We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real surprise & something different”

Restaurante El Garaje
Ranked #1 of 165 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a real surprise & something different”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

you would never just walk by this place (and if you did, you still probably wouldn't even see it!). Really excellent home-made food from a Canadian couple who live in the back and have set up this lovely little restaurant in the front with an open kitchen where they make everything. Super clean and interesting food - some is Nica-style food and other things are international. It makes a nice change from the usual restaurant food in town (and the country) so it's worth going over there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkFromInwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    84
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Culinary perfection”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Thank you Trip Advisor community. Without your reviews I never would have found this gem, tucked away on a street I had no other reason to walk down. We were warmly greeted and took a seat in front of the blackboards displaying the entire menu (maybe about 12-15 items). One of the specials was Thai red snapper with curry sauce, sweet potatoes, cauliflower and brown rice. Friends, only one word can describe it. Perfection. The spices were absolutely amazing, the portion generous. It came with a small salad and two pieces of garlic bread. The salad dressing was home made and delicious, and the bread was fantastic. The meal set me back C130. Amazing. There aren't enough adjectives to describe this wonderful meal. I then had a piece of lime cheesecake which was huge. Light, lemony, graham cracker crust. Perfect. When this place opens at 11:30 tomorrow I'll be waiting outside in the heat. Once is not enough. Wow!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KYMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omatepe
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, average prices”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place is tucked in just off the street, with a small patio of about 5 small tables. The menu is decent, there are enough choices that you should be able to find something you want, but not so many that it becomes daunting to choose. The service was excellent and my food was good, albeit rather light. I'd expect more food for the price - I was still hungry after my meal. Overall, it was above average, but not dazzling. If I only had a few days in Granada, there are other places with better food and better atmosphere for just a couple dollars more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catsmuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“There's a reason this place is #1”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The food was delicious and fresh. Freshly made chorizo. Wonderful salads. The kitchen was right there -- and it felt like we were eating in an adjoining room in someone's home. They were out of desserts when we were there -- so we decided to go back on the weekend. BUT you need to know -- they are NOT OPEN on WEEKENDS. We were so disappointed! So make a point to get there during the week; it's worth it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Yummy food & amazing juices!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

In just a few days in Granada, we ate here 2 times (and tried to go once more on a Saturday- it was closed, not sure if that is standard). We tried the salads, burritos, and pulled pork sandwiches, and especially enjoyed the pulled pork and the beef burrito.

But the best part was the JUICES!! I usually opt for water, but the pear juice was out of this world, and my boyfriend was equally in love with the peach juice- definitely order a juice (they are only 15 cordobas each!!). Meals themselves are 100-150 and a lot of food, well worth it in terms of value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante El Garaje also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Restaurante El Garaje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing