We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karma!”
Review of Hotel La Bocona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Bocona
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is extraordinary. In the centre of a bustling city yet once inside the courtyards there is a serene peace. Yes you can here the city outside but that only adds to the charm and reminds you how cosseted you are here. The staff are excellent, efficient and friendly. The rooms are colonial in the best sense of the word, high ceilings huge beds. The swimming pool a great respite to the city heat and the artwork and antiques beautiful. All in one of the best experiences in a hotel we have had anywhere!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank bstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

I'm so glad that you enjoyed the experience!
The two of you are so wonderful. We would have loved it if you could have stayed longer!
Thanks for taking the time out of your busy lies to comment here and take good care,
Nadene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Bocona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 197 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Amazing little boutique hotel- exceptionally decorated with museum quality pieces (truly charming examples of local artistry and colonial design)- the rooms were spacious and impeccably maintained, with lovely colonial features (poster canopy beds, antique chests/armoires) - staff (especially Olga and the day manager) were extremely attentive, assisting us with all of our needs- we truly felt like a member of the family!

The location is on a busy thoroughfare so depending upon the room it can be a bit noisy inside, but the courtyards are tranquil. The rooms are cooled by ceiling fans- we also had a small swamp cooler that helped reduce the temperature some- the bathrooms are located outside your room across the garden courtyard and were clean and well serviced, albeit aside from an exhaust fan, could get quite toasty mid-day.

Overall an excellent small hotel with gracious, welcoming, attentive staff!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ehaist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

It was a real pleasure having you here!
We do have quite the collection of antique furniture and pieces on display--more than one hundred items in the guestrooms and around the courtyards, ensuring the colonial lux atmosphere along with the 1860 architecture. We are happy that you enjoyed it so!
Tantas gracias and hopefully we'll see you again soon,
Nadene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I spent almost a week in Granada and looked at all the top hotels. Here is why La Bocona is the prize. It is off the main square (Granadians are early and noisy risers, so the square is unbearably noisy by 7 a.m.), the hotel is a 'full colonial' which means there are two patios, one a garden another swimming pool. There are few but enormous rooms, light, airy and the staff is warm, friendly and helpful in every way. One half of the proceeds goes to a local charity - the hotel's owner is also the creator of Mi Museo, which is down the road. Cast offs from the Museum line the hotel's patio.

There isn't a more restful, tasteful hotel in Granada. I would rank it above many hotels in cities in Europe.

Room Tip: Room 4 has two kingsized beds and is the size of a basketball stadium!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you so much!

Nadene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

It is a nice hotel. it has a colonial style. It is very safe. They have security guards that are very responsible. It has a beautiful spa. it is located in a perfect position to have choices to go around town, it is at the corner of two streets, i don't remember their names, but it is very near the central park of Granada. I recommend this hotel to have a quiet sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juan z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you so much -- We appreciate your taking the time to review us!

You mentioned that we are a safe hotel. I would like to expand on that to let readers know that every person who enters the hotel for a tour or whatever reason is accompanied by a staff member, with exception to guests of course. Due to this policy, our guests feel so comfortable as to leave their doors open when going off to swim in the pool and tend to leave their electronics and other valuables in the public areas unattended. This would not be a safe practice elsewhere but, guests have this luxury at La Bocona.

Take care and we hope to see you again,
Nadene

P.S.The two streets where we are located are Calle La Libertad and Calle 14 de Septiembre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at La Bocona for three nights and absolutely LOVED my time there. The hotel is beautifully restored, featuring huge rooms with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. Right outside our door was a refreshing swimming pool, which we dipped into several times a day. The bathrooms are not ensuite, which was not an issue at all. As the hotel only has 6 rooms, it was really no big deal to talk a few steps to the bathroom. The hotel boasts an exceptional spa and is located 2 blocks from the main plaza.

Do the rooms get hot? Yes, the rooms get hot. That's why there's a refreshing pool and three fans in every room. Would it be better if the bathrooms were in the room instead of on the corridor? Yes, that might be more comfortable. But then you wouldn't be staying in a restored hacienda. You would be staying at what used to be a hacienda but was gutted and all traces of character removed. And that's fine - I'm sure there's a Best Western in Managua. Oh wait, there is. I stayed there and it was miserable.

What makes this hotel so much better than Plaza Colon and other hotels that I've stayed, in Granada, is the staff. The general manager, Nadine, is amazing! She is super accommodating. Even though I speak fluent Spanish, it was so nice to have someone there to give us the lay of the land, suggest hotels and day trips. The rest of the staff is just as good - Don Miguel was our inside guy - he was always watching over us, making sure we didn't get into trouble. Olga went so far our of her way to make us feel comfortable - as if this was our house! And that's the key with La Bocona - it feels like its your house. That's why it's so special. You aren't a number or a client here - you are a welcome guest - so much so that you forget you're a guest and think you might just want to adopt this place and make it your home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kassi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

We aim to deliver as close to an authentic colonial experience as possible and it is wonderful that you enjoyed that aspect of our hotel so much! I am thrilled that you had a great time and felt right at home with us.

As a side note, we did install air conditioning in the Classic Colonial Suites (your guestroom type) and Double Suite shortly after you left. Next time you come, we'll have to furnish you with a parka!

Thank you so much for such a detailed review! It really paints the picture of what future guests can expect and explicitly points out that how we regard those who visit us--like family.

Take good care,

Nadene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This converted grand colonial residence is in a central location in Granada, just a short walk form the main square, banks and market. It is peaceful and has attractive courtyards. The staff are delightful, especially Olga! The bedrooms are huge with high ceilings and fans which helps to keep them cooler but there is a short walk to the bathrooms, which has caught some visitors out. Despite being hot during the day we need the a/c at night.
We enjoyed our stay for 4 days: the breakfasts are good, especially the gallo pinto and fresh fruit juices. There is no restaurant however; not a problem given how many there are close by. They can organise trips and have well informed driver on hand (Gustavo) who does airport transfers and other tours: he speaks no English however.
Could the owners have made the place more grand and luxurious- probably yes: but as a base for travel around Granada with friendly staff, beautiful architecture and a feeling of safety - it does a fine job.

Room Tip: The larger rooms have high ceilings (and A/C if you want) which helps it keep cooler: Granada is a h...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cilybebyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. It was such a pleasure hosting you!

Nadene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We took the Colonial suite for eleven nights (an unusual length when the average stay is two to three nights and got a 25% discount)
We chose the most expensive suite because we wanted two beds and only that one offers it.
The pros : there are only six rooms and a lot of space,
the staff ( Olga ,Margarita ,Miguel and all the others ) is really nice,
The hotel ( a 19 th century large house) is nice even it could have been renovated in a much better way,
There is a spa (quite basic) but they offer good massages worth to try (not cheap @ 30/40 bucks and hour ,but really good)
The cons:
The worst being the fact that the bathrooms are not in the rooms which means that you have to put on a robe and cross the patio to get in ,which during night is a nightmare!, and they are not luxurious at all!
The rooms have no windows and only the suites get AC ,so they could get very hot even with the big fans , you have no outside light but ome cheap looking openings in the roof,
You cannot leave the doors open as there are mosquitos
We have been told that this is the typical colonial home but you have to deal with,
The breakfast is quite good ( not perfect!) but the afternoon snack looks more lowcost than firstclass,
And we have been charged for the water bottles we asked for , ( even if we have taken the most expensive suite for eleven days!)
I would recommend it if you want your privacy and a good service but you have to have in mind the problem of the bathrooms and the fact that because of its location on a busy corner it is quite noisy

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franckplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Granada
Hotel Granada
#23 of 45 in Granada
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#17 of 45 in Granada
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 45 in Granada
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Club
Hotel El Club
#32 of 45 in Granada
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 45 in Granada
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bocona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bocona

Address: Calle La Libertad | 2 Blocks West of Central Park, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: $90 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bocona 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Bocona is a six guestroom restored colonial mansion with a large swimming pool and an on-site professional spa to be enjoyed by travelers from all corners of the world who come to Granada looking for an authentic portal to exciting times in Latin American history. An architectural showpiece, the Hotel boasts all colonial period features including cathedral ceilings throughout, solid wood ornate doors, pillars, chandeliers, embellished wood sun-catchers above the doors and, of course, Spanish courtyards of tailored gardens inside. Included in our rates is a full breakfast, afternoon snack, local gym membership, wifi and private parking. We promote responsible tourism by donating half of all revenue to Carita Feliz, a local charitable organization that offers personal, professional, health programs to young people and serves more than one hundred thousand meals annually to children and other community members of little means. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Bocona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing