We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 'craic'”
Review of O Sheas Irish Bar

O Sheas Irish Bar
Ranked #47 of 163 Restaurants in Granada
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great 'craic'”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great staff, superb location with plenty of street theatre, and excellent food.
We didn’t look anywhere else for the five nights in Granada. Employing a ‘security ‘man to ensure that you were not pestered too much was a good feature on the busy street. The owner also made it his business to ensure that all was good for his customers.
Thanks Tommy, we enjoyed your ‘craic’ and a well-managed team

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank john R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    73
    47
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“We were there very night!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Good cold beer at a very reasonable price. Great people watching spot and helpful friendly and attentive staff. We even got to meet the wife and young daughter of one staff member - Cheryl is lovely! As regards one reviewer's comment that the staff were not Irish, I was happy with that. I didn't want another faux "Oirish" pub, just somewhere clean, safe, well priced and friendly to wile away the evenings watching the world go by. Loved it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WarrenHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“The greasy food was hard to handle”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We came here for 'snacks', ordering the nachos, potato skins and onion rings. We certainly weren't expecting such large portions! You definitely get your money's worth on portion-size!

However, I unfortunately spent that night and the next day very ill. It could have been a combination of various foods throughout the day, but I am quite sure that the greasiness of the food was what topped it off!

I would suggest sticking to a mains dish and only get the onion rings if there are a few of you sharing. They are the biggest onion rings I've ever had and were certainly too much between the two of us.

In the end, our eyes were bigger than our bellies and we really paid the price for it! Nonetheless, the proper fruit smoothies (water and sugar free!) were delicious, but we were very disappointed by the lack of ale or quality beer (as we've found it in other places in Central America).

This is a very busy place which seemed more popular for drinks than anything else. The staff were very friendly and it helped that they had a security guard around to prevent all the street vendors from constantly approaching you. I'd suggest avoiding the greasy snacks and sticking with a mains, our mistake!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Colite1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Irish Bar in Nicaragua”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The only place to get a proper full Irish breakfast! The food was great and the atmosphere was just like being back at home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank cibee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Last night in Nicaragua at O'Sheas! Fantastic!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Last night in Nicaragua after 3 weeks landed us in Granada at the Casa del Agua. The owner there (Gerry Webb) recommended O'Sheas (you will not be disapointed). After a short walk a block away we seated ourselves on the stools at this Irish bar in the centre of Granada. O'Sheas menu is full of great choices and complemented with the history of why an Irish pub in the Nicaragua. Our food choice was the Fish and Chips and needless to say was very good and plentiful. The overall service at this restaurant bar was excellent (even the cook took time to come out and ask if all was okay). Sitting at the bar we witnessed a very hard working and dedicated team. We had opportunity to meet the owner Timothy Griffin who was clearly on hand with his clientele both from abroad and within Nicaragua. We would most certainly recommend a visit to eat at O'Sheas if you are in Granada.....you will not be disapointed. PS - our stay at the Casa del Agua was also excellent. Thank you Gerry and thank you Timothy. Dan and Dorothy from Canada.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Sheas Irish Bar also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to O Sheas Irish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing