We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best way to explore it is on a kayak” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Islets of Granada

Islets of Granada
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Private Islet of Granada Day Tour from Managua
Ranked #2 of 72 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We have the best services to make a tours in the islets, with the best boats.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best way to explore it is on a kayak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

The 4,5 hours kayak tour is really recommendable!!Nice views and not to strenous. I have seen the people doing the isletas on a motorboat and it did not look like to much fun. With the kayaks you can easily access places the boat simply can not go...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julius W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    866
    486
    174
    19
    16
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great boat tour of Lake Granada and the 360+ islets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Cool boat ride around this islands. We heard about the rich business owners who own some of them. The Familia Pellas, for example, own the company that produces the famous Flora de Cana rum (delicious), and also Victoria beer. This family has been very supportive of the Nicaraguan people. It is a freshwater lake with 45 species of fish. We saw fisherman standing in the water casting their nets. Saw osprey, herons, egrets and cormorants. We even saw a Montezuma Oropendola nest (missed seeing this in Costa Rica), and many of these actual birds. The nests are very unique. Highly recommend this tour. The guide will want you to feed the monkeys, but we were reluctant to do this. Apparently, it is not good for the monkeys. Our guide talked a fellow tourist on the boat to let him give a banana to a monkey (red squirrel monkey and white faced monkeys on Monkey Island). The monkeys actually wait for this. We didn't want the monkey coming right on the boat with us!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Take a tour by kayak early in the morning to watch all of the birds - peaceful and interesting. A great way to avoid the noisy boats.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Akingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanville, Maine
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Everyone who goes there should do this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

It's such a change from the city, and a very unusual scattering of islands on the edge of a very large lake. Some islets are natural, others have island homes...some very simple and others very dramatic. The tour boats are usually 20-passenger motorboats, nothing fancy, but a good guide makes it quite nice. Pleasant change from the heat of the city.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank macinmaine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
164 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful but quite an eye opener”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

All the islets are little slices of lust tropical growth, having been made from spilling rock from a volcanic explosion. My husband and I kayaked through the calmer, side of Lake Nicaragua passing many of the islands on our way to Isla Zopango to have lunch. This isla is owned by a lovely French couple who (with their daughter) do tours out to it and provide their guests with a relaxing experience hammocking, playing with their domesticated monkey, having lunch, etc. However, on the way there you really come face to face with how most of the rest of the world lives. Most of the other islands had zinc huts, dust yards, no electricity, and people washing clothes by hand in the lake. Everyone seemed very happy, however, and greeted us with smiles and waves. A true testament to be grateful for everything you have.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islets of Granada also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Islets of Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing