We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Granada, Nicaragua”
Review of Hotel La Bocona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Bocona
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed March 20, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed in Hotel La Bocona in Granada, Nicaragua and it was one of the best hotels we have stayed in all of central America. The staff was extremely professional, the room was great. It absolutely has to be the cleanest we have stayed on our journey. We felt like we had been transported back in time with the furnishings and accomodiations. They have a wonderful pool, and all you have to do if you need something is just ask and it is there. They could not do enough for us from local information to arrangments for everything from from tours to restaurants. The bilingual staff helped us with some local issues that we could not have done without their excellent assistance. We would highly recommend Hotel Bocona to anyone who is passing through Granada and intend to return on our way back home. Next time I will have some photos to post of this extrodanary facility. You have to see the ceiling art from probably a hundred years ago and the modern art is a welcome contrast.

Room Tip: There are not a lot of rooms and all are on the street but the street noise was never a problem for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Thank you so much for your review!

You and your wife are such lovely people and it is a joy to have you visit us. We appreciated your donation of the portable wheel-chair and know that a future guest will be happy to use it while here -- very thoughtful of you both.

We're very much looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 197 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2012

Gorgeous hotel in the center of Granada. Beautiful courtyards, nice pool, and yummy breakfasts. The staff were amazing - attentive, welcoming and helpful. My young kids loved the pool. My only complaint would be the noise from the street, but it is also part of the overall experience.

Room Tip: Try not to be in a room right next to the street, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewaywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review La Bocona!

It was so nice to have your family stay with us! We are looking forward to your next visit fondly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

yes the hotel is beautiful. 6 exquisitly restored rooms and a spa,
from old Spanish colonial houses.
But there is No air conditioning(fans yes), No television, No bathroom inside
the room, and what they call a business center is a broken fax/copy machine and No
computer(they have wifi).

Room Tip: do not go when it is hot, and ask questions about there facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bgerber948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Thank you for your review.

The concept of our Hotel is to offer excellent, personal service in the authentic, luxurious, relaxing atmosphere of our historic colonial mansion and to couple it with delicious cuisine. Guests tend to swim, read, play billiards, enjoy the spa services and venture out to explore Nicaragua.

The objective of our hotel is to support a local charitable organization that serves the less fortunate in our community by way of educational programming and more than one hundred thousand meals served annually and we donate half of all our gross income to it. To sustain this aim, we are constantly working to satisfy our guests by listening to their needs and implementing new elements to our service.

We have had very few experiences that warrant creating a business center however should a need develop, we will respond to it gladly. There is an internet cafe located 1/2 block north of La Bocona that offers inexpensive international phone services, computers, printing, scanning and copying.

We understand that some guests may have a hard time with the Nicaraguan heat and we can provide an air-conditioning unit in their room upon request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Spent a couple nights here. It's in a good location - about two blocks off the square - close enough to walk and a little quieter than being right on the square. It's a huge old colonial building that has been tastefully updated. The rooms are HUGE. Though they are loud because they face the street and they lack comfortable seating. The bathroom being across the hall, though still private, is a bit of a drag but we were expecting that. The pool is nice. Breakfasts were excellent!

Overall a solid choice and value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emailcurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

It was so nice to host you! We are awaiting your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I have had 2different therapists for sone hour massage each
It is excellent


Would recommend....


Cost is $25 for an hour -they use hot stones,acupressure points,wonderful.......

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your treatments at Balance Spa and Alternative Medicine. Their team is so professional and talented!

Thank you for taking the time to comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Once again, Hotel La Bocona has exceeded our expectations! This was our second, and certainly not our last, stay at the hotel.

I would like to comment on the review made by Michael S. below – the original character of the hotel would be significantly compromised if the bathroom were in the actual room. The advantages of having the bathrooms outside of the sleeping quarters is that there is no issue with humidity in the room from the shower – something I have experienced in other hotels in Granada.

The hotel has six guest rooms providing guests with the feeling of a bed and breakfast rather than a hotel. The hotel does provide bathrobes and slippers in each room so guests do not have to be concerned about bringing those items along on their trip.

The staff are wonderful helping guests with tour plans, providing delicious breakfasts and afternoon snacks and any other needs that one may find themselves with.

I have stayed in three other high-end hotels in Granada over the years and have found Hotel La Bocona to provide the best overall service, comfort, and experience! The owner donates 50% of the hotel profit to a charity helping children in Granada. That in itself is a good reason to stay at this wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: Room 6 is poolside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheels_Wings_Wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

So nice to have had you and your spouse stay with us --- yet again!

And, that this time you brought another couple with you is very complimentary to us. We were delighted!

Members of the staff frequently mentioned you between the two visits and so when you arrived with treats tailored to each one and remembered their names, we all knew that we had hosted you well and had left you with a great experience the first time. You both are so thoughtful...

Thank you so much for everything --especially the confidence you place in our hotel and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is a very good hotel. The owner and staff are friendly and super helpful. The rooms are renovated and very classy. I will say, however, that the street noise may keep you from a really great sleep, but it's as good a place to stay as any. The breakfast and the ladies that prepare it are excellent.

Room Tip: Staying at one of the inner courtyard rooms may be a bit quieter, peaceful. The others face the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

It was great to have met you both! And, we'll be waiting for you to visit us again on your next get-away weekend!

Take care,
Nadene Holmes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa La Merced
Casa La Merced
#26 of 45 in Granada
46 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Granada
Hotel Granada
#24 of 45 in Granada
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,049 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#17 of 45 in Granada
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Consulado
Hotel Casa del Consulado
#16 of 45 in Granada
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bocona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bocona

Address: Calle La Libertad | 2 Blocks West of Central Park, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: $90 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bocona 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Bocona is a six guestroom restored colonial mansion with a large swimming pool and an on-site professional spa to be enjoyed by travelers from all corners of the world who come to Granada looking for an authentic portal to exciting times in Latin American history. An architectural showpiece, the Hotel boasts all colonial period features including cathedral ceilings throughout, solid wood ornate doors, pillars, chandeliers, embellished wood sun-catchers above the doors and, of course, Spanish courtyards of tailored gardens inside. Included in our rates is a full breakfast, afternoon snack, local gym membership, wifi and private parking. We promote responsible tourism by donating half of all revenue to Carita Feliz, a local charitable organization that offers personal, professional, health programs to young people and serves more than one hundred thousand meals annually to children and other community members of little means. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Bocona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing