We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of Casa del Agua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa del Agua
Ranked #1 of 63 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We just stayed in Casa del Agua a few weeks ago and we can't say enough about it. The price is terrific....the rooms are fantastic...the location perfect. And oh those breakfasts! Also the front desk is extremely helpful. We love it there and would definitely stay there again if we ever return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIPSTICKLOULI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    58
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
180
54
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is a small hotel with 2 small apartments, 2 double rooms, two single rooms and a triple room - and they are usually all booked so make sure you have something reserved. The website is totally accurate - no nasty surprises; nice rooms; excellent location. Clean, friendly and secure. Host Gerry is accommodating and personally sees to your every need.

The only caution is be prepared for taxi drivers to over charge and to pretend the location is obscure. This hotel is well known and a ride from the Ticabus should be a dollar or two. But some tourists have paid as much as $20 for the short ride and been driven up and down side streets in a pretense of looking for the hotel.

Room Tip: Double rooms open onto the pool deck. See photo
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowbirdincostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

There are cheaper places to stay in Grenada, as well as fancier, more expensive places. However, Casa del Agua is a perfect compromise. We stayed in late July and spent $38.night for a private room w/ ac. About 3 blocks from the central park, the building is secure, quiet, and has wi-fi. A pool is available, as is a full kitchen that guests can use. Gerry, the innkeeper, is also helpful and can recommend good restaurants and things to do. The only negative I can think of is that our bathroom didn't feel super clean (we arrived early and they may have rushed to prepare our room.
Overall, I'd stay here again--for the money it is a great deal in a great city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrlunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I would recommend Casa del Agua to any traveler! This house has everything you need including a communal kitchen, living room, swimming pool and your own room has all of the typical things you need such as closet space, your own bathroom, etc. There is also a communal laptop that is convenient if you didn't bring your own. This way you can check emails and/or confirmations for other excursions. I did feel very safe here. There are multiple gates and locked doors and Gerry was always there to keep an eye out. He is also a very nice person. Granada was great and even more so that I didn't have to worry about my things. The construction of the house was dreamy. I always wanted my kitchen and living room next door to my own pool. The location is so convenient because you are literally walking distance from everything, no taxis necessary. The value is worth every penny. When I come back to Granada, I'm definitely coming back to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for the $6 AC upgrade to your room! This is so helpful for the hot nights. It's totally wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlliVacaGIRL33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Casa del Agua is a very charming and reasonably-priced hotel, close to the Parque Central and many good restaurants. It even has a pool which was wonderful at the end of a hot, humid day. The kitchen was well stocked with appliances, utensils, etc. Jerry, who owns the place was congenial and helpful with information and assistance arranging things. If you can't make it to Los Pueblos Blancos and want to buy some beautiful local pottery, Mr. Brocamante, a potter from San Juan de Oriente, comes buy and sells his products. We also had a fantastic taxi driver, Hector, who was very knowledgeable and gave us a good tour of Los Pueblos Blancos.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onetwo800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tres Rios, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Just what we were looking for; comfortable and felt like home; Owner/Operator Gerry was considerate and welcoming; the room was comfortable; the kitchen area was fully furnished and lots of space to prepare and cook; close to the main square and within walking distance to a lot of stuff; Tom loved the pool and spent more time than I exploring; and other guests were friendly and polite. I highly recommend staying here. No frills -just a good comfy home feeling place; Tom and Tracy

Room Tip: Just tell Gerry what you want and if he's got it you will get what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I highly recommend this place. I stayed with a couple of friends in the apartment and it was nice and clean, we had all the accomodations we needed; TV, kitchen, a private bathroom etc. The communal area included a well needed swimming pool (a rather small one but definitely sufficient), a TV with a broad selection of movies, a laptop with internet and a washing machine. The hostal/guesthouse is centrally located and everything you need is within walking distance.

Nicaragua is a very cheap country in itself and Casa del Agua is no exception. You get a very good value for your money. The staff is very nice and helpful and I honestly have nothing bad to say about the place. It was definitely the best place we stayed at during our 2 month backpacking trip!

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nyponet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Agua

Property: Casa del Agua
Address: Calle Guzman | La Gran Francia Al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Agua is located in the beautiful and historical colonial town of Granada, Nicaragua. Just 30mts south of the Catheral in central park. Your ideally located to explore the heartbeat of the town, with it's many bars, clubs and fine food cafes & eateries. This self catering guesthouse is a must for all travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa del Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Agua Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing