We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of ChocoMuseo

ChocoMuseo
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.70*
and up
Chocolate Museum Tour from Managua
Ranked #5 of 73 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: ChocoMuseo is the new Cacao and Chocolate Museum in Granada Nicaragua.It offers a great overview of the history, the nature and the manufacturing of the cacao and the chocolate. There is a chocolate factory located inside the museum and Cacao farm tours are offered..
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very nice, but a little pricey. It takes too much time to go through the whole experience. Wonderful and centrally located.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Agentlemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbodes, Owner at ChocoMuseo, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
ChcooMuseo takes as much time as you want to devote to learning about the history of chocolate and cacao, the botany of cacao, and the fabrication of chocolate from bean to bar.
Perhaps you can return when you have more time.
Enjoy your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    259
    103
    58
    30
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
291 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Not much”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

After going to the Cocao plantations in Costa Rica this was disappointing. I thought the prices were high for Nicaragua and geared more for tourists.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kkoleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbodes, Owner at ChocoMuseo, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I will repeat for potential future visitors that ChocoMuseo presents information about the history of chocolate and cacao, the growing and processing of cacao, and the fabrication of chocolate. Visitors may observe chocolate bring made on site from bean to bar. We also have several cacao trees growing in our garden.
We also offer two hour workshops in which participants, in addition to having fun and learning about chocolate and cacao, can make their own chocolate from bean to bar.
And yes, a hand made high quality product is more expensive than a machine made product.
But entrance is free, so if you do not wish to buy anything and just enjoy the museum, you may do so.
We have chosen to not make the entrance price less than free.
Enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
226 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“best time ever!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The young man who led this tour should be declared one of Granada's national treasures. He engaged our family of four and never let go. He had our two sons (age 8-10) dancing - singing and laughing the entire time - while learning.
Bravo!
best tour we have done in Granada - highly recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Perhaps I was expecting something more. Posters of chocolate history ... meh! Maybe if I had taken the chocolate making class.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1Katiedid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbodes, Owner at ChocoMuseo, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
I am sorry you did not understand what ChocoMuseo is all about - it is much more than some posters about the history of chocolate. I have explained this in other responses to e-mails so that I will not repeat myself.
ChocoMuseo is meant to be fun and informative, but it is not a theme park.
Enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sweet!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Get the cold chocolate drink! It is exquisite!

The staff is very friendly, and every time you enter they give you free chocolate samples. If I weren't backpacking, I would totally have bought some mugs/cacao beans/etc. It's a lovely little shop, and there are loads of little sweet things to take back as gifts for friends, or to simply outfit your kitchen.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ChocoMuseo also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to ChocoMuseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing