We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pick in the centre of Granada”
Review of Hotel El Almirante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Almirante
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just one block away from the main square, location is superb.
Almirante is quiet, very clean and a pleasant place to stay.
The tiny pool that gets to be in the sun only a couple of ours may look pathetic at first but it is actually a great addition. It was very pleasurable to come back from sightseeing in Granada and enjoying a short deep in there. Service is excellent withe very professional and kind staff.
Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank JOSE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 188 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here recently for two nights. We actually turned up an hour before check in, but they didn't even question this and checked us right in without any fuss or question.

Over the duration of our stay there were some renovations going on in the room adjacent to us, which generated quite a lot of noise for quite a while during the day, as well as the staircase to the 2nd floor being sanded which covered the pool with garbage.

However the staff were nice and courteous, the bed was huge and very comfortable, the AC and fridge both worked well, the wifi signal was good (room 11) and both the room and the hotel itself had been well maintained. The breakfast was good - while not special or anything as such, it was solid and more than enough to start the day.

All in all, a pleasant stay; but do bargain with them and offer to pay cash. We didn't do this and should have, given that it's off season currently.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank fisschy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Hotel is located in a good spot for visiting all of Granada's hotspots. Rooms are clean and spacious. Bathroom is clean with shampoo and blowdryer. Pool is Nice and refreshing after a day of sightseeing. I would recommand it, but be zware of the taxes. If you boom online and get a quote which says it's tax included, it's probably not.
Breakfast is simple, but enigheid to start your day. WiFi workshop excellent in all areas.

Room Tip: Any room is good I suppose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrice1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel, run by Best Western, is only 1.5 blocks from the central square in Granada. The rooms aren't huge but they are well-appointed and very quiet considering it's in the middle of the city. The pool is great and the staff was very helpful. The breakfast was only okay and for a supposed 4-star hotel, they could improve the quality of the food.

Room Tip: The second floor is probably best as it's likely less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew4CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I enjoyed my 5 night stay at this small hotel (20 rooms). I had working A/C and a working in-room refrigerator. The shower worked well and even provided some reasonably warm water. TV and WiFi worked great (although the Wifi requires having a room against the pool; the first room I was assigned (#20) had no wifi reception, but I moved to the slightly smaller room next door (#19) and this was resolved). I was able to negotiate a better rate than what I saw available on Booking.com because of the length of stay and my willingness to pay cash. The daily breakfast was quite nice, not fancy but tasty and well-presented. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Don't trust the staff in this hotel, after they charged my credit card my card was skimmed,since it was the only transaction made on that card and they were the only ones I provided my card details to I sincerely thinks someone over there skimmed it.
the room was small and staff not friendly, overpriced hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evitjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Only the most seasoned sports fan would recognize the name of this downtown steak and fish joint from the archaic poem “Casey at the Bat,” but it doesn’t take a brain surgeon to know what hits the spot. Mighty Casey may have struck out in the end, but Mudville 9 hits a home run by slinging burgers, popping jalapeños and swinging bleu cheese-doused celery stalks. You might take ball 4 and miss the striking waitresses if you order out, but the wings will be hotter than hot, with 4 leagues of spiciness and other tantalizing sauces to ruffle your feathers. Get the most bang for your buck by ordering by the bucket or bountiful party platter, with prices so cheap you’ll think its 1888. GOOD PLACE TO STAY!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Almirante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Almirante

Address: Calle Corrales 111 | 1/2 cuadra de la Ferreteria Datisa al lago, Granada 43143, Nicaragua (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Almirante)
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: $43 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Almirante 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the beautiful colonial resort town of Granada, best known as the Great Sultana. The Hotel was refurbished keeping it`s original colonial architecture, creating a picturesque and warm atmosphere for our guest. Hotel El Almirante has twenty rooms in suite. Each room equipped with air conditioning, hot water, mini bar, and LCD cable tv , wifi available throughout the Hotel and rooms. Guest can relax in the swimming pool troughout the day or in our tv lounge with courtesy PC. Hotel El Almirante was built with the enviroment in mind. We have utilized the lastest tecnology in solar power for our hot water system. the installation of a card system for the rooms ensure unnecessary use of energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel El Almirante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing