We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uli is terrific!”
Review of Casa Cubana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Cubana
Ranked #2 of 75 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2012

What can I say about Casa Cubana that has not already been said? It is just as wonderful, beautiful, tranquil, and amazing as all these other reviews say. The rooms are breathtaking and luxurious, you never want to leave. The state of the art kitchen has everything you need to make a great meal for yourself if you want to stay in and cook. If not, there are many restaurants just a short walk away. I felt spoiled being there! Uli makes you feel so at home and seems to always be there to help you with anything and everything you may need. He's very accommodating and welcoming and made my amazing stay even better!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 271 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the upstairs room which was wonderful. The room is huge with two french doors overlooking the courtyard and small pool below. The bathroom was very nice for Nicaraguan standards with a very large shower. The owner, Uli, was a great host and never bothered you but was always there to answer questions. Uli also made arrangements for a day trip Masaya market and the volcano for us and another couple. Our room is excellent choice for peace and quiet which can be hard to find in Granada. The casa is about a 5-10 minute walk to the park central and the main restaurants.
A local Nica woman came and prepared a delicious breakfast for all the guests every morning. I highly recommend Casa Cubana if you want a beautifully appointed room for a decent price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markc826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Our review of five night stay at Casa Cubana:

TRANSPORTATION:
We arrived in Managua and owner Uli had arranged for a taxi to pick us up. Our taxi driver, Allan, spoke enough English and I enough Spanish that it wasn’t a silent drive to Granada. There were two occasions in which Allan saw us walking downtown and offered us a ride, so he remembers who you are too.

ENTRANCE:
Clean, uncluttered and very secure. Upon arrival, Uli greeted us, showed us around and offered us a drink - very hospitable.

COMMON AREA:
Very green and lush, flowers in bloom, climbing plants so full they cover the entire back wall, not to mention palm trees that wisp in the breeze while you’re lounging in a hammock or by the plunge pool. Speaking of the pool; we absolutely loved it. We would come home and dip our feet or wade up to out knees to cool off with a couple of beers that Uli had available for guests to purchase. The hammocks were placed close to the palms so you could relax in the shade with a book or for an afternoon siesta. The housekeeper also swept and mopped the floors every day, maintaining a nice clean feel.

DINING AREA:
A huge harvest table awaits up to six guests to sit in high-back wicker chairs each morning at 8am. It’s very clean, modern and airy.

CLOVE ROOM:
A Queen bed with an open shower that provided plenty of hot water. There is a door for the actual bathroom to provide privacy from someone either showering or using the sink area. Mosquito netting surrounds the canopy bed while an overhead and oscillating fan provide ample cooling. There is an air conditioner as well, however, we did not feel the need to turn it on at all during our stay.

FOOD:
A pot of coffee is ready by 7am and there’s plenty of it. Hazel makes a number of different hearty breakfast’s, all starting with a small fruit salad and a glass of juice. Breakfast’s ranged from banana pancakes to gallo pinto with bacon and eggs. We enjoyed every breakfast.

ON-SITE MANAGEMENT:
Uli is the home owner and current on-site “manager”. He sat with us our first day and asked what we were interested in seeing and also made himself available to book excursions for you if desired (which we did). He recommended and also joined us for drinks at EnCuentros, where he introduced us to some ex-pats as well. He was very approachable and easy to talk to.

LOCATION:
It was anywhere from a 5-10 minute walk from parque central depending on time of day (walked a little slower in the heat of the day). It’s on a busier street which was both good and bad. Good in that we felt it was busy enough to feel safer walking home at night from downtown (although taxi’s are very cheap, $1 US per person at night). Bad in that the street noise at night/morning made us use ear plugs, which muffled - if not entirely got rid of the white noise. I don’t think you can escape noise entirely in a city though, and I’m exactly a sound sleeper either.

OVERALL:
We felt very comfortable, secure, and welcome at Casa Cubana, making our stay in Granada a very enjoyable one. We definitely recommend it as a place to stay. Feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FlexitarianCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We were trying to line up a trip to Granada, Nicaragua from Costa Rica. I made inquiries of several properties including Casa Cubana.

I received a prompt reply advising of availability. Unfortunately, we could not finalize transportation details. I explained our predicament regarding transportation to Uli Bartke and she again responded in an extremely courteous fashion, telling me that she would once again await my decision.

To make a long story short, Uli responded to all my correspondences (there were several) in the same manner, showing no impatience or rudeness with my lack of confirming a booking.

The matter was resolved when we told her our plans did not work out at this moment in time. Again, her response was so kind and understanding that we will make a booking with her when we return to Costa Rica next year.

The epitome of class. Good on you, Uli!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We recently visited Granada and stayed at the lovely Casa Cubano. A beautiful, old doctor's residence that has been turned into a lovely B&B. We stayed in the Ginger Suite. A huge room on the first floor, a very large bathroom with plenty of vanity space. Nightlights in the bedroom and bathroom. Wonderful breakfasts. Uli was very helpful with any arrangements that needed to be made. There is quite a bit of street noise, but that would be typical of any hotel in Granada. A small pool, perfect for taking a dip or just sitting on the side and cooling your feet in the water.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toadhollowtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went to Nicaragua for the first time and they had recommended "la Cubana"...aand my family is from Cuba so of course we had to stay there. What a pleasant surprise!!! We stayed in the one bedroom suite and it was just perfect!!! The room was spacious, very clean, the AC was sooo cold considering its sooo hott in nicaragua, and the Bathroom was perfect (huge and had an open shower), The decor in the rooms wwere soo nice and just perfect for this property. The location too is perfect..walking distance from soo many things to see and do. Luckily when we were there we got to meet Uly which is the owner and he was just soo nice, attentive, and gave us great advice on where to eat!! He is just so personable that this really made me love this place even more!! When coming to Nicaragua..trust me that this is the place to stay..highly recommended!!!!!!!! We hope to see you again Uly;)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Giner Suite. Awesome AC and HUGE bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brazil54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

CC is a gem of a place in Granada. Beautiful rooms, modern kitchen... lovely garden... quiet
setting and a great location. Host is wonderful.... terrific breakfasts prepared by Hazel.

Room Tip: Upstairs is our first choice but all are unique and have great beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruceWaltWhitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,084 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Lucia Boutique Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa del Consulado
Hotel Casa del Consulado
#22 of 45 in Granada
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cubana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cubana

Address: Calle La Libertad | 2 cuadras al norte de Iglesia Xalteva, Granada 012466, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: $80 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Cubana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cubana is a charming and elegantly restored Spanish Colonial boutique hotel in the heart of Granada, Nicaragua. We offer 4 Unique Suites priced from US $70 per night. Each suite is luxurious with a Queen bed and orthopedic mattress, large private bath, with vanity and hot water. Nutmeg Suite has a Loft bedroom and a single handcrafted daybed on the first floor for families or traveling friends. In addition to the unique suites, we also offer a wide variety of bar drinks and juices for you to enjoy. Prices include a gourmet breakfast in our open air dining area by the pool! Come join us! Wish you were here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Casa Cubana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing