We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Bocona
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Club(Granada)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colonial(Granada)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
147
28
14
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
28
14
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprovide robesrooms are largeair conditioningold worldswimming poolboutique hotelcourtyardartwork
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 197 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I spent almost a week in Granada and looked at all the top hotels. Here is why La Bocona is the prize. It is off the main square (Granadians are early and noisy risers, so the square is unbearably noisy by 7 a.m.), the hotel is a 'full colonial' which means there are two patios, one a garden another swimming pool. There are few but enormous rooms, light, airy and the staff is warm, friendly and helpful in every way. One half of the proceeds goes to a local charity - the hotel's owner is also the creator of Mi Museo, which is down the road. Cast offs from the Museum line the hotel's patio.

There isn't a more restful, tasteful hotel in Granada. I would rank it above many hotels in cities in Europe.

Room Tip: Room 4 has two kingsized beds and is the size of a basketball stadium!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you so much!

Nadene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

It is a nice hotel. it has a colonial style. It is very safe. They have security guards that are very responsible. It has a beautiful spa. it is located in a perfect position to have choices to go around town, it is at the corner of two streets, i don't remember their names, but it is very near the central park of Granada. I recommend this hotel to have a quiet sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juan z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you so much -- We appreciate your taking the time to review us!

You mentioned that we are a safe hotel. I would like to expand on that to let readers know that every person who enters the hotel for a tour or whatever reason is accompanied by a staff member, with exception to guests of course. Due to this policy, our guests feel so comfortable as to leave their doors open when going off to swim in the pool and tend to leave their electronics and other valuables in the public areas unattended. This would not be a safe practice elsewhere but, guests have this luxury at La Bocona.

Take care and we hope to see you again,
Nadene

P.S.The two streets where we are located are Calle La Libertad and Calle 14 de Septiembre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at La Bocona for three nights and absolutely LOVED my time there. The hotel is beautifully restored, featuring huge rooms with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. Right outside our door was a refreshing swimming pool, which we dipped into several times a day. The bathrooms are not ensuite, which was not an issue at all. As the hotel only has 6 rooms, it was really no big deal to talk a few steps to the bathroom. The hotel boasts an exceptional spa and is located 2 blocks from the main plaza.

Do the rooms get hot? Yes, the rooms get hot. That's why there's a refreshing pool and three fans in every room. Would it be better if the bathrooms were in the room instead of on the corridor? Yes, that might be more comfortable. But then you wouldn't be staying in a restored hacienda. You would be staying at what used to be a hacienda but was gutted and all traces of character removed. And that's fine - I'm sure there's a Best Western in Managua. Oh wait, there is. I stayed there and it was miserable.

What makes this hotel so much better than Plaza Colon and other hotels that I've stayed, in Granada, is the staff. The general manager, Nadine, is amazing! She is super accommodating. Even though I speak fluent Spanish, it was so nice to have someone there to give us the lay of the land, suggest hotels and day trips. The rest of the staff is just as good - Don Miguel was our inside guy - he was always watching over us, making sure we didn't get into trouble. Olga went so far our of her way to make us feel comfortable - as if this was our house! And that's the key with La Bocona - it feels like its your house. That's why it's so special. You aren't a number or a client here - you are a welcome guest - so much so that you forget you're a guest and think you might just want to adopt this place and make it your home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kassi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

We aim to deliver as close to an authentic colonial experience as possible and it is wonderful that you enjoyed that aspect of our hotel so much! I am thrilled that you had a great time and felt right at home with us.

As a side note, we did install air conditioning in the Classic Colonial Suites (your guestroom type) and Double Suite shortly after you left. Next time you come, we'll have to furnish you with a parka!

Thank you so much for such a detailed review! It really paints the picture of what future guests can expect and explicitly points out that how we regard those who visit us--like family.

Take good care,

Nadene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This converted grand colonial residence is in a central location in Granada, just a short walk form the main square, banks and market. It is peaceful and has attractive courtyards. The staff are delightful, especially Olga! The bedrooms are huge with high ceilings and fans which helps to keep them cooler but there is a short walk to the bathrooms, which has caught some visitors out. Despite being hot during the day we need the a/c at night.
We enjoyed our stay for 4 days: the breakfasts are good, especially the gallo pinto and fresh fruit juices. There is no restaurant however; not a problem given how many there are close by. They can organise trips and have well informed driver on hand (Gustavo) who does airport transfers and other tours: he speaks no English however.
Could the owners have made the place more grand and luxurious- probably yes: but as a base for travel around Granada with friendly staff, beautiful architecture and a feeling of safety - it does a fine job.

Room Tip: The larger rooms have high ceilings (and A/C if you want) which helps it keep cooler: Granada is a hot city. Every room has some street noise and the bathrooms are not en suite. Room 6 was great for us and only a very short walk to the bathroom at night!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cilybebyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. It was such a pleasure hosting you!

Nadene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We took the Colonial suite for eleven nights (an unusual length when the average stay is two to three nights and got a 25% discount)
We chose the most expensive suite because we wanted two beds and only that one offers it.
The pros : there are only six rooms and a lot of space,
the staff ( Olga ,Margarita ,Miguel and all the others ) is really nice,
The hotel ( a 19 th century large house) is nice even it could have been renovated in a much better way,
There is a spa (quite basic) but they offer good massages worth to try (not cheap @ 30/40 bucks and hour ,but really good)
The cons:
The worst being the fact that the bathrooms are not in the rooms which means that you have to put on a robe and cross the patio to get in ,which during night is a nightmare!, and they are not luxurious at all!
The rooms have no windows and only the suites get AC ,so they could get very hot even with the big fans , you have no outside light but ome cheap looking openings in the roof,
You cannot leave the doors open as there are mosquitos
We have been told that this is the typical colonial home but you have to deal with,
The breakfast is quite good ( not perfect!) but the afternoon snack looks more lowcost than firstclass,
And we have been charged for the water bottles we asked for , ( even if we have taken the most expensive suite for eleven days!)
I would recommend it if you want your privacy and a good service but you have to have in mind the problem of the bathrooms and the fact that because of its location on a busy corner it is quite noisy

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franckplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews