We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best tour tuide in Nicaragua!”

Tierra Day Tours: Granada
Ranked #6 of 45 Tours in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a Nicaraguan Tour Operator based in the heart of the colonial cities of Granada and Leon.We offer you a wide range of tours and services. Our staff are bilingual Nicaraguans who work with an eye for detail, giving you the attention and service you deserve. Tierra Tour is recognized internationally for its professionalism.We have a high knowledge of the country, flora/ fauna, culture and history.We attend to each customer personally,adapt and modify to any specific needs. We invite you to visit Nicaragua, land of lakes and volcanoes. Nicaragua is without a doubt an unforgettable experience.
Denmark, Maine
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best tour tuide in Nicaragua!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Me and my friends took a night tour to Masaya Vulcano, where we saw different sites. We went inside the lava tubes with hundreds of scary bats and we saw a lot of gasses from the active vulcano. We learned about Nicaraguan history, culinary arts, it´s people, culture, and nature thanks to our great tour guide Camilo Martinez. He made our trip to Nicaragua totally worth it! When you go to Nicaragua, we highly recommend you to choose Camilo as your tour guide. Camilo is very pleasant company and seems like a highly educated person. We could talk to him and ask him questions about everything (he is an encyclopedia)! The driver Javier was so funny and we felt very safe driving with him throughout the tour! We couldn´t do anything else but giving them both a really good tip, Camilo deserves very good tips from all travellers! If you would like some more information about the tours and possibilities of Granada and Nicaragua you can contact TIerra Tours or Camilo at his email: camilofreelance@gmail.com.

All in all an amazing experience!!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraGry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    39
    9
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Tierra Tours planned our two week adventure in Nicaragua. I was extremely satisfied with everything they planned and our guide David exceeded all our expectations.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dallas_ellenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

I was a little reluctant to take any tours once I got to Nicaragua after having a horrible experience a week earlier when I paid for transport from Antigua to San Salvador with El Club de los Viajeros who kicked me out in Libertad after paying to go to San Salvador. (I don't speak much spanish) I decided to give Tierra Tour a shot since I'd read so many great reviews. I first took the night tour to the masaya volcano with the caves which was a great experience! I ended up taking several more tours with them including the Canopy and kayaking. They were on time, professional, helpful and very knowledgeable! My final trip was to the airport at 3 AM - the driver was on time and I saftely arrived at the airport in time for my flight home. Overall such a wonderful experience!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank LisaS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Camilo was awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We did the night tour of the Masaya volcano and, in my opinion, our guide Camilo totally made the $30/person (which we thought was a bit pricey compared to general costs in Nicaragua) worth it. We had a great time visiting the volcano, hiking, and getting to see some awesome lava tunnels. Camilo was also passionate and knowledgeable about Nicaragua, its history, culture and politics.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank camobio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Backstage Pass to Nicaragua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

I sent out several emails to different tour companies in the area and Tierra Tours was the only one who answered. We decided on the Classic Tour, the Night Tour and the two day one night tour of Ometepe Island.
They picked us up at the hotel exactly on time and we were the only two on the tour. Our guide was Carlos and he was outstanding. He started by telling us about the historical buildings that we were passing as we drove out of Granada on the way to Masaya Volcano. Masaya Volcano National Park had a nice museum that showed the entire layout of the caldera that surrounds all of the cones and craters. They had displays in English and Spanish that taught you about the flora and fauna of the area and also the indigenous people from the area. When you arrive at the crater, the van backs into the parking spot for a quick getaway. You walk ten steps to look down into Santiago Crater. This crater is constantly pushing out visible gas clouds. You then walk up 150ish steps to an overlook of the multiple craters. We walked down to the parking lot level and then headed up the side of Masaya Volcano to look into the lush green crater. There is a great view back across the other craters from here. The next stop was Masaya Market. We opted to visit the municipal market, it is less touristy and the prices are even lower. Our guide paid for our entire tour with the money that he saved us in the market. We have been to many markets in Central and South America but they are always slightly stressful with the bargaining and language barriers. Having Carlos with us allowed us to enjoy this market immensely and we were able to locate exactly what we were looking for. He knew how much everything should cost and if he couldn't get them to come down to that price we would walk to another place in the market and get it every time. We would ask him about the fruits that we were seeing and the cacao mixtures and he would even get us samples. After we piled up on gifts, we drove to Apoyo Crater lake. The lake was clean and beautiful and there were views of Lake Nicaragua and Granada and several of the surrounding volcanoes. We visited one of the Mesa Villages that specializes in ceramic pottery. We were shown all of the steps of the manufacturing of pottery and Carlos did a great job of translating what they were telling us and then we headed to the display area where there were 400-500 items, from tiny to pretty large. Once we started asking about prices, I wished that I owned an 18 wheeler so I could buy everything. Our next stop was a visit to the Bruja village that specialized in fortune telling. This wasn't included in the original tour but we wanted to check it out. We were able to tell them everything that we wanted to do and he gave us a list of things that we could skip in order to make time for some of these other stops.
They dropped us off at our hotel and picked us up again in an hour for the night tour.
The company gave us a discount because we would be visiting the same volcano, but it was definitely a different tour at night. We started at Santiago Crater again but in the evening all of the parakeets return to roost in the crater. They were beautiful and their calls were echoing all throughout the crater. We drove to the other side of Masaya Volcano and walked to the highest point for a great view of Masaya Lake and Lake Nicaragua and Granada. The sun was setting through the volcanic gases rising out of Santiago Crater. We walked down to the van and they drove us a mile towards the entrance to the caves. They issued flashlights and hard hats and we headed down the hill. Bats were pouring out of the caves. We walked 600ft into the cave with bats flying around us and it was amazing. Don't worry, nobody was touched even once by bats. We stopped at the back of the cave where we couldn't walk any deeper and we turned off our lights and listened to the bats fly all around us in the dark. We walked back to the van and then drove up the hill to the opposite side of Santiago Crater to check and see if we could see lava. Unfortunately nature did not cooperate with us that night and there was no glow. We walked to the edge of the crater and we all screamed at once and listened to the crazy echoes coming back out of the crater. After that they drove us back to the room. Everyone on the night tour had a blast.
The next morning we were picked up at our hotel exactly on time and we were transferred to the ferry landing across from Ometepe Island. The guide from the island side met us at the landing and had our tickets for the ferry. It takes an hour to get to the island and the view across the water of volcanoes in every direction was great. If you ever wanted to watch on hour of Rambo 4 in Spanish, you're in luck. I headed to the roof of the ferry and enjoyed the breeze and the view. Our guide's truck was at the other ferry landing and we hopped in and started our tour. We stopped for a quick bite to eat and then drove through a very fertile beautiful jungle. We toured an old church and parrots were hanging off of everything. We saw old statues of ancient kings on the island and no matter where you are, there is at least one volcano looming high in the sky. We drove to the Finca Magdalena farm and the views of the grounds and the volcano were perfect. We learned about coffee processing and then we walked through the jungle and learned about the trees, plants, bugs and birds and then we saw a lot of petroglyphs. The next stop was a meal on the lakefront and then off to Ojo de Agua. This was a cool, crystal clear spring where we swam for an hour and a half and they deliver beer down to you in the water. The hotel was included in the price of the tour and it was our last stop of the day. Charco Verde has basic rooms but amazing views. We were at the reception area using the Wi-Fi and we were watching parrots and we could hear howler monkeys in the distance. The next morning they brought us to the ferry, a taxi was waiting on the other side and they brought us to the Costa Rica border as per our request.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Sewtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tierra Day Tours: Granada also viewed

 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Tierra Day Tours: Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing