We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot in a good location”
Review of Casa Silas B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Silas B & B
Ranked #5 of 63 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely spot in a good location”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Casa Silas was our first stop in Nicaragua and was a great place to stay. The place is small and intimate but the rooms are large, clean and comfortable and breakfast was good. The pool is small but perfect for a refreshing plunge after a long journey. Rob and Claudia were welcoming, helpful and friendly hosts and Silas the dog is adorable. They helped us organise travel from the airport and onward travel to Costa Rica and tipped us off to the big baseball game happening during our stay - one of the highlights of Granada. It's only a 5-10 minute walk to the centre of Granada, and 2 minutes to the central market. Rob and Claudia are building a local website listing restaurants, bars, tour operators and much more so you can be sure that if you need help with just about anything they'll be able to help!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rudolf3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
211
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Erie, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Last year my husband and I spent a few days in Nicaragua and stayed at Casa Silas. We quickly learned that Rob & Klaudhina open up their home to their guests and make them feel totally at home and comfortable. We decided to return again this year. Silas, their dog has a new buddy Pepper now and we spent a great time catching up with them, meeting other guests and playing with the dogs.
A delicious breakfast of bacon, eggs, rice & beans, toast, fruit, juice is served each morning and one morning we were served a special surprise, Nacatamale.
All that Granada has to offer is right outside the door. We strolled the city square, visited the Cathedral and El Mercad, dined at some fine restaurants and relaxed.
Currently there are 2 finely appointed bedrooms with private baths. Free WIFI is also available. I booked well in advance to ensure that we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NUTHIN_TO_LOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our family (including 2 daughters 21 and 16) stayed for several days over New Year's 2013. Rob and Claudia were terrific hosts and were a wealth of information on where to eat, things to do and how to get there. We joined them for an evening of pub trivia at a local pub and had a great time (they're the local champs!). Both rooms were large, comfortable and clean, and the little pool was perfect for a dip after a hot day's walking. We were missing our own pets, so having Silas and Pepper around was an added bonus. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our second stay at Casa Silas (the first being in August 2012) and it truly felt like we were returning home after a short absence. Rob and Klaudinha are the ultimate hosts and ensure that the stay is pleasant and comfortable. The place is always clean, the breakfast tasty and the conversation lively. Rob and Klaudinha have lots of information on activities around Nicaragua and, although the prime reason for the visit was dental care (something Rob assisted with as well by checking on suitable dentists), we still managed to enjoy Granada and the surrounding area. The location is prime as Casa Silas is located on a safe and quiet street, yet well within walking distance to all the major attractions. When visiting around Christmas expect lots of noisy fireworks all over Nicaragua. No problem though, if you really enjoy Granada the way you should, there will be no problem sleeping! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The two rooms available are equal in comfort and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dutch1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Silas, not just for the quality of the accomodation or the delicious breakfast, both were fantastic. The room we had was large and airy, with air con, although we mainly used the fan. The bathroom was again large and clean, with a shower with a little heating element that takes the edge off the cold water - absolutely all you need in Nica. The breakfasts were delicious and varied, Rob ensured we had the traditional weekend breakfast of Nacatamal one of the days which was great. The splashpool in the courtyard was an unexpected bonus and we made use of it every afternoon after our days out. I'm scared of dogs and so when we arrived to Silas the dog barking I was very nervous, but I neededn't have worried, he's a sweetie that keeps to himself and occasionally sings along to the mellow music Rob has on in the background which just makes you chuckle.

But what really made our stay was Rob himself (his wife was away when we stayed) he is a very interesting and friendly host, talkative without being intrusive and helpful with opinions on what to do, where to eat etc. We had some great chats at breakfast time. As we arrived during local elections there was no alcohol being sold for 2 days and Rob thoughtfully offered us a beer one evening after we'd been out for dinner - a nice friendly touch that I think sums up his approach to his B&B.

This was our favourite accomodation in Nica and well located for strolling around Granada

When in Granada don't miss out the cemetary, its gorgeous.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strollinthepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

M boyfriend and I enjoyed our 2 night stay here at Casa Silas. Rob has lots of recommendations for ways to get tours, see the isletas, use local transport, etc. The private rooms were nice, breakfast was simple but delicous. Warmest shower we had while in Nicaragua.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aross113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, Yap
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We loved staying at Casa Silas. Owners were extremely helpful and inviting but certainly not invasive. The decor was impeccable, the breakfast was excellent, and the atmosphere was perfect (especially the pool which is key during the warm Granada afternoons!) And it was close enough to the city center to walk easily but far enough away to avoid excessive noise and tourism.


(Nearby, off the beaten path, is the great El Marlin restaurant.)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRS1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,018 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#17 of 43 in Granada
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 43 in Granada
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Silas B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Silas B & B

Property: Casa Silas B & B
Address: Calle La Concepcion 206, Granada 43000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Silas B & B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Silas offers you a very comfortable Queen size bed and ensuite bathroom with hot shower. Our rooms are equipped with air-conditioning and ceiling fans, and also feature skylights for a gentle wake up call from the Nicaraguan sunrise and the parrots outside your window. The rooms look out upon the courtyard garden and swimming pool. Your most difficult decision at Casa Silas will be whether to have a morning dip in the pool before or after coffee. In addition to coffee we also offer a selection of fresh, local fruits, jams and heartier breakfast fare to start your morning of exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Silas B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Silas Hotel Granada
Casa Silas Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing