We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“posada san jose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada San Jose

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada San Jose
Save
You added Posada San Jose to your Saves list
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“posada san jose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

it is a very good hotel. it is familiar and cheap. inside the hotel you can have a balcony which is comfortable. the personal is kind and know how to communicate with foreigners. The hotel is clean and it is located on a quiet street. everything is nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juan z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is owned and operated the way all hotels should be. It is located in the heart of the city, and everything is at your fingertips. The hotel staff is so friendly and will accommodate you with anything you need. I recommend this hotel to anyone ever going to the Colonial City.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

I never visit one hotel where the people try to help you like a realy good friend and is beautifull and economic.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RALADM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Close to the central park, surrounded by cafes and restaurants, this hotel is well worth checking out. First we stayed here for five nights (I think?) in an absolutely charming and airy room with wooden floors and big windows, then left to another city and came back.

Too bad they didn't have that beautiful room available, and we ended up in a windowless stamp-sized burning hot hole, full of tiny flying bugs. They wanted us to pay the same rate as we had payed for the other room (which was at least twice the size with a much bigger and nicer bathroom), so we decided to leave. Especially when we had heard them offering that very room to a random couple for many dollars less, and with us they wouldn't compromise.

So all in all, a very nice place to stay, if you have luck with the room.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

When we initially showed up at the hotel the receptionist told me that they did not have me reservation, despite the fact that I had a printed email with a confirmation. We had booked a room with two beds, private bath and AC for $55, but the only room they had available was with one bed, private bath and fan for $25. We decided to try it out and slept great. Kenneth (the person I had initially contacted about the hotel) showed up later that evening and apologized immensely for the lost reservation. His computer had gotten a virus and that is why our reservation had been lost. He also took us on a free tour the next morning of the Isletas and gave us a discount on the Mombacho volcano tour to make up for our lost reservation. So, in the end we were extremely pleased and had much more cash in our pockets than originally planned. The rooms were very clean, quiet, although sparse. They had cable TV, a computer for free internet in the lobby and a phone for free calls to the U.S.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madcityrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mono_91351
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

This hotel is Amazing ; the staff and the service provided is overall one of the most friendliest i have encountered.
The cleanliness of the rooms was impecale , they take so much care and detail to make you feel welcome . Not only they provide great service they also help me with tours , wich by the way they have great deals wich they pass on to hotel guests,i ended up saving a hole bunch of money not only on my stay beacause they rates are very competitive, as well as the tours we took . it took only a minute walk to be on the center of la Calzada wich is the rendevouz for the social life in town at night is very beautiful with lots of restaurants and bars to hang around , Extremely quiet at night considering was close the center.
i would go back to this place and would like to recomend this to anyone who is on a budget and likes to feel that its getting its moneys worth . talk to Edgar Monterrey , the owner, very friendly and polite gentleman, he would be very helpful in advising trips and recomendong spots for night life .

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mono_91351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, MA, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

Posada San Jose is a new hotel in Granada, opened in early November 2008. The owner, Edgar Monterrey, gave us a lift back to Granada when we were stranded at Asese restaurant on the lake. He is a great guy – he was an Operations Manager at a hotel in Granada and decided to open his own. We asked to see the place. It has 7 rooms, neat and clean, all with private bath, cable tv with US channels, free coffee and free wireless throughout hotel (including rooms), also free use of hotel computer. Extremely good location, steps off Calle Calzada. From the cathedral, take a right on Calle El Cisne (across from Tierra Tours). Rooms are $30, are on the second floor and appear very quiet. Good views over tiled rooftops, a few lounge areas. Looks like a great bargain if you’re on a budget.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank theworldexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#9 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Estrada
Hotel Estrada
#14 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#20 of 43 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#16 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#10 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa del Consulado
Hotel Casa del Consulado
#22 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada San Jose

Property: Posada San Jose
Address: Calle El Cisne, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Number of rooms: 48

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing