We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Granada.”
Review of Casa del Agua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa del Agua
Ranked #1 of 75 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Casa del Agua has been our home away from home. Our host, Gerry, made us welcome and comfortable in Granada. The central kitchen was a great place to meet other travellers. Our room was spacious and clean. The pool was always inviting. Casa del Agua is a great bang for your buck.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 428 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

Casa Del Agua was a super find. Thank you TripAdvisor! Gerry keeps his place super clean and the hotel has a great vibe. I love that it's right around the corner from everything but very quiet and very secure, which is a nice weight off your back. Pretty pool in the courtyard. The WiFi is super fast, much better than in Costa Rica and there are bicycles for free use. I'll definitely book again with Casa del Agua for my next trip to Granada.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IHeartTheobromine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful find. The location is unbeatable. The host is very friendly and immediately felt like an old friend, and the layout of the place is equally accommodating. The large open kitchen near the pool area is well thought out, and seems to make everyone more relaxed and open to group interaction.
The rooms were spotless and spacious, and unlike all other places we stayed in Nicaragua, you can flush the toilet paper down the toilet. Since we asked to extend our stay twice, we stayed in 3 different rooms - all of them nice. The host was always very accommodating, and was always easy to locate even when not in the building.
To miss an opportunity to stay here would be a mistake. Oh - and did I mention VALUE?

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank TonyZeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Wow! That is all I can say. After travelling from Belize, through Honduras and Nicaragua and finally onto Costa Rica: Gerry's guesthouse was and remains the highlight of our trip!! When we arrived to Nicaragua we heard from several fellow travellers that Casa Del Agua is the "place to be" to feel comfortable and gain insight into the area.
Gerry made all the guests feel at home and like a part of his family. Pointing out the highlights and certain things we should avoid during his "well rehersed" welcome speech. :) (You can tell he's done his speech a million times, all the time knowing that he cares for each of his guests and wants to keep us all safe). Even more so, you can tell that he cares about the community as a whole. Which is great to see that kind of passion for the country and community from an expat. :)
In the evenings we all socialized around the table drinking beers, playing guitar and swimming in the pool, and recapping on the days adventures. At times we didn't even want to leave the guesthouse for the day (to experience Granada) because we were having so much fun!
All in all....please do not pass up the opportunity to stay at this guesthouse. It is well worth the extra couple bucks as Gerry offers plenty that the other hostels do not!! If it is available....BOOK IT!!
I'm sure we will return time and time again.
Thanks again to Gerry and his staff for such a wonderful experience. We will miss you all!
xoxo - The Irish Calgarian and his "planner" ;)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YYCtravellette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I travel a lot and we often explore places we have not been to, something too many of our USA based friends avoid. You never know what will surprise you when exploring new cultures and either you fear or embrace the unknown...make your choice.

Sometimes, it is easy to place blame where it does not belong because we encounter unpleasant realities as we move about and how we react is too often based on expectations we never should have carried with us. In Nicaragua, we have encountered salty cheese....I mean REALLY salty cheese and WE DO NOT LIKE IT!!!

People who host guesthouses are often the victims of this syndrome. If you read through the reviews for Gerry's Casa Del Aqua, there are a few occasions where travelers have lashed out blaming the guesthouse for things no one could reasonably control. There are few instances of that as you will read in the reviews below, not many, but readers of Trip Advisor surely know what I mean.

Here is what matters though. When you do embrace the unknown and place your trust in the owner or manager of a guesthouse, especially as your first stop in a new country, how that person treats their guests is all important. We left Gerry this morning after four nights feeling like we enjoyed a level of hospitality no Five Star resort could even imagine offering. Moreover, a well run guesthouse treats the people who staff the place with the same courtesy and that expands the experience of feeling like you are truly in a place where coming back again is simply a foregone conclusion.

So many little things matter so much. When your host writes up by hand a short list of reliable places around Nicaragua with the aim to make sure your trip is a pleasant experience throughout, that counts for a lot. When you run around looking for your lost sunglasses and the host initiates a full on search even though it was predictable you stowed them in your bag the night before and forgot, that kindness stays in the memory bank.

So please consider places like this and the people who run them as a treasure shared only by those who avoid the multi-star mainstream tourist grind. That is how we feel anyway.

Room Tip: We chose to not use a/c as we anticipate our month in Nicaragua will not offer it so much so we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Four of us spent two nights in Gerry's awesome little hotel in late September 2013. Rooms were nicely appointed and clean. Pro's: awesome location, good wifi, delicious coffee, free bottled water, nice tv's in your room, friendly knowledgeable host. We travel to Nicaragua frequently and we'll definitely come back the next time we come to Granada.Thanks Gerry!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank potreroCR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I think Gerry has got it right ! From the pick up at the airport to the info in the bedroom, the spacious kitchen, lovely little pool, use of internet for guests, being situated just a stones throw from the center of the town, yes, Casa del Agua was great. As I single traveler I appreciated the airport pick for a reasonable price, and I appreciated Gerry's suggestions as the where to go and what to see in Granada. Loved Nicaragua, and hope to come back asp ! Thanks Gerry, you're doing a great job ! xxx

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megupinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#16 of 45 in Granada
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,080 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Agua

Address: Calle Guzman | La Gran Francia Al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: $48 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa del Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Casa Del Agua. An historic colonial house, located just off central park in Granada, Nicaragua. Each accommodation is uniquely and individually designed to suit all our guests requirements, (individual, family, triple, single, twin and double rooms,) which are all spacious and ensuite, All guests have full access to an open kitchen, dining and lounge and porch areas where you can enjoy the camaraderie and great advice of other guests. Also included is a continental breakfast, free coffee, tea, filtered water and bike rental all day! Exploring Granada's beautiful colonial city is easy to do since our location is right in the heart of town. Explore the many great restaurants and eateries that has made Granada the food capital of Nicaragua. And when the sun is at it's highest, the feet are tired, escape by dipping into our 2 crystal clear pools. Our motto: Casa del Agua is just like home, only better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Casa del Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Agua Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing