We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshing Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Garden Cafe

The Garden Cafe
Ranked #4 of 156 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American, Latin, Cafe, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "The Garden Cafe" is a casual cafe, located in the historical center of Granada in a beautiful century-old Colonial house. We offer full breakfast, lunch and dinner: enjoy from our selection of fresh sandwiches, salads, wraps & pastas. At The Garden Cafe you will also find a great selection of teas, specialty coffee, home baked desserts and amazing fresh fruit smoothies & juices. We offer the best quality ingredients with fresh locally baked breads, organically grown produce where possible and a loving touch. The Garden Cafe strives to provide a "mi casa es su casa" atmosphere where everyone is treated like family. In addition to nourishing the bodies of our customers, we are here to inspire ourselves, our customers and our community. We do everything with passion, creativity, love and we are seriously committed to helping and developing our city and our country.Complimentary WI-FI service and free book exchange/loan.
La Selva Beach, California, United States
1 review
“Refreshing Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The garden cafe is a refreshing oasis from the busy dusty streets of Granada. I great place to stop in for a superb smoothy of a refreshing ice cold Tona. The food was simple but excellently prepared with a wide variety of dishes to satisfy most appetites including the those wanting a more traditional Nica fare. Clean, comfortable and un rushed serving both a local well-healed and international traveling crowd.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,154
    635
    156
    33
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vale, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always a good place to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

They have remodeled the front, and added more books, since last year. The food is always good, and the staff friendly. You can't go wrong here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinberg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An American Oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Except for the lush tropical foliage in the courtyard, this could be a coffee shop/restaurant in the US. It appeared to be THE destination for Americans traveling in Granada. We had an excellent lunch here and went back a couple of times for coffee. The lunch menu is quite extensive, and the service was very good. Excellent value for the price, and I really enjoyed their Chai Latte over ice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juanita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great lunch, seems to cater to the expat crowd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is primarily a soup, salad and sandwich place around a beautiful courtyard. Everything was very fresh and as vegetable entrees are a bit hard to find in Nicaragua, I really enjoyed my salad here. Very leafy green lettuce topped by a very fresh and tasty tuna salad. My husband had a chicken wrap of some sort that was also really tasty. Perfect lunch spot. The service was a little slow. We were eating during the shift change and our server left without dropping our bill. We didn't know who to flag down and no one came to clear our plates or drop a check. That seemed a bit odd, but we got it straightened out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HCB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Best atmosphere in town, good food, service and especially the waiting time could be better, but all in all a perfect place. The prics are very fair and the garden were you wil sit and eat are just lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henriette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Cafe also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to The Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing