by Bus and though it was late, had no problem getting a cab to take us to Casa Cubana. Upon our arrival we were greeted warmly by Esther and immediately introduced to two couples also staying there. One from the states and one from England. All had nothing but glowing reviews assuring us we had made the right choice in staying at Casa Cubana. Knowing we would be hungry after our 8 hour bus ride she had arranged for a local restaurant to stay open late allowing us to have dinner. It was only a few blocks away and The Marlin Restaurant was a great place for dinner. In fact, we ate their
twice during our stay.

This was both of our first times to visit Nicaragua so we arrived a few days early to enjoy Granada and check out the sights. When we arrived Esther had already arranged for a local restaurant to stay open late so we could have dinner. She also had two tours booked for us. The City Tour and Boat Tour of the Isleta Islands on Lake Nicaragua. Both were with private guides, extremely informative and fun as well as a great value. The next day she took us to the local grocery store and helped me find a charger for my computer which I had left at home.

The queen size bed was great for my friend and I chose the twin size sofa. This was not a fold out but, a real twin size mattress fitted to a custom sofa frame. It serves as a comfy sofa by day, toss the oversized pillows and WA LA ! it became a real twin size bed. The beds were extremely comfortable and the linens were high quality.

The breakfasts prepared by the loving housekeeper Hazel were more like a breakfast feast.
The coffee cups were always full and each morning we left the table raving about the menu.
Due to the face our classes began before the normal breakfast time. Esther arranged for Hazel to come in early to make sure we had breakfast before leaving for class. Something we really appreciated.

Casa Cubana's location is centrally located and you are just minutes away by foot to anything you want to see or do in Granada. Poolside was a great place to study after a busy day in class. Plus, it also gave us the chance to get a little sun. I haven't one negative thing to say about our week in Granada and our wonderful stay with Esther at Casa Cubana. It was definitely one without any problems or surprises. Amazingly, it far exceeded my expectations. Owning a Boutique Inn in Costa Rica I tend to have extremely high expectations as well as, being very picky whenever I travel.

Needless to say, it was a 5 star Week... in a 5 Star B&B... with A 5 Star staff...
providing 5 Star Service ! If your travels take you to Granada for one night or a month
Casa Cubana is the only place to stay.

I can't wait for another Great Adventure to Casa Cubana, In fact, plans for one are already in the making. A wonderful thank you to Esther and Hazel for a trip to remember. Hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. However, when I return with my husband I want the upstairs suite with the Juli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were so happy that we chose to stay at Casa Cubana! The service was fantastic. Esther was extremely welcoming - making us feel like we were home right away. Also she was spot on with her recommendations for restaurants and activities. She helps coordinate anything that you need to make the most of your time in Granada. The guest house itself is a traditional colonial style home - which is perfect to truly experience the charm of Granada. It's in a quiet location less than a 10 minute and completely safe walk to downtown (which can get quite noisy with restaurants, etc). The property is absolutely beautiful with a garden and pool in the courtyard, common areas with rocking chairs and hammocks to relax in. The guest rooms are nicely appointed as well - spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated - continuing the elegant theme of the property. To top it all off you get a delicious rotation of breakfasts from Hazel to complete a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDexpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have two travellers we met on Little Corn for the recommendation to stay at Casa Cubana. And they weren't wrong. Esther is a very friendly and welcoming host; we very much enjoyed her company and she had plenty of useful recommendations. She was also hugely helpful in arranging a taxi transfer for us from the airport in Managua. The building is a wonderful colonial specimen, beautifully restored to a very high standard. We stayed in the upstairs room, which was just lovely and has balconies onto the internal courtyard which is lush with plants and flowers around the pool. Hazel prepares delicious breakfasts and guests eat together round the table - a great way to get to know others. It's a short walk into the very centre and an interesting walk, particularly at dusk, as local residents all bring their rocking chairs out into the street. The neighbourhood fritanga (BBQ stall) is fantastic and serves up a filling meal for $3. We enjoyed it so much here that we returned for a couple of nights at the end of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jools3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

An Oasis is how it felt to come "home" to Casa Cabana every afternoon during our 8 day stay. From the delicious and varied breakfasts prepared by Hazel to the arrangement of our tours by Esther, everything was "spot on." I can't remember the name of my room, but it was the second door on the left as you walk in the front door - the a/c in our room worked great. The location was convenient to the downtown/square area. I would highly recommend Casa Cubana to anyone wanting a very nice place to stay. Thanks, Esther and Hazel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Srookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.5 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#1 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cubana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cubana

Property: Casa Cubana
Address: Calle La Libertad | 2 cuadras al norte de Iglesia Xalteva, Granada 012466, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Cubana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cubana is a charming and elegantly restored Spanish Colonial boutique hotel in the heart of Granada, Nicaragua. We offer 4 Unique Suites priced from US $70 per night. Each suite is luxurious with a Queen bed and orthopedic mattress, large private bath, with vanity and hot water. Nutmeg Suite has a Loft bedroom and a single handcrafted daybed on the first floor for families or traveling friends. In addition to the unique suites, we also offer a wide variety of bar drinks and juices for you to enjoy. Prices include a gourmet breakfast in our open air dining area by the pool! Come join us! Wish you were here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Cubana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing