We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would try a different place”
Review of Hostel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Oasis
Certificate of Excellence
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I would try a different place”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were there forsome nights, the A/C was broken (which trust me, is something you will want to have during Granada's hot nights). The place is ok but the service is not that good nor friendly. The people staying there were surprisingly annoying during our stay, which really sucks if you have a room near the pool. Prices were ok, but I rather take my chances with a different place or just go for a bit more expensive place knowing that the quality will be much better.

Room Tip: Shared rooms are awful, hot and the bathrooms are tiny and disgusting. If you stay there, at least t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuanK1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tata123, Propietario at Hostel Oasis, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
This guest stayed with friends /the other opinión with same date/ and sadly expected a HOTEL, not a hostel. Oasis is a backpacker's hostel. I am sorry that Granada is soooo hot this time of the year, still your whole group stayed for 3 nights, enjoyed every morning our all you can eat pancake buffett, use our computers, wifi, pool, and when you complaint about the heat we took extra fans to your room . Your expectations will never be met at a hostel, but will be met at a hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    205
    76
    21
    15
See reviews for
12
162
151
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The only good thing was the pool and the free tea. The rooms are very small and hot!!! They were dirty. And most of the things they offer in their web page are broken. The arent many places arround to go, just one resturant. The service is horrible and its very hard to get them to help you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmi1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Rivas, Nicaragua
2 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Everything from the rooms, to the pool, to the staff and the breakfast was great! The bilingual staff was very helpful and an all you can eat pancake breakfast is uncluded in the price. Not only was hotel oasis one of the most affordable hotels we found, it was also one of the nicest. They have a beautiful pool, lots of hammocks strung everywhere, 4 or 5 different outdoor areas with chairs to hang out and meet new people, plenty of bathrooms, and even a community kitchen and fridge where we met many nice travelers. The rooms were basic, but had everything we needed including a lock box. The pancake breakfast was awesome and they even had complimentery coffee! Hotel Oasis is one of my favorite hotels i have been to in Nicaragua and i would definitley recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Private room are cheap and nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melonie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I recently stayed at Hostel Oasis with two friends in a private room for three people, which cost $30/night in total. The hostel itself is really nice, and the swimming pool is a GREAT way to cool down from the heat of the day. Additionally, Oasis offers a lot of nice perks, like free filtered water for your water bottle, free pancake breakfast between 7:30 and 10am, free WiFi, and access to a lot of computers with skype capability. Also, they were great about booking me a VERY early morning cab to get to the airport in Managua, and I felt confident that my cab driver was reliable.

My one slightly negative comment is that our room, although plenty large and with high ceilings and two fans, got VERY hot and stuffy--it was almost as though there was no air circulation at all in the room. This made it a little difficult to fall asleep at night, since temperatures during the day were reaching 95-97 degrees. But, it is manageable, and considering all of the free perks, this hostel was great value for what we paid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caves123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three days. It was $30 for a private triple with a shared bath. The room didn't have windows and even with two fans it was extremely hot. The hostel is extremely well run. The front desk women speak perfect english and are very attentive and responsive. They are always happy to arrange tours/rides and provide recommendations. The pool is awesome because granada is really hot. Free pancakes and coffee in the morning are a great plus.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Came across this hostel after reading about it in LP. The room was 20$ and was spacious, clean, and not too noisy. Shared bathroom could have been cleaner but it wasn't bad. The hostel itself was great with tons of computers, a good lounge area, a book exchange, and a pool. The front desk was extremely helpful and spoke very good english. It's in a good location and it felt safe. Unfortunately when we went back a second time it was booked, so maybe make a reservation! Overall, really good hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j123456123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I was in Granada for a week having money toubles & it was nice to have a safe, friendly place to come back to. The dorms are clean, hammocks comfortable, the pool refreshing. And who can hate the free pancakes every morning? I would definitely go back

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 43 in Granada
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
#24 of 43 in Granada
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#13 of 43 in Granada
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Oasis

Property: Hostel Oasis
Address: C. Estrada 109, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Oasis Granada
Hostel Oasis Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing