We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Interesting!”
Review of ChocoMuseo Granada

ChocoMuseo Granada
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.70*
and up
Make Your Own Chocolate Tour From Managua
Ranked #8 of 80 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: ChocoMuseo is the new Cacao and Chocolate Museum in Granada Nicaragua.It offers a great overview of the history, the nature and the manufacturing of the cacao and the chocolate. There is a chocolate factory located inside the museum and Cacao farm tours are offered..
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stopped by this tiny museum because I love chocolate (and it's free, and I happened to walk past it). I was SO surprised at how interesting it was. They have a ton of history on chocolate throughout human history and around the world, lots of interesting facts, chocolate making demonstrations, yummy samples, a good café and a cute gift shop. I was there for about three hours and read every word of every description and history. The also do tours to cacao farms outside Granada, but I didn't have time. Definitely stop by!

1  Thank CheeckyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"chocolate bar"
in 158 reviews
"beans"
in 97 reviews
"making chocolate"
in 66 reviews
"all you can eat"
in 40 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 36 reviews
"make your own"
in 54 reviews
"chocolate workshop"
in 37 reviews
"the bean"
in 20 reviews
"choco museo"
in 33 reviews
"pancakes"
in 19 reviews
"pasta"
in 35 reviews
"chocolate class"
in 24 reviews
"chocolate products"
in 11 reviews
"free samples"
in 15 reviews
"great chocolate"
in 16 reviews
"buffet breakfast"
in 10 reviews
"omelet"
in 10 reviews
Filter

873 - 877 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Indifferent service for no reason. Hot -- and all part of a horrendous Hotel Spa Granada Experience. the breakfast buffet seemed so unsanitary --- except for freshly prepared eggs.

Thank MikeLudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbodes, Owner at ChocoMuseo Granada, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. We always try to provide excellent service, but in your case I assume we did not succeed. However, your comment "Indifferent service for no reason" does not provide any useful information upon which we can act.
In addition to the buffet items at our breakfast service, we also provide pancakes, waffles, crepes, and eggs cooked to order in front of diners. I can assure you that we conform to high sanitary standards, and regularly receive high grades from the health ministry in Nicaragua. The vast majority of restaurant kitchens are invisible to the dining public, so perhaps a lack of a standard of comparison influenced your excessively negative comments.
Further, in the several years we have been operating our breakfast buffet we have not had even one reported illness from what you refer to as "unsanitary" conditions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We took the workshop. Very fun and informative. We roasted, peeled, and ground the beans to make a paste. Great to understand the making of chocolate. Ismael was our instructor. Very engaging. He made the trip worthwhile. We learned the basis of chocolate percentages, Mayan, Aztec and European chocolate. Even made our own personal bar.

Thank Skylark205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A small museum with some posters and samples. The staff were clearly a bit rushed and spent little time with the visitors. It's claim to be the only chocolate manufactory in Nicaragua seemed to be a bit false when we bought a chocolate bar that stated it was made in Matagalpa.

1  Thank 564JohnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We visited the museum for about half an hour. The posters on cacao and chocolate are informative and interesting. They are in English with only small plaques in Spanish, which we found weird, after all we are in Nicaragua. We asked about the chocolate workshops, but they are pricey at $19 per person (possibly plus tax), and the staff were quite pushy in trying to get us to make a reservation so we took the workshop at Pure instead (recommended).

The chocolate tastings were tiny and very ungenerous. We ordered a cold chocolate drink, which was tasty but not amazing and came in a cool cup. About a third of the drink was ice, and after tax and tip (added automatically!) the price came to $2.5. We thought it was overpriced, especially since at the parque (main square), a similar drink costs $1. Adding the service at an establishment where you do not sit down, and no service is provided besides preparing the drink, was not appreciated.

All in all, a somewhat disappointing visit. I came away with the feeling that this is more of a business than a labor of love.

2  Thank Guillermo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbodes, Owner at ChocoMuseo Granada, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

So you had a half hour FREE visit to ChocoMuseo during which you learned about cacao and chocolate, received FREE samples, and all you spent was $2.50 on a cacao drink (which is served at tables in a beautiful courtyard with FREE WifFi and you were "disappointed". Sorry, we are doing the best we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ChocoMuseo Granada also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to ChocoMuseo Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing