We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an spacious, old-world hotel with character and charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Bocona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Bocona
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
washington DC
1 review
“an spacious, old-world hotel with character and charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

The first impression about the hotel was very beautiful and spacious. After that the reason that made me stay there was there are only 6 rooms, meaning there are not so many guests. Even if I like to travel and meet new people while traveling, I want to stay somewhere it feels like home where I don't need to be around tons of other guests. Also the location is not too close to the central park, Granada, so it does not have too much noise. It is only 2(maybe 3) blocks away from the main attraction so you can walk there.

The room has a king size bed and a few drawers and one closet you can store your stuff. Even if the bathroom was seperated, since it feels like i was at home, it did not bother me at all. I actually enjoyed the way to the bathroom - a garden with a fountain and tons of tropical flowers. There are organic soaps, a shampoo, and a conditioner that I enjoyed using.

I cant think of anything I didnt like. Maybe for some people, seperate bathrooms are not so appealing.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    28
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
98
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

WOW...La Bocona will take your breath away. This hotel is a true gem of Granada. Every detail of the hotel has been addressed, the service, furnishings, food, architecture and the art will take your breath away. After spending the day exploring the city take in the afternoon tea time before venturing out for the evening, a very rejuvenating time.
The rooms are magical, the canopy beds add the romantic touch that will leave you with memory that will last a life time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roatan3601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

What an amazing experience, this fantastic beautifully designed new hotel! Great service, fabulous spacious rooms with beautiful canopy beds. Also it has very clean modern bathrooms and a beautiful small swimmingpool. Breakfast is made fresh and with care, and in the afternoon there is a tea-time moment. I never had such a relaxing time in a hotel. And what the most special part is, is that you, while spending your time here, sponsor kids in the poorer areas as well with educational projects. Everybody wins here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasdosnicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

We spent a wonderful week at Hotel La Bocona, which is very beautifully decorated with antique furniture and modern paintings. The hotel has (only) 6 lovely large rooms, beautifully decorated with antique furnishings and four-poster beds. All rooms are either out for the really beautiful atrium courtyard with flowers and fountains or swimming pool. The staff was incredibly helpful and welcoming - and met us always with a smile.
The fact that the hotel donates half of their profits to the children's centre Carita Feliz, makes us feel good.

We will certainly stay there again next time we go to Grenada.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evamads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA, europe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

I and my friend got an excellent and personalized service at the hotel. Both when we were planning for individual trips or wanted to know more about the country. The special feature of the hotel was the beautiful atrium. We could swim in the pool, sit alone or you could talk with the hosts of the hotel, who knows a lot about the country.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katja11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2009

There are a few, very few, hotels that have a magical ingredient that turn them into someting truly special. Hotel La Bocona is one such place. Arranged around three patios in classic Spanish/Moorish style, one patio has an inviting Moorish-style swimming pool overlooked by a mango tree home to orange breasted birds called lapas, another is a welcoming oasis of plants, a third is a zen-like space for massage and other spa treatments provided by the hotel. The bedrooms are beautifully simple with triple height ceilings, huge four poster beds and antique furtiture. There are home comforts aplenty like freshly baked bread at breakfast, a welcoming tea or coffee after a day exploring the wonders of Granada or a bottle of chilled mineral water left in your room, just when you need it. But any boutique hotel can do this. What sets La Bocona apart is the warmth, friendliness and desire to help that emmanates from Martin, the host of this magical place and that filters down to everyone who works here. It turns what would be a just a beautiful hotel into something truly special. There is a great energy here that makes it one of those places you never forget. A gem - don't miss it.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nicholasgiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

My husband and I stayed at La Bocona as part of our one year anniversary trip. We LOVED it. Perfect place to welcome us to Nicaragua. Gorgeous hotel, huge rooms, beautiful outside garden/patio areas. Delicious breakfasts. Martin, the manager, was incredibly helpful. He was welcoming, interesting, and had excellent recommendations for us for meals, things to do and arranged a tour for a full day with a wonderful guide (Bosco!). All in all we loved everything about La Bocona and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Consulado
Hotel Casa del Consulado
#23 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Estrada
Hotel Estrada
#20 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Mar Dulce
Hotel La Mar Dulce
#31 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Granada
Hotel Granada
#22 of 44 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bocona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bocona

Property: Hotel La Bocona
Address: Calle La Libertad | 2 Blocks West of Central Park, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bocona 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Bocona is a six guestroom restored colonial mansion with a large swimming pool and an on-site professional spa to be enjoyed by travelers from all corners of the world who come to Granada looking for an authentic portal to exciting times in Latin American history. An architectural showpiece, the Hotel boasts all colonial period features including cathedral ceilings throughout, solid wood ornate doors, pillars, chandeliers, embellished wood sun-catchers above the doors and, of course, Spanish courtyards of tailored gardens inside. Included in our rates is a full breakfast, afternoon snack, local gym membership, wifi and private parking. We promote responsible tourism by donating half of all revenue to Carita Feliz, a local charitable organization that offers personal, professional, health programs to young people and serves more than one hundred thousand meals annually to children and other community members of little means. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Bocona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing