We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Royal Experience”
Review of Hotel La Bocona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Bocona
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had just arrived and were looking for nice places to stay... We found La Bocona and decided to check it out... As soon as my mom saw the bedrooms and patios she said "I feel like a queen" to which my sister responded "and I like a princess!" Needless to say, we decided to spend a night in here. The staff was so gentle, always caring for our requests, friendly, talkative yet respectful. Yes, it is true the bathrooms are not inside the bedrooms, but that's what you get when you stay in a colonial style mansion: old, beautiful designs!
We are definitely coming back to la Bocona, we didn't have the chance to experience the spa but we are already planning our next trip to Granada and La Bocona is already our choice!
Great value, great service, great experience, no doubt! Thanks to everybody (Olga, Margarita, Luis el celador, Miguel). See you soon!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrnlcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

I am elated to hear how you and your family felt staying with us! You are royalty to us and we appreciate you.

Thank you so much for having taken the time to review us.

Looking forward to another stay,

Nadene Holmes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 197 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

I recently spent 5 days at La Bocona. The beds are very comfortable (rooms have airconditioner now), rooms and public spaces are kept meticulously clean. The staff was extremely attentive. The manager was on vacation, but Miguel (who runs the front desk and speaks excellent English) seemed to be an excellent and attentive all-rounder taking care of any needs of the guests together with his colleagues Olga and Nelly.... who made me an excellent a la carte breakfast each morning in a quiet, calm and relaxing courtyard away from the hustle & bustle of the city. Any recommendations, needs you may have....Miguel can take care of....he negotiated safe parking for my rental car around the block (at the local fire station), solved a booking hiccup (my hotels.com prepaid reservation was never transmitted to the hotel), proactively suggested excellent restaurants (had menus available for viewing at front desk) etc. Finally, it's worth mentioning that the hotel includes a small pool and a spa. The massages (at $30/hr) were some of the best that I've had and very much needed after long days of hiking the beautiful volcanos in the region. Definitely coming back with the entire family next time. Great experience !

Room Tip: As the original architecture of the hotel has been maintained, the rooms don't have bathrooms en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalNomad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

How wonderful to read your lovely comments! Thank you!

I am so proud of the top-shelf Hospitality Team we have here to look after our guests' needs and am very happy that they served to make your stay such a comfortable one.

Looking forward to hosting your whole family next time!

Nadene Holmes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a tough review because the rooms were very palatial, the staff was outstanding but, the restrooms were across the court yard (not convenient in the middle of the night) , the room has no T.V. and air conditioning is limited (make sure you request the staff not to turn off a/c during the day while you are gone). The room had two ceiling fans and another fan by the bed. The experience was closer to a bed and breakfast vs. a hotel. There is no restaurant or bar. The staff prepares breakfast for the guest.

Hotel will provide you with a pass to a nearby gym.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrodriguez2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your review!

It's our pleasure to provide guests the tranquil experience you described--very natural to the historical period during which our hotel was built. A palatial setting with boutique personalized service, not found in other hotels.

We thank you for helping us with our mission to donate half our revenue to a local children's organization that provides meals and educational programming.

Looking forward to hosting you again,

Nadene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I got a massage a this hotel and was very impress. Everything and look when I got one was there, First of all that hotel is in the middle of the city but you feel in the middle of nowhere, there's absolutely no noise coming from town only a good relaxing atmosphere, I got several massages in past but this one I'll remember it. Therapists are good they know their job and how to make you feel relaxed, they put as much pressure as you wish and no more. It was also my first acupunture experience and the owner know how to make you feel comfortable with that. Next time in Granada They'll see me again sure !!!!

Room Tip: Don,t be afraid with acupunture, It worths it !!
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank Pier-luk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

On behalf of Dr.Amos, Owner of Balance Spa, I thank you so much for your kind words!
I'll pass your review on to him and his team immediately.
Looking forward to having you back to the hotel again,
Nadene Holmes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Once again, Hotel La Bocona has exceeded our expectations! We were in Nicaragua for about four weeks and wanted to spend two of those weeks in Granada. We booked a room (6) for that time and had absolutely no regrets!

The hotel has installed air conditioning in some of the rooms making a difference with the level of humidity in the room. We were there during a very hot and humid time so we appreciated the difference!

They have developed a breakfast menu providing guests a wide range of choices. Each option was so delicious that it became difficult to choose which one to have every morning!
The staff are second to none. They present professionalism balanced with caring that provides guests with the feeling that they are part of a family.

I strongly recommend Hotel La Bocona as your place to stay while in Granada!

Room Tip: Room 6 is away from the street corner cutting down on the noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheels_Wings_Wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

We are so happy that hosting you both has become a yearly tradition (3 and counting)!!

We are thrilled that we could make your stay even more comfortable with the improvements we have made. It is our goal to make our guests' stay the best possible experience.

See you next year and thank you so much for the review!

Nadene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I had a wonderful chance to stay at La Bocona twice in January of this year!

I have travelled to many places in the world and stayed in many lovely hotels. I can almost say, that La Bocona is my favourite.
I love architecture and this historic building has been restored beautifully retaining all the original features. There are only 6 rooms which makes La Bocona very intimate and cozy.The 2 courtyards are places of pure tranquility providing shaded terraces, a pool and hammocks to relax on a hot afternoon.
The hotel is situated just a few blocks from the lively city centre. It is a peaceful haven away from the lively buzz of activity!
The staff at La Bocona are most gracious. Olga and Miguel granted every wish with the biggest of smiles.
Our large 4 poster bed was high and very comfortable with beautiful sheets.
Included is a most delicious home cooked breakfast.

It was such a pleasure to meet Nadine who is the most gracious host!

I would highly recommend Hotel La Bocona to anyone who appreciates excellent service and a 5 star standard of Hotel.

I would love to return one day!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverBarb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us B!

We loved having you both here and are anxiously awaiting your return,

Nadene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed for 4 days and had a great time. The rooms are HUGE and the outdoor seating is delightful. The artwork gracing the walls is inspiring. The breakfast was delicious (jamon crepes w/ gallo pinto!) It's very centrally located so you can walk all over the city. We were there during holy week and got to see a few processions right in front of the hotel, it was lovely.

The staff was very kind and helpful.

One note - while you will have a private bath it is not attached to your room so be prepared to cross the courtyard when you need it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

How nice it was to have you here!

We are very concerned with providing the guest an overall excellent experience blending top-shelf attentive service with an impeccable, warm, welcoming ambiance. While we are always searching for ways to improve, your comments show us that we are hitting the target well.

Thank you for your time reviewing your experience here. Hope to see you again soon!
Nadene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#8 of 45 in Granada
675 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel El Club
Hotel El Club
#33 of 45 in Granada
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Estrada
Hotel Estrada
#23 of 45 in Granada
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Granada
Hotel Cordoba Granada
#40 of 45 in Granada
17 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bocona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bocona

Address: Calle La Libertad | 2 Blocks West of Central Park, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: $90 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bocona 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Bocona is a six guestroom restored colonial mansion with a large swimming pool and an on-site professional spa to be enjoyed by travelers from all corners of the world who come to Granada looking for an authentic portal to exciting times in Latin American history. An architectural showpiece, the Hotel boasts all colonial period features including cathedral ceilings throughout, solid wood ornate doors, pillars, chandeliers, embellished wood sun-catchers above the doors and, of course, Spanish courtyards of tailored gardens inside. Included in our rates is a full breakfast, afternoon snack, local gym membership, wifi and private parking. We promote responsible tourism by donating half of all revenue to Carita Feliz, a local charitable organization that offers personal, professional, health programs to young people and serves more than one hundred thousand meals annually to children and other community members of little means. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Bocona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing