We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveler rating
1
8
6
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
8
6
4
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 23 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2014

I thought I got good value for what I paid ($14pn single room) particularly given its location and that in general accommodation in Granada tends to be expensive by Nicaragua comparison. The room is basically a bed, shelf and small table with a fan, which was sufficiant to keep the room cool enough at the time I stayed. The shower is cold water only but in the temperature this was not uncomfortable. There is a quiet common area to sit in with traditional furniture.

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blank70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2014 via mobile

I don't like writing negative reviews, but San Angel is what it is: worn-out. The garden can use a cleanup, and the rooms need renovation and new mattresses urgently. Granada was hot at the time we were there, so pray that both fans keep on working, you'll need them as the room is small with only one tiny window. For a hostel, it also lacks atmosphere, in fact, there's nothing going on there. It's not all bad though: the location couldn't be much better, the owner is really friendly and the price is... well, dirt-cheap.

Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kristof79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

In general a friendly family hostel. Not really special, but nice enough to stay more than one night. Service is good and friendly, though besides of the ever courtuous manager I expected some more regular smiles of other family members or employers. The room is big enough for a single person. No airco in very hot Granada, but two big standing fans, which look rather retro but still work great. Room could be cleaner, as for the bathroom. The shared kitchen is big enough. Expect the public areas sometimes to be filled with a lot of people. There is a quieter zone near the bedrooms, but the chairs in that corner are not very comfortable (no back support). All in all nothing special. Just a nice hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We got fleeced via Booking.com when we paid $29 for a dump of a room - the beds were dirty and broken. We felt cheated as the next day we found an excellent place for $20! The owner is ripping off people by charging $29 for something that is worth only $12 (the owner is a sweet person nevertheless the place sucks). The rooms are equipped with grotty fans which has not been cleaned in years and covered with dust.

Room Tip: We stayed at El Momento in Calle Arsenal - excellent place. Another place is el Familiar Hostal which has a great owner and rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giuseppe473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We picked Hostel San Angel from the internet, solely based on its location and price, and were thrilled with our good luck. It's just a few paces from Granada's central cathedral and park, on a quiet side street. (In the tripadvisor picture, that's the central cathedral above the roofline to the left.) Quite cheap, very comfortable, clean, quiet and safe. We had a two bed, private bath room (ac unit, hot water, fan, breakfast included) for three nights. The hosts couldn't have been more gracious or helpful, even though it was close to the holidays and they had family visiting (5 generations at their table!) as well as the paid guests. We were the only new folks in the hostel rooms; everyone else was a returnee, one for the 10th time.
If you prefer more anonymous chain hotel living (and there's nothing wrong with that) or backpacker-hammock-sleep-in-your-clothes hostels, (nothing wrong with that either) this is not for you. It's a home with a section of 6-7 guestrooms; the host family and their friends may be reading, watching tv or visiting with friends at one of the two huge dining tables at any time...it's *home*, with a lobby for a living room. The hosts are extremely well educated and interesting people who have lived through some amazing times; talk with them, you'll be fascinated. They can also advise on local things to see and do (oldest house, best seafood, etc...) and have a wealth of information on almost everything. Travelers who'll enjoy this hostel most are those comfortable in a casual homey environment where you have use of the fridge. It's not really a youth-oriented place although I'm sure college kids would be made welcome; the days I was there the hostel guests averaged 55-60 years old, maybe more; some were Spanish students, some artists, some just travellers. There are a couple of interior patio areas where some guests sit to chat, use the internet, drink coffee (or more) and generally pass the time.
It's a cute, rambling house with interior open air areas as is typical of the area, lots of plants, a cat you can borrow and a dog you can't, and in the dining area they have a wall display of a couple hundred coffee cups/mugs left or sent by former guests. (I'll be taking one with me when I go back on a solo trip in a couple of months.) Good coffee, and a very nice breakfast of familiar fruits and some new to me (calala? yummy..) and bread, and fresh-squeezed juice, perfect for the warm climate.
To sum up: clean, quiet, comfortable, cute, safe, friendly, convenient, perfectly located, cheap, and I'm going back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScuBama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews