We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fun, relaxing excursion with great horses, great views, fun people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Painted Pony Horse Tours

Painted Pony Horse Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy nature at its best. There is nothing like the freedom of being on horseback and traversing the hills and valleys of west of Granada. The scenery is beautiful with views of Mombacho Volcano and farmlands. Once there, we will assess your skill level and put you on the perfect horse. All of our horses are healthy and happy and love to go on tours. The ride will take you through the countryside, near the Laguna Apoyo, and then we will ride through farmlands and hillsides. We currently offer Long and Short tours any day of the week.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Newport, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fun, relaxing excursion with great horses, great views, fun people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Janice, our hostess/owner was great! The horses were hand-picked based on our riding experience and size. None of the horses gave anyone any problems. The riding route to the rim of the volcano was just the right amount of riding with a nice meal and rest for the horses. The view was phenomenal! Janice was very sweet, friendly and the rest of the staff were helpful, makng sure the horses were cared for and everyone was happy. Highly recommended as a great day excursion to see how the people of Nicaragua really live!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank idahomichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

This was one of the highlights on our recent trip to Granada. The ride was great as described in the other reviews, but what we weren't expecting was the warmth, local knowledge and genuine interest in the environment that Janice provided. Our time with her (and her horses) greatly enhanced our experience in Granada. Thanks Janice!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank diannegot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Horseback Riding in Nicaragua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

Another fun ride with Ride a Painted Pony Tours! We have done this several times - we live in Nicaragua and we love to take our friends and out of town guests out horseback riding. The scenery is beautiful! A wonderful way to experience Nicaragua.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank NicaSpouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Granada secret revealed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

On our trip to Granada, many recommended visiting the isletas and a swim at laguna de apoyo. But the best was our excursion with Ride a Painted Pony. This horeseback private tour was fabulous! The ride through some of the most beautiful sights outside of Granada through the pueblos blancos, the views of the laguna were breathtaking! A short stop at a local cantina, great guides and healthy beautiful horses gave us a wonderful memory of Nicaragua!

Helpful?
1 Thank dakotapaloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“This is a "don't miss" tour for anyone visiting Granada!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

We live in Nicaragua and one of our favorite activities is going riding with Janice at Painted Pony Horseback tours. The beautiful horses are well trained and responsive, yet gentle enough for beginners. The 3 hour ride takes you through a couple of scenic small towns and up to the rim of a volcano with great views of the laguna below. Janice and her husband Jean Marc have lived in Nicaragua for several years and they offer a truly "up close and personal" tour that is off the beaten path and a lot of fun. VERY highly recommended for adults and families with kids.

Helpful?
1 Thank NicaSpouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Painted Pony Horse Tours also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
 

Been to Painted Pony Horse Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing