We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel!”
Review of Hotel El Almirante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Almirante
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value hotel!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel is located three blocks away from Calzada where all the restaurants and bars are located. It is a pleasant walk since you get to see the Granada Cathedral, San Francisco Church and the park. The typical breakfast (booking price includes COMPLETE breakfast with 3 different options) is amazing and the employees are very helpful and friendly, especially Anuar he was awesome! They can help you with tours information and booking, they even found a hairdresser for me. The rooms are quite small but the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are modern and clean. We also stayed one night at La Gran Francia, because we were attending a wedding there, and we regretted to left El Almirante! Since you are not right on the strip you will definitely experience less noise and rest better, however as I mentioned you're a few blocks away from Calzada and the main attractions. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngSimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    54
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
78
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Currently i am waiting my continental breakfast at the hotel. if you are not that much sensite for noise like me,hotel might be ok. Whichever room you stay at this hotel, you will hear always air conditioner sound. That makes so annoying sound keep me waiking up .Sleeping at this hotel was impossible.Breakfast is another funny part of the hote. You have 4 options to choice each of them worser than others.at my second day..which is today i choice continental breakfast, 5 gr honey 5 gr ( first they bring very bad jam although it was written honey, after i push them, they find honey) butter 3 toast bread , some fruit... i ask for fried egg.. they said EXTRA..funny for what i paid.yesterday i got double big fruit pack at the street seller of granada for 10cordobas which is roughy 0.40usd...so total breakfast cost might be 1 usd at street seller of granada. but they tried to sell you fried egg. for what i paid... this hotel is not worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoppala007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manitoba
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband and i were very happy with our room, although not all rooms are as spacious so make inquiries. The property seems to be quite new and had both a quiet bar and a lounge area at the front. Breakfast is located around the garden in the inner courtyard. We were impressed with the 5 choices offered. My husband enjoyed the traditional Nica breakfast whereas I appreciated the fruit and whole grain toast provided with the continental. The pool in the rear was well maintained during our 5 day stay.. It is on the small side but was welcome after a warm day of touring. The bed was comfortable with quiet, new AC and quiet ceiling fan. We had good sleeps here. The location was very convenient as it a short walk to the central square and safe walking distance to all restaurants in the center of the city in the evening. Although the level of English may not be sophisticated, service was always prompt, courteous and friendly during out stay. We are looking forward to returning for a couple of days in March at the conclusion of our stay in the country.

Room Tip: There are 2 stories so if that is a concern, check before booking. We also heard a complaint about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plap8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umberleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

After three nights in not very good to frankly bad accommodation we were now expecting something better in the World Heritage centre of Granada. First impressions were good but that was the end. Our room (Number 13) was a massive 10 feet by 10 feet (3 metres x 3 metres) box which the air conditioner turned into a freezer in no time flat. One of us had to sit on the “matrimonial” bed while the other sidled around the room. Clearly there was no room for a comfortable chair but there were two hard wooden ones. No coffee making machine, no working telephone, no hot water (Reception guaranteed it would be back in an hour but it was more than 24 hours before we finally got it), no alarm clock, no hair dryer (as indicated on their web site). Energy saving lighting badly placed. TV and wi-fi in the room but for a hotel for foreigners a few English-language TV channels would help: no minibar as advertised but a fridge occupying a lot of space that could well have been used for something else. No evening meal was available on the day of our arrival although we did have a very nice dinner the next day after a couple of Happy Hour drinks. Breakfast is very idiosyncratic – one is presented with a sheet of paper with four options (pancakes, continental, full and one I forget) and thn has to wait a considerble time for it to be presented in an informal manner. Staff do not wear any kind of conventional hotel uniforms/clothing. Best Western please rethink your franchising system and apply more rigorous standards.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevorbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicaragua
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a lovely time at the Best Western El Almirante.Nice a quiet,but still very close to the main centre. Beds were fantastic, along with the staff, pool and breakfast. Granada is a very nice town, the only one we have seen, that has a real European feel to it. Thank you very much.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank smokeytoukley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights that came to less than 100 quid total.

Clean, secure, attractive courtyard garden and restaurant, nice (small) swimming pool that was perfect for late afternoon cool downs. Our double room (#8) was very small, but others we saw looked bigger so maybe ask at check-in. AC worked OK, and beds were reasonably sized and comfortable.

The hotel is very well placed about 2 blocks from the central park (literally 5 minutes minutes walk to main tourist restaurants area) . We felt perfectly safe walking back in the night time.

The breakfasts were a little uninspiring (eggs, pancakes or toast) but adequate.

Overall, for the money we would highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a good mid-range option in this very chilled city.

Room Tip: Book a room with 2beds to make sure you get a decent sized room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwbombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Went to this hotel after our Wedding we were first at La Gran Francia. Both are great hotels. This hotel was closer to our familys house and is in a very safe area. At night there is always someone there and the lock the front gate. The staff is very kind and food is great. The pool is big and the rooms are clean. The rooms were a little small for my family of 5, but we made it work. A lot of Americans and missionary groups that stay there. They have a little bar for drinks as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#16 of 43 in Granada
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 43 in Granada
1,020 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#15 of 43 in Granada
415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Almirante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Almirante

Property: Hotel El Almirante
Address: Calle Corrales 111 | 1/2 cuadra de la Ferreteria Datisa al lago, Granada 43143, Nicaragua (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Almirante)
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Almirante 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is built in an old colonial house in the historical center of Granada. It opened January 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Almirante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing