We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & quiet place to stay”
Review of Hostel La Siesta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel La Siesta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were recommended La Siesta by a traveller who had recently stayed in Granada. It is slightly out of the centre of Granada (about a 10 minute walk from the main square) in a quiet street. Close to a number of pharmacies (they seem to be on every corner in Granada!), a big supermarket & very conveniently located for one of the UCAS bus stations (good to know if you are planning to use to get to Managua or carry on to Leon).

Our room was very clean & tidy with a private bathroom which was huge. It cost US$25 for two people per night, which was reasonable. However, we have stayed at other hotels/hostels at this price which have included breakfast; La Siesta did not. You also need to pay for water, which was around 6 cordobas per litre. This was cheaper than buying it from a shop, but again we've stayed at other places where water is free.

The staff were friendly, but very little English is spoken - you'll be fine with Spanish or French.

If you are looking for a clean & quiet place to stay, away from the hustle & bustle; La Siesta will be fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Hostel La Siesta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 163 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I am reposting the following review which I have just been advised has been removed for not being "written by an actual traveller". I can assure the tripadvisor community that this is a genuine review which received a detailed management response before being unexpectedly removed.

__________________________

In 4 months in Central America during which we stayed in 26 hotels this was our only bad experience.

We emailed in advance asking for a room for 4-5 nights. On arrival, we weren't sure if we wanted to stay 4 or 5 but checked that a room was available and were assured that it was free for the whole week. On our second morning as we were going out at about 11am the receptionist said to us - you are leaving today aren't you? We weren't planning to! Apparently the owner had spoken to us the night before and we had said we were only staying one more night so he had taken another booking for the room. Then the owner showed up and claimed that he thought his wife had spoken to us. In a very ungracious apology, he claimed it was "miscommunication" and that our booking had only been "tentative" anyway. Unbelievably we were asked to leave in favour of the people who hadn't arrived yet and had booked only that morning. No effort was made to recompense us or help us and it was made clear we were expected to leave immediately. We were eventually offered a discount and agreed to pay one night of our two night stay.

We had no way been undesirable guests and it is worth noting that we had moved room after the first night and been given a 4 bed room as a double. The people vacating that room were intending to stay another night (we heard them discussing this at breakfast) and as we were moving in they were asking about other hostels in Granada. This would suggest that our experience was not an isolated one. At best the reason for our treatment was incompetence, at worst, greed (trying to maximise the occupancy of each room with more guests/longer stays). Whatever the reason, the service and attitude we experienced was abysmal.

Not everyone will have such a bad experience as us here but some other points to note which do not make for a pleasant stay;

The bathroom had been cleaned but not thoroughly for some time, you could scratch a fingernail through the scum on the sink and shower. The communal area although pretty was not welcoming and was mostly empty although the hostel was full. There was a library but you couldn't exchange books and had to ask the receptionist's permission to borrow a book. The "welcome drink" when we arrived was not welcome as we had been travelling all day and wanted to go to our room but we were required to go to the communal area and drink it while our passports were registered. As soon as I got up in the morning and was waiting for my partner to get ready, I started being hassled by staff about the breakfast we had ordered and it was served before we wanted it although we were well before the end of breakfast time. The free coffee was brought to our table but whipped away before we could have a second cup. Drinking water which is free in most establishments has to be paid for.

The accommodation is adequate for the price and we would have stayed longer although it was not particularly pleasant. Howerver, we found much nicer accommodation elsewhere in Granada for a lower price - and with lots of free water and coffee

Stayed: August 2013
Thank rhonamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigantona, Gerente at Hostel La Siesta, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado rhonamo:

Reciba un cordial saludo por parte del equipo de La Siesta. Agradecemos haberse re-tomado el tiempo para colgar un review sobre nosotros, todos los comentarios son muy importantes para nosotros ya que es una manera de saber lo que opinan nuestros clientes. Nos gustaría recapitular un poco esta situación: el día 26 de julio recibimos un correo de su parte solicitando una habitación, a la que como de costumbre hemos contestado de inmediato dando nuestra disponibilidad, descripción del lugar y el precio. Desafortunadamente, no recibimos confirmación de su parte, por lo que no teníamos ninguna información si deseaban hospedarse o no, ni de la cantidad de noches. Como comprenderá todos estos datos son esenciales para garantizar una reservación en cualquier estructura hotelera. A pesar de esto, el día que llegaron teníamos una habitación disponible y con mucho gusto se la proporcionamos, sin embargo en ningún momento expresaron la cantidad de noches ni deseos de alargar su estadía por lo que la habitación quedo liberada en nuestro sistema.

Como usted ha explicado antes, tuvimos una conversación para aclarar estos malos entendidos como acostumbramos hacer con nuestros huéspedes a quienes demostramos respeto y consideración, y en este sitio web hay prueba de eso. Comprendemos su molestia, sin embargo no entendemos que haya partido sin pagar la estadía de la segunda noche ni los desayunos de dos personas por los dos días de su estadía, tampoco comprendemos su actitud violenta con el personal que solamente quería atenderlo.

Es una pena que nuestro refresco de bienvenida haya sido una molestia para ustedes, ofrecemos esta bebida ya que sabemos que pueden venir cansados o sedientos por el viaje y el calor, ofrecemos esta atención cortesía de la casa la cual lógicamente, es opcional, los huéspedes deciden si desean tomarla o simplemente no.

El café y té son gratis durante el desayuno y a cualquier hora puede rellenarse la taza a voluntad, simplemente es cuestión de compartir de manera cordial y amable con otros huéspedes el termo del café o preguntar “¿podría tener otra taza de café por favor?” en cualquier idioma porque el de la cordialidad y amabilidad es universal y con mucho gusto le hubieran servido otras tazas de café más.

Somos una pequeña empresa turística responsable y contribuimos al turismo sostenible teniendo prácticas amigables con el medio ambiente, tenemos agua purificada para que las personas que deseen beber puedan rellenar sus botellas evitando así el uso de plástico en la ciudad que no tiene un sistema de reciclaje municipal, a cambio de un monto mínimo de 3,6 ó ,9 córdobas en función de la cantidad.

Tenemos una biblioteca personal que en lugar de tenerla encerrada compartimos con nuestros huéspedes partiendo del principio de confianza, y expresando de antemano que son para consulta durante su estadía, libros y guías turísticas etc. tenemos mensajes ubicados en las habitaciones y en la biblioteca explicando que si desean intercambiar, comprar o vender libros hay lugares especializados en la ciudad que lo ofrecen.

Nuevamente le expresamos que sentimos lo ocurrido.

Saludos cordiales,
Gerencia
Hospedaje La Siesta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A great place: the owners have managed to create a relaxed, friendly atmosphere where one felt at ease straight away with the owners and other visitors.Several languages spoken,great books to borrow ...just great
Huguette-Oliver

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huguette a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This was a very clean hostel with great service. The environment was relaxing and quiet so don't expect a party here. There is kitchen use for cooking but the breakfasts made here are amazing especially the crepes. The staff were all very accomodating. This was a a safe and great place to rest after long days exploring the city.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photopig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed for 2 nights at La Siesta. It was one of the nicest stays we have ever had in any place. Clean, quiet, good location, friendly and helpful staff, I could go on and on. The pre-ordered breakfast, while not included in the price, was excellent and extremely reasonable in price. Free wi-fi plus comfortable common areas makes this place even better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quiltlady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I loved the owners and their adorable little daughter.The way they treat you as a guest are formidable. The helpfulness and empathy for customers is very very nice and lovely.
The atmoshpere was very welcoming and I enjoyed getting to know the other visitors in the house. The free WIFI throughout the property works fine.
Property was clean, secure & relaxed.
I would stay again if back in Granada, thank you for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBP-MVNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We've been traveling a lot in Central America and this hostel is definitely one of the best,we have stayed in so far! It's cheap,clean (really clean),friendly and welcoming!!! Go there if you wanna have a nice time and relax from some other disgusting places that you often experience in this area as well!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kath2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 45 in Granada
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 45 in Granada
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#19 of 45 in Granada
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,043 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
#26 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel La Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel La Siesta

Address: El Almendro | De los bomberos, 1 cuadra al norte + 20 varas al lago, Granada 50750, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Price Range: $15 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our friendly and familiar hostal. Lots of touristic informations and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel La Siesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing