We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful wedding venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas Mombacho

Villas Mombacho
Ranked #29 of 155 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Central American, Latin, Seafood, Spanish, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Attended a small wedding hosted at this restaurant on the waterfront. Staff was very helpful, both at the event itself and the day before, when we were there to plan the evening. The restaurant is very clean, with multiple staff members working nonstop in the late morning & early afternoon scrubbing down sidewalks and bathroom walls and fish ponds.

The day before the wedding, we hired a very nice man for a one hour boat ride from the restaurant dock. He was very accommodating, slowing the boat whenever we wanted pics & taking us right up to an island to see monkeys up close. Then we enjoyed wonderful fresh ceviche & good mixed drinks.

The wedding reception food the next night was delicious. The restaurant was able to provide a pre-set limited but still varied menu for the guests, with about 15 entree choices. We had delicious mixed appetizer platters to start. Price was very reasonable... About $200 for a wedding party of about 10 people with an open bar. We were able to hire a very good mariachi band onsite for entertainment. The restaurant allowed us to decorate their prime sitting area several hours before the ceremony, as well as bring in our own champagne & cake. Excellent service, although our sole waiter did not understand English at all, but we were a bilingual party so it worked out with a few little glitches like ordering a coke with ice & just getting the ice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rigbyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    28
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh fish, amazing views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

A great place to 'get away' without going very far from Granada. Relaxing and gorgeous atmosphere with views of Ometepe on a clear day. The fish is always fresh and so far the service is impeccable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katica500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food and great place, beautiful view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went there for a late lunch and it was great. In Granada, take a taxi, about 10 minutes to Punte Asese (maybe Puerto Asese?) It is a little east, down a dirt road, with thatched roof, right on the water, beautiful view. We had the big Guapote fish, which was enough for my wife and I, it cost 450 cordobas. There were Nicaraguan families there, all having a good time. There was a band which played favorites for several old couples next to our table, which was fun. The great thing is they never rush you, never give you the check until you ask for it. Just a beautiful place, we spent a long time there, and then the folks there called us a cab to take us back to Granada.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelJacobyBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami and other places
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lakeside dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

As others have noted, the whole fried fish here is excellent, as we're the to stones and side sauces. We tried to go to another restaurant on Asese but it is closed on Mondays. That turned out not to be a problem, the view is outstanding, the food was very good, our waitress (Karla) was remarkably good (sorry to say but especially for Nicaragua) and it was reasonably priced. Even the little gift shop was good ...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ArbitraryTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We visited the restaurant on Easter, it was really crowded, but that didnt stop them for finding us a table very quickly, and the best part of it: the attention was very pront and kind.

The food was delicious, the vista was superb, prices were ok. You can take a 1 hour boat ride for just $20 (per group).

I really recommed this place to anyone!!!! And next time we may stay at one of their cabins

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frederick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villas Mombacho also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Villas Mombacho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing