We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Granada charm in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Posada del Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Posada del Sol is a lovely place to stay in Granada- convenient and safe location with lovely facilities (rooms, pool, garden area with water fountain). It is within a short walking distance to Calle La Calzada and many restaurants, bars, the Cathedral, etc.

The service was very pleasant and helpful. We spent so much time exploring the city and taking day trips that we should have relaxed more here to enjoy the pool and peaceful gardens, but we had restful nights in this aesthetic hotel! The only suggestion we have to at least serve coffee and tea in the mornings since there is no breakfast available.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DreamOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 115 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed three nights here and enjoyed the lovely large room, a/c and pool. Breakfast was good and so was the coffee (con leche, made with hot milk for us)
Hotel is only a couple of blocks from the central square, close to pubs and restaurants yet very quiet. The staff is friendly and helpful and the courtyard/pool area is delightful.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Backpacking for several months I decided to spoil myself by spending 2 nights in a "luxury" accommodation and chose La Posada del Sol because 2 friends of mine said it was great.
Indeed the place is a step up from a hostel but the room wasn't as good as I expected. Hot water didn't work (not that I needed it but it's advertised), there was some whatever animal crap on a corner of the bed sheets and the walls were just raw concrete with a bit of paint. You could see the gap between the walls and the ceiling! I've seen better in far less expensive places...
The staff was OK but not really caring about you and the cleaning ladies put their music full blast in the morning while cleaning waking you up if you're a late sleeper...
Apart from those points the place is nice with a nice tropical patio, a huge swimming pool and good security. The location is OK, close to the center but far enough not to hear any noise coming from it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barongxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The rooms were roomy , staff was friendly and always ready to help you , whatever your needs are. They also organized a day trip with Hector to Laguna de Apoyo and the volcano, which was perfect. Hector also is a very experienced and genuinely interested guide and he knows a lot about Nicaraguan history. A great large pool which was cleaned regularly and comfy sun lounges to just chill-out looking at the beautiful garden.Overall we were very pleased with our stay and would definitely recommend it for someone who either wants a quiet relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Plusses: good-sized pool, simple but clean rooms, computer with internet for guests, clotheslines, cold A/C, lovely landscaped courtyard sitting areas and lobby, helpful staff, enjoyed meeting the other guests, located across the street from a very helpful farmacia, about 1 or 2 blocks from the Calle Calzada so it was quiet
Minusses: lukewarm water, awful TV reception, loud roosters, served yellow plastic-wrapped "American" cheese with breakfast (instead of the wonderful local queso fresco), ants all over the kitchenette area in the apartment, secure parking a block away for a separate charge, the shower stall flooded the bathroom with each use

Room Tip: Check the TV in your room first - other guests complained that their TVs were not working as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mangomum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

At the recommendation of a friend we stayed here. Good value for money, nice room, relaxing pool, A/C, large bathroom. In general I think the other rooms might have been a bit nicer than room #7 which seemed to be lacking a table present in other rooms and also was too far away from the wifi router for consistent signal. We managed by moving our computers poolside for more relaxing googling!

Room Tip: Room #6-8 are too far from the wifi (if that is important to you..).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gremily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

It has been about I year since I have stayed here but checked in on the place again recently and it seems that nothing has changed. The owners are very rude and not accomodating at all. I stayed for two night and was required to pay up front in cash. I paid for the two nights and after the first night at about 12:00 noon an emergency came up and I had to leave. I asked for a refund since I already paid for the next night and they refused to give me anything. It was only one hour after the check out time and they made me pay full price. On top of that they made me wait to leave the hotel while they revised the room. They are experts in humiliating the guests. AS¿s if there is anything in these simple rooms that someone would want to take. I will never go here again, and for those looking for hospitality I highly recommend going somewhere else. There are tons of good places in Granada, this one is just not worth it. The owners have absolutely no idea how to deal with customers. Awful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel100r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPosadadelSol09, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Posada del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2017
Google Translation

Buenos días a todos nuestros amigos y seguidores, pedimos disculpas por contestar tarde la opiniones de nuestros clientes,a lo aca mencionado por Travel 100r no podemos darle una respuesta directa porque en realidad no recordamos bien lo acontecido.
Lo que si podemos asegurar que hasta el el dia de hoy absolutamente no es política del hotel cobrarle al cliente por una hora más de estadía. Solamente en temporada alta si los clientes es preferible que salgan a la hora establecida para poder limpiar las habitaciones y recibir bien al siguiente cliente.
De todas maneras el cliente puede guardar su maleta en nuestra recepción y disfrutar del área de piscina de los jardines, del Wifi libre y tomarse su cafecito si lo desea sin costo alguno por el tiempo que quiera.
En temporada baja si la habitación no esta reservada por el dia siguiente permitimos a los huéspedes quedarse, y realizar la salida prolongada hasta las 3 de la tarde.
Nosotros tomamos muy seriamente las opiniones de nuestros huéspedes y sentimos mucho si el cliente sale de nuestro hotel con una impresión que no sea de su agrado, podemos asegurar que eso no es lo estándar habitual de nuestro servicio.
Nosotros vamos a tener el control apropiado para que ese tipo de acciones no se repitan si acaso paso en nuestro Hotel La Posada del Sol.
Esperamos dar nuevamente la bienvenida a Travel 100r, y también a todos los huéspedes que deseen reservar con nosotros para que puedan comprobar nuestro real estandar de servicio de calidad, nuestras amplias y luminosas habitaciones, con vista al jardín y a la piscina.
Nosotros trabajamos todos los días para la satisfacción de nuestros clientes, la cual está por encima de nuestras prioridades,
les deseamos a todos un feliz dia, cordiales saludos de Hotel La Posada del Sol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 45 in Granada
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa La Merced
Casa La Merced
#26 of 45 in Granada
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.4 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 45 in Granada
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Posada del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Posada del Sol

Address: Calle el Caimito the mayoralty three blocks i average lake, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Price Range: $55 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Posada del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Posada del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing