We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour of Granada!”

Tierra Day Tours: Granada
Ranked #6 of 45 Tours in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a Nicaraguan Tour Operator based in the heart of the colonial cities of Granada and Leon.We offer you a wide range of tours and services. Our staff are bilingual Nicaraguans who work with an eye for detail, giving you the attention and service you deserve. Tierra Tour is recognized internationally for its professionalism.We have a high knowledge of the country, flora/ fauna, culture and history.We attend to each customer personally,adapt and modify to any specific needs. We invite you to visit Nicaragua, land of lakes and volcanoes. Nicaragua is without a doubt an unforgettable experience.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great tour of Granada!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I tend to be overly cautious travellers which means we don't always see and do everything a city had to offer. Our tour of Granada allowed us to see various aspects of the city we would have been to nervous to venture to on our own. In addition, our guide Ramone was extremely knowledgeable about the history of Nicaragua and The city of Granada. We saw several historic sites and travelled between them by horse dawn carriage. I would definitely suggest this tour to anyone visiting Granada! A great way to appreciate the culture and get a lay of the land at the start of your trip. The only bummer was we wanted to do the Masaya night tour, but the volcano was closed due to recent seismic activity. We would do more tours with Tierra and Ramone any day!

Helpful?
Thank Stefani126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    38
    9
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best tour company in Granada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

A friend recommended Tierra Tours and we were delighted with the 3 trips we took with them (unfortunately Masaya was closed due to eruption!). We took the Mombacho day hike, the Isletas tour and a one day (no overnight) tour to Ometepe. Each tour was excellent with knowledgeable and well trained tour guides, well planned itineraries and a warm relaxed atmosphere. On each trip we were allowed to go at our own pace, go with the flow and have a good time with the very friendly and customer oriented drivers & guides - who were all very flexible with conditions, some rain, etc. We were extremely pleased that Nicaragua is putting in place the solid tourism infrastructure which is now somewhat overcrowded in Costa Rica. Great job!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikeH36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevilla
Level Contributor
164 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

We booked multiple tours and transport service with Tierra Tours while in Granada, León, and Managua. This is a well-run, honest outfit with good management and guides. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TrotamundosBetis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Professionally organized - good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We did a 4,5 hours kayak tour through "Las Isletas" with them. Pickup at the hostel was on time and the drive was really nice and i felt safe driving with him. He brought us to Inuit Kayaks at the lake. The guide we got spoke spanish only but the owner ask before, if we speak spanish.
The tour itself was as promised and the guide showed us a lot of plants, fruits, animals and knew the islands and who lives where etc. We felt very comfortable doing the trip with him.
When we came back, the driver was already there and brought us back to the hostel. All together a very pleasant experience.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank grmpfhmbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Volcano Boarding Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

I went with Tierra Tours to go volcano boarding down Cerro Negro in Nicaragua. The guides were awesome. They were friendly, knowledgeable and patient even though we took forever to climb the volcano. What I loved most though was that they had all the gear needed to get down the volcano safely and in one piece. Goggles, knee and elbow pads, gloves, suits and proper instructions about how to use the sled were really reassuring. We saw people go down in their jeans. We also saw someone from another tour wipeout and take a couple of minutes to get back up. His tour leader didn't seem to care too much that he was hurt. He was fortunate to be wearing a jump suit because the gravel tore right through it and scratched up his skin. I can't imagine if that had happened to one of the groups only wearing jeans and long sleeve t-shirts.
Anyhow, these guys' safety rating is the best, and they were super nice in offering to take photos of us while at the top. They even carried some of the boards when people got tired. Highly, highly recommend!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveling936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tierra Day Tours: Granada also viewed

 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Tierra Day Tours: Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing