We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpackers Haven”
Review of Hostel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Oasis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Adore this place. Secure gated doorway , Free Internet, little pool, clean rooms, plenty of lounging areas and kitchen. Perfect little place when staying in the madness that Granada.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 558 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2010

This place is a great base to see Granada from- its in a great location within the busy side of town (in the rainy season it seems like the town is in two halves- one side is bustling with lots of activity where the locals live and Oasis is located, and the other side is picturesque but totally empty as the locals have been scared off by expat prices).

The hostel has a good, clean communal area, a kitchen, free tea, coffee and internet and the rooms are not bad either. The staff are friendly and although they speak good english they are patient if you want to practice your spanish! Plus the wee swimming pool is great for cooling off after walking around the town...

One criticism would be that our room did not get much natural light and circulating air, but a dark room does mean you get lots of sleep!

All in all I would recommend this place...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calimax_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Arriving at the Oasis in the afternoon we asked for a private room with fan and private bath. The room was spacious, tidy, clean and the fans worked. Later that night we noticed that there is no toilet paper, we reported this to the reception next morning. After mid day, there was still no toilet paper in our room so we've asked again. After our return in the evening still no paper... Being a bit pushy I finally got some.
Unfortunately druing our stay (3 nights) our room has never been cleaned and the towels were never changed. If this is stated on their own web site, one could really expect that service.
The staff at the reception often seemed busy but not with customers but Youtube and talking to colleagues. Some really served their customers, others just spent time at "work".
The variety of facilities available was good. You could get a good breakfast in the morning, give clothes to laundry, refresh yourself in the pool, relax in the hammocks, surf the web via their wireless LAN or on the many available computers... The atmosphere in the patio is really nice.

The Hostel is close to the centre but a bit difficult to spot. Everything is in walking distance and the area around the hostel seemed safe to us.

We enjoyed our stay, though there's scope for improvement with the service.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dummdidumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

I've stayed in a good amount of hostels throughout Europe and Central America and this is hands down my favorite! My husband and I stayed in a private room ensuite with AC. The AC worked so well we had to use an extra blanket to keep warm during the night- which is a rare thing with AC units at most hostels in Central America. The bathroom was extremely clean- super important to me. The entire hostel was very big with a lot of great perks; a big user friendly kitchen, TV area showing movies, lounge area around tropical garden courtyard with hammocks, small swimming pool in open courtyard. I also really loved how the hostel served breakfast (delicious) for a reasonable price that could be added to your tab. They also had a variety of drinks and snacks available for guests, that also could be added to the room bill. It was nice just paying once at the end for everything. And lastly one of my favorite things besides the row of computers with complimentary internet use, was the posters all over the breakfast area near the pool that gave great advice about what to do in town, out of town and how to travel on when ready to leave. It basically answered any questions we could possibly have wanted to ask the staff, even down to good restaurants in town. This hostel was amazing- if only every other hostel could be as great and as clean!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We'd heard great things about Oasis, so it was an easy choice to stay with them. Honestly, it wouldn't have been that bad if we hadn't gotten sick earlier on in the trip.

PRO:
- Staff really friendly and willing to help with bookings, etc.
- Wonderful pool!
- Decent breakfast food.
- The hostel is open-air and very inviting.
- Bathrooms were fine.

CON:
- THE ROOM. The fan in our tiny, dark private room achieved nothing and my partner got sick early on, so we had some very unpleasant nights.

We would have switched to the (pricey) A/C rooms upstairs but decided to go to a different city. I imagine our experience would have been much better had we stayed upstairs and I would try it again in a different room or a dorm.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whyhellosunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We stayed at hotel oasis for a few night, it was a pretty good place to stay.

We enjoyed the pool, and the kitchen was nice, and cleaner than most other hostels in the country.

After two nights we switched to AC. It was HOT in the hostel overnight, but its hot in all rooms without AC in nica. We enjoyed it much better with the ac, and with 4 of us sharing an ac room it was still fairly cheap (about 12 a person per night)

We also did a day trip with the hostel to "The craters edge" which was great, included lunch and swimming in the lagoon was very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Oasis is in a good location a couple of blocks from the central plaza. The staff are friendly and facilities many - free internet, coffee, small swimming pool, breakfast (not included in the price) etc. It feels a bit cramped but there is a good social atmosphere. An 11pm lights out rule is zealously enforced. This is quite annoying as if you don´t want to go out there is nowhere to sit and chat. They don´t want you to sit in the common areas even in the dark. They turn off the fans and even remove the hammocks. The dorm was very hot, I strongly recommend you get a top bunk closer to the fan. Whilst there are rules preventing noise after 11 at night, early morning seems to be a differet story - people (guests and staff) joking and laughing loudly at 6am no problem.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granada
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
687 reviews
0.5 mi away
GM Granada Hostel
GM Granada Hostel
#4 of 76 in Granada
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel La Siesta
Hostel La Siesta
#3 of 76 in Granada
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Paradiso Hostel
Paradiso Hostel
#1 of 8 in La Laguna de Apoyo
341 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Surfing Donkey at the Lake
0 mi away
Emily's Hostel
Emily's Hostel
#11 of 76 in Granada
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Oasis

Address: C. Estrada 109, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Price Range: $16 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Hostel Oasis Granada
Hostel Oasis Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing