We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good historical perspective”
Review of ChocoMuseo

ChocoMuseo
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.70*
and up
Chocolate Museum Tour from Managua
More Info
$135.69*
and up
Make Your Own Chocolate Tour From Managua
Ranked #5 of 75 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: ChocoMuseo is the new Cacao and Chocolate Museum in Granada Nicaragua.It offers a great overview of the history, the nature and the manufacturing of the cacao and the chocolate. There is a chocolate factory located inside the museum and Cacao farm tours are offered..
Arroyo Grande
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff, good historical perspective”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Took the tour, Ismael was great, good knowledge and a lot of fun, made sure we understood and had fun, took the horses,

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzmo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    261
    104
    60
    32
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun making Chocolate”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My friend and I went here and had a class on making chocolate. It was a lot of fun and our instructor was very entertaining. This was a great rainy day activity.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JennaA528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Interesting Little Museum and Shop”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The self-guided tour is interesting and the shop is cool, but make sure to check out the awesome furniture and art in the lovely courtyard out back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KennO555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Ever!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A believer in big breakfasts whether or not you feel like it, I was stunned to find an all-you-can-eat spot for that meal. I had an omelet with everything--and then I had chocolate crepe with pina and banana--OMG! Not to mention the chocolate tea--that was a delicious first! I've never been happier right after breakfast. I'm coming back!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eva v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ollantaytambo, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Information on Chocolate but terrible chocolate”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Good information on the process of producing chocolate from beginning to end. The chocolate was way overpriced and the quality was terrible.

The chocolate was grainy, dry and just plain terrible. Don't bother to buy the chocolate bars unless you just want novelty of making it yourself.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SingleNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbodes, Owner at ChocoMuseo, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We make our own chocolate on site from excellent Nicaraguan organic cacao, some of the finest in the world, and mix it only with sugar in a 50/50 cacao to sugar ratio or a 70/30 cacao to sugar ratio. Admittedly it is not for palates accustomed to mass market chocolate candy bars. As to our chocolate being overpriced, comparable chocolate sells in the US for $7 to $11 oer bar, whereas our price is $3.75 per bar. But, unfortunately, we cannot please everybody, and obviously we did not please you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ChocoMuseo also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to ChocoMuseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing