We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Islita Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Islita Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 66 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San José / Montgomery
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I spent three nights at La Islita, and will be delighted to stay with them again. The only thing wrong was that the breakfasts were too big and too good, and I overate!
It's a lovely place, cool and comfortable, beautifully appointed and with the friendliest owners and staff you could want; I was traveling alone and felt completely comfortable and safe. Huge showers. Scrupulously clean. Friendly, helpful staff. The hotel is located on a quiet dead end, so there's no passing traffic noise. It's just a couple of blocks from the main plaza, and from the terrace you can see the cathedral and the volcano and across the roofs of the neighborhood... you can walk anywhere you need to go.
Andres and Tim will take very good care of you. I recommend La Islita...you'll be happy there.

Room Tip: Don't think you can't go wrong. I was in #3, closest to the lobby, closest to the stairs, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScuBama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    45
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
135
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at La Islita Boutique for three nights after New Year's eve. After staying in Managua, Ometepe Island, La Gigante Playa, we had a great time in Granada. The hotel is located in the perfect location, in a quiet dead end and only 2-3 blocks away from the main street with all the restaurant and the central place. The breakfast was very good and different every day and the service from all the staff amazing. The overall atmosphere is very warm and welcoming. The only downside was the first room we had downstairs which was pretty noisy and where we could hear people from the lobby talking. But our second room was charming and a perfect place to stay. The owner helped us with our taxi accomadations and tours as well. We will definitely go back to the same hotel if we stay in Granada again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
159 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent five nights here, moving rooms from number 7 to the larger number 6 after a vacancy became available. It is worth paying the extra for this room as it has its own balcony and is bigger. Both rooms were comfortable and clean. The hotel is so conveniently located near the centre of town and we walked everywhere from here. Our hosts were delightful and very keen to ensure we had everything we needed. They provided helpful advice on things to do in the area and restaurants. Our only negative was not the roosters, which were not an issue for us, but that the taxi promised to us on arrival at the airport in Managua did not arrive, and eventually after a phone call to the hotel we found our own arrangements. After that slightly bad start there was nothing further to be concerned about and we enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
475 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here over the New Year and used this place as our base to explore the city. All of the folks at La Islita are great - they are friendly and chatty and it's kind of like staying at friends' houses when you're here. The breakfasts were ample and adequate. We had room 8 and will say that you want to use the white noise machine at night as there's a rooster and goose that have a competition every morning around 3am to see who can be the most obnoxious. I think the rooms on the front with balconies are quieter and also offer a little private outdoor space.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intlwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

La Islita Boutique Hotel is very centrally and conveniently located at the ‘end of a dead street’ in the‘hart of Granada’ a stone throw away from the Cathedral, the Parque Central and Calle La Calzada (where at night time the main action seems to be). Although in the middle of town, the location is an excellent environment as there is no traffic in front of the property and provides for a save area to leave your rental vehicle. This is definitely boutique! La Islita is a fantastically renovated old but small 2 storey building with a roof terrace. It has less than a dozen rooms and the owners (who live on site but in a separate building) are very hospitable; provide great personalized service and recommendations for trips in and around Granada. The room (#5) which we had was on the front side of the building (2nd Floor), with a wonderful wooden floor and beautifully decorated. A nice breakfast was included and served at the partly open area on the ground floor. We are very fortunate to have traveled extensively and have had good experiences in boutique type hotels. This was our second visit to Granada during the same trip through Nicaragua and can safely say that the overall experience and service at La Islita is excellent and has been one of the best! I have no hesitation to recommend you to stay here as this is definitely value for money.

Room Tip: Second floor front side rooms are beautifully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allard-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
170 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family of 4 stayed here for 1 night in December and loved it. Tim, Andres and Maykel made out stay comfortable and relaxing. Our room was clean, comfortable and modern ( as well as tastefully decorated). Delicious hot breakfast (omelet, sweet and regular bread and fruit). Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. Nice little roof terrace w/ views of the city. I would stay here again without hesitation. Thanks again Tim for a wondeful stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

La Islita was a great finding in Granada, Nicaragua. This small and cosy hotel is a step away from the charming center of Granada, allowing easy access to the city and it's best locations.

The staff was extremely friendly, the infra structure is great and the rooms are big, airy and cosy. The owners are great guys, know a great deal about the region and are always willing to help and give some great travel and local gastronomy tips. The hotel is also very tastefully decorated and from the moment you step into the place you feel all of the tranquillity and joie de vivre that puts you right in the best vacation mood...

I can't wait to go back to Nicaragua and to La Islita!

Room Tip: I loved room 4 which has a great terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielNascimento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Islita Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Islita Boutique Hotel

Property: La Islita Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle El Cisne | de la alcaldia, 2 c al lago, 1.5 al sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Islita Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Islita, a cozy boutique hotel with Spanish Colonial charm, is undoubtedly in the best location on a quiet street in the heart of Granada's historic center. Restaurants, shops, language schools and cultural sites are a quick walk away. Our eight rooms are equipped with A/C, Cable TV, Hot Water, Stylish Fans, and Wi-Fi access. Two suites have oversized private balconies. A refreshing saltwater swimming pool in a tropical garden is available to all guests. The rooftop terrace offers some of the best views of Granada. A great value for your money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your La Islita Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing