We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Granada”
Review of Casa Silas B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Silas B & B
Ranked #5 of 67 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oasis in Granada”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at Casa Silas twice during our January trip to Nicaragua - the second time to escape a less than satisfying resort in San Juan. That we went back to stay at Casa Silas is truly a tribute to the hospitality of the hosts, Rob and Claudia, and their wonderful B&B.
The rooms (we stayed in both) were spacious and clean. The courtyard is immaculate and Rob very helpful. Claudia provided a spanish lesson and Silas and Pepper (their dogs) made us forget our fury friend we left behind in California.
Casa Silas has a perfect location, within a 5-10 minute walk of all Granada has to offer tourists, while being on a quiet street.
Breakfast (included) was wonderful, eggs, gallo pinto, plantains, bowls of fruit, and unlimited good coffee. Twice we were served nacatamales as a special weekend treat. Yummy!
I do not give 5 stars easily, but I really cannot find much wrong with Casa Silas. 5 stars it is.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
211
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at Casa Silas for two nights with our 2.5 year old daughter. Rob and Claudia were warm, gracious and instantly helpful with everything from finding the perfect carriage driver to locating toddler-friendly restaurants. The room was simple, clean and comfortable and the pool and patio was the perfect place to be during the warm afternoons. Silas and Pepper (our canine hosts) were also very sweet and a highlight for our daughter. The house is within easy walking distance to most everything, the breakfasts were delicious, the other guests (there are just 2 rooms) interesting and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Rob and Claudia, the owners, were great. We arrived earlier than expected and they were completely accommodating and hospitable. The room was very clean and spacious. Rob was helpful with suggestions for sights and restaurants around town and Claudia provided an excellent Spanish lesson. Break was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMyrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We started our Central American holiday in Granada and Casa Silas couldn't have got us off to a better start!

Rob, the owner, arranged for a driver to pick us up from the airport in Managua and bring us directly to the the b&b. the driver was awesome and pointed out sights along the way.

Casa Silas is run by rob and his lively wife Claudia. They both went out of their way to recommend local sights and restaurants as well as other hotels in the country to help plan the rest of our itinerary - all of which were top notch!

They also have two amazing dogs who my boyfriend and I fell in love with! They were truly lovely pets who make this place feel like home!

It was a great stay and wonderful way to start our trip! I cannot forget to mention the amazing breakfast and coffee!!!

Stay at Casa Silas while on Granada, when we return we won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg_Vancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Casa Silas was our first stop in Nicaragua and was a great place to stay. The place is small and intimate but the rooms are large, clean and comfortable and breakfast was good. The pool is small but perfect for a refreshing plunge after a long journey. Rob and Claudia were welcoming, helpful and friendly hosts and Silas the dog is adorable. They helped us organise travel from the airport and onward travel to Costa Rica and tipped us off to the big baseball game happening during our stay - one of the highlights of Granada. It's only a 5-10 minute walk to the centre of Granada, and 2 minutes to the central market. Rob and Claudia are building a local website listing restaurants, bars, tour operators and much more so you can be sure that if you need help with just about anything they'll be able to help!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rudolf3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Last year my husband and I spent a few days in Nicaragua and stayed at Casa Silas. We quickly learned that Rob & Klaudhina open up their home to their guests and make them feel totally at home and comfortable. We decided to return again this year. Silas, their dog has a new buddy Pepper now and we spent a great time catching up with them, meeting other guests and playing with the dogs.
A delicious breakfast of bacon, eggs, rice & beans, toast, fruit, juice is served each morning and one morning we were served a special surprise, Nacatamale.
All that Granada has to offer is right outside the door. We strolled the city square, visited the Cathedral and El Mercad, dined at some fine restaurants and relaxed.
Currently there are 2 finely appointed bedrooms with private baths. Free WIFI is also available. I booked well in advance to ensure that we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NUTHIN_TO_LOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our family (including 2 daughters 21 and 16) stayed for several days over New Year's 2013. Rob and Claudia were terrific hosts and were a wealth of information on where to eat, things to do and how to get there. We joined them for an evening of pub trivia at a local pub and had a great time (they're the local champs!). Both rooms were large, comfortable and clean, and the little pool was perfect for a dip after a hot day's walking. We were missing our own pets, so having Silas and Pepper around was an added bonus. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#14 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Silas B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Silas B & B

Property: Casa Silas B & B
Address: Calle La Concepcion 206, Granada 43000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Silas B & B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Silas offers you a very comfortable Queen size bed and ensuite bathroom with hot shower. Our rooms are equipped with air-conditioning and ceiling fans, and also feature skylights for a gentle wake up call from the Nicaraguan sunrise and the parrots outside your window. The rooms look out upon the courtyard garden and swimming pool. Your most difficult decision at Casa Silas will be whether to have a morning dip in the pool before or after coffee. In addition to coffee we also offer a selection of fresh, local fruits, jams and heartier breakfast fare to start your morning of exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Silas B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Silas Hotel Granada
Casa Silas Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing