We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful birds but old kayaks- don't take the tadem kayak”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Islets of Granada

Islets of Granada
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Private Islet of Granada Day Tour from Managua
Ranked #2 of 73 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We have the best services to make a tours in the islets, with the best boats.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful birds but old kayaks- don't take the tadem kayak”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Just came back from a tour that was organized by Erik's Tours (through Oasis Hostel) in Nicaragua but the tour provider was actually Inuit Kayaks. The owner of Inuit kayak was the one who picked us up and provided the guide and kayaks. The driver (owner) was late 20 minutes but arrived in a very nice new car and picked us up from our hostel. Our guide (young guy) was very knowlegeable but ONLY spoke Spanish. In the flyer, it said bilingual guide. Second, problem, the kayaks are really old and beat up. No back rest or foot rest or bailer to get the water out--so we were sitting in water until we found a floating pop bottle in the water- used our own knife to cut the bottle in half to empty out the water. They suggested we take a double kayak, it was awful! Wh should have said no. It is impossible to steer this tandem kayak...and we are used to paddling! We told the guide to bring us back early (45 minutes), as it was impossible to navigate the double kayak. It was $25 per person, but I would suggest paying more if you can have better kayaks and a bilingual guide! It is fun in a kayak, you see tonnes of birds, monkeys, but when the equipment is old and not functional...makes it difficult to fully enjoy. Be weary of Eriks Tours in Granada, I would suggest paying a bit more but for newer kayaks. Whatever you do, don't take the tadem kayak!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank natmanitouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    886
    496
    178
    19
    17
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Esposende, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Islets of Granada”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

It was amazing because in a short space of the lake we saw dozens of litle islands, most of it with a house built in it and a boat.
We also saw monkies in one of them and a lot of birds.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AMGM2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, but too short”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Hotel Dario arranged for us to be picked up at their door and taken to the boat dock, the tour, and return to the hotel, two of us for $45, It was a perfect beautiful afternoon, and we enjoyed the boat ride, but it was considerably shorter than we were led to believe.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juanita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
184 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Skip It, But If You Can Arrange To Go To Monkey Islet, It's Worth It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I agree with past reviews about this being a rather boring tour to see tiny islands that have rich people's houses on them. I can't imagine spending three hours doing that. These boats are small with no bathrooms so three hours would be a long time, especially with kids.

We ran into Jorge at the Euro Cafe, near the Central Square, on Saturday morning. We had set in our minds that we were not going to do the islet tour however when we asked to just go to Monkey Islet for the kids in one hour he agreed. For 2 adults and 2 kids, we got transportation from Euro Cafe to the marina, the boat tour, and return to the Central Square for $30. Much better than what our hotel was trying to sell us.

While the idea of sticking non-native monkeys on a little island is kind of sad, these spider monkeys seemed rather happy playing in their trees. Jorge called out to Lucy, the only female, who hopped aboard, gave him a big hug, and then sat nicely on one of the seats and let the kids gently pet her! Many other boats came by but none of them even attempted to get the monkeys on board. She was clean, gentle, patient and great with my 3 year old twin boys who were fascinated with her! They had no idea how lucky they were to be sitting on the boat with the monkey.

Jorge did a great job of being gentle with Lucy. Before she came on the boat he made it clear what scares and hurts her and that he expected everyone to be gentle with her. He asked us to put our snacks away and not to feed them to her. I really liked that.

I wish I had contact information for Jorge. He hooked us up with a horse carriage tour that day which he catered to our tired and sick boys. I would recommend him to everyone. His English is very good and he is fun to talk to. It seemed like he knew pretty much everyone at Euro Cafe so maybe others can meet him there. His prices were fair.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbungay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tour the Isletas by Kayak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We toured the isletas by kayak one hot morning in November. It was beautiful! Our guide showed us the cemetery and told us how the locals live on the isletas. There are some mansions and some shacks, it's a really interesting neighborhood. We stopped for a drink at the local watering hole. Highly recommend. Our tour was probably about 3 hours total and we got right up close in our kayaks.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HCB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islets of Granada also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Islets of Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing